×
Country : France Label : Shelter Press Genres and styles : Classical / Contemporary / Free Improvisation / Jazz / North East Asian Year : 2020
Okkyung Lee

Yeo-Neun

· by Michel Rondeau

During studies Boston, Okkyung Lee, a Korean cellist with classical training, discovered jazz. It was the era of Tonic in New York’s Lower East Side, and the revelation of free improvisation. Over the past 15 years or so, she has collaborated with a host of musicians from the improvised music scene, from Christian Marclay and Bill Orcutt to Ellen Fullman and Evan Parker, to name but a few.

In 2016, she formed a harp, cello, double bass, and piano quartet called Yeo-Neun, which means “opening gesture” in Korean. The strings are played with a bow, plucked or hammered, which ensures a remarkable homogeneity and transparency of timbre, and favours an assured form of lyricism.

May 2020, the band launches its first album. Ten compositions in which Ms. Lee displays a sensitivity and delicacy that’s surprising given the daring of her improv work. The first piece, for example, is as light as a breeze that gently undulates the curtains in the morning light. An enchantment! Not all the pieces are as contemplative, some are punctuated by more carried-away moments, but because of instrumentation one’s tempted to qualify as dreamlike, they exist for the most part in the same diaphanous and luminous dimension. 

Ms. Lee also has a sense of invention. On “in stardust (for kang kyung-ok)”, the creaking and squeaking of the bows, reminiscent of a ghostly sailboat, creates a spatial perspective effect that enhances the dark and desolate character of the melody played on the piano. Superb! Her compositions are also sometimes inspired by pop or folk ballads from her childhood, so we find subtle Asian harmonies, which add to their charm.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Okkyung Lee

Yeo-Neun

· par Michel Rondeau

À la faveur d’un séjour d’études à Boston, Okkyung Lee, violoncelliste coréenne de formation classique, découvre le jazz, puis, c’est l’époque du Tonic dans le Lower East Side new-yorkais, l’improvisation libre. C’est une révélation! Depuis, soit une quinzaine d’années, elle multiplie les collaborations avec une kyrielle de musiciens de la scène des musiques improvisées, de Christian Marclay à Bill Orcutt en passant par Ellen Fullman et Evan Parker, pour ne nommer que ceux-là.

En 2016, elle met sur pied un quatuor harpe, violoncelle, contrebasse et piano baptisé Yeo-Neun, ce qui signifie en coréen « geste d’ouverture ». Que des cordes donc, jouées à l’archet, pincées ou martelées, ce qui assure une homogénéité et une transparence des timbres remarquable et favorise une forme de lyrisme totalement assumé.

Mai 2020, la formation lance un premier album. Dix compositions où madame Lee témoigne – quand on connaît l’intrépidité de son travail d’improvisatrice – d’une sensibilité et d’une délicatesse surprenantes. La première pièce, par exemple, est légère comme la brise qui fait doucement onduler des rideaux de tulle dans la lumière du matin. Un enchantement! Toutes les pièces ne sont pas aussi contemplatives, certaines sont ponctuées de moments plus emportées, mais en raison de cette instrumentation de rêve, est-on tenté de la qualifier, elles présentent pour la plupart la même dimension diaphane et lumineuse. 

Madame Lee a aussi le sens de l’invention. Sur in stardust (for kang kyung-ok), des craquements et grincements produits par les archets, qui évoquent ceux de quelque voilier fantôme, créent un effet de perspective spatiale qui rehausse le caractère sombre et désolé de la mélodie jouée au piano. Superbe! Ses compositions s’inspirent aussi parfois de ballades pop ou folkloriques de son enfance, on y retrouve donc de subtiles harmonies orientales, ce qui ajoute à leur charme. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre