×
Country : Australia Label : The Roundtable Genres and styles : Electronic / Krautrock / Psych-Rock Year : 2020
Cybotron

Sunday Night at the Total Theatre

· by Rupert Bottenberg

While pugnacious pub rock certainly ruled the place and time, it’s not entirely surprising that Australia in the 1970s would lend a few welcoming ears to German krautrock. Consider the island-continent’s enormous, daunting red-desert interior as a psychic setting, concomitant with a stuntman approach to illicit drugs and a knack for repurposing styles from offshore in a way that’s rough, raw and right on the money.

Melbourne’s Cybotron are a known quantity to those with a penchant for psychedelic synth sounds of ’70s, releasing three albums between 1976 and 1980. Cheers to Australian outfit The Roundtable for re-releasing their eponymous debut LP and 1980’s Implosion digitally, and cheers again for this additional find – a beyond-rare pair of live jams from 1976, when the band was just the duo of Steve Maxwell Von Braund and Geoff Green, tangling with an imposing bank of modular gear.

Two sprawling, quarter-hour chronicles of interplanetary excursions here, diligently observant of Berlin-school protocols. You want oscillations? Ring modulations? Ritualistic formulations in the manner of Popol Vuh, with perhaps a little ecstatic astro-sax à la Hawkwind? Cybotron got you covered. And there’s a bonus: the inclusion of the super-rare single 1980 “Ride to Infinity”, a bit more polished, with a definite Italian flavour to it – il sapore del giallo.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Australie Label : The Roundtable Genres et styles : électronique / krautrock / rock psychédélique Année : 2020
Cybotron

Sunday Night at the Total Theatre

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Même si le pub rock teigneux y régnait à l’époque, il n’est pas surprenant que l’Australie ait été réceptive au krautrock allemand dans les années 1970. Surtout quand on considère le vaste désert rouge de l’intérieur de l’île-continent comme cadre psychique, le côté casse-cou des insulaires dans leur consommation de drogues illicites et leur aptitude à transformer des styles venus d’outre-mer en quelque chose de direct et brutal.

 Les amateurs de sons psychédéliques des années 70 faits aux synthétiseurs connaissent bien le groupe Cybotron de Melbourne et ses trois disques publiés entre 1976 et 1980. Bravo au label australien The Roundtable pour la réédition numérique de leur premier 33 tours éponyme et de celui d’Implosion des années 1980, mais aussi pour avoir déniché deux jams enregistrés devant public en 1976 quand le groupe n’était composé que de Steve Maxwell Von Braund et Geoff Green, empêtrés dans les fils d’un imposant attirail modulaire.

Il s’agit de deux excursions interplanétaires d’un quart d’heure chacune qui respectent scrupuleusement les exigences de l’école de Berlin. Vous voulez des oscillations ? Des modulations en anneau ? Des formules rituelles à la Popol Vuh ou un peu de sax astral extatique à la Hawkwind ? Avec Cybotron vous avez la totale. En prime vous obtenez même le single rarissime de 1980 Ride to Infinity, un peu plus léché, à saveur toute italienne – il sapore del giallo.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre