×
Country : Norway Label : Jazzland Genres and styles : Ambient / Contemporary Jazz / Experimental / Jazz Year : 2020
Eivind Aarset & Jan Bang

Snow Catches on her Eyelashes

· by Michel Rondeau

The first was discovered when he was guitarist in Nils Petter Molvaer’s band, during the Khmer and Solid Ether period, with whom he continued for a long time while attending to his own productions (Électronique Noire, Light Extracts, Connected, Sonic Codex) and numerous collaborations, with musicians from as diverse horizons as Dhafer Youssef, Jon Hassell, David Sylvian, Arve Henriksen, Tigran Hamasyan and Andy Shepard.

The latter is less well known. He too has worked with a host of musicians, some of whom are named above, and has made his share of recordings in his own name, but he is also co-founder of the Punkt Festival, a new music festival which since 2005 has been held every year in the coastal town of Kristiansand, and one of the special features of which is that most concerts are immediately followed by a live remix.

Snow Catches on her Eyelashes is in a way a sequel to the Aarset album Dream Logic, produced by Bang in 2012, but with a much more substantial sound, and this time the work is co-written.

These Norwegians have a sound universe of their own. Something dark, mysterious, introspective, Nordic in a way, that they have been patiently refining for years. One immediately notices the absence of guitar sounds identifiable as such. Instead, Aarset uses his instrument to generate textures, sonic emanations that Bang completes with his own layers and strata of atmosphere, his nebulae, arriving in waves, punctuated by all sorts of eclectic percussive accents that shine like fireflies in the night. 

What is also striking is the transparency of the production. All these sounds come and go, sneak in and out, without ever making a fuss, all with finesse. It slips, it flows. There’s also the way they manage to play with space, so that sometimes it seems as if it stretches, lengthens, deepens, as if the sounds came to us from the depths of time or from a distant galaxy, as if the sound hallucinations they create were illusions, a trompe-l’oreille. Yes, these guys are illusionists, magicians.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Norvège Label : Jazzland Genres et styles : ambient / expérimental / jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Eivind Aarset & Jan Bang

Snow Catches on her Eyelashes

· par Michel Rondeau

On a découvert le premier à l’époque où il était guitariste dans le groupe de Nils Petter Molvaer, période Khmer et Solid Ether, avec lequel il a d’ailleurs continué un bon moment, tout en enchaînant ses propres productions (Électronique Noire, Light Extracts, Connected, Sonic Codex) et en multipliant les collaborations, avec des musiciens d’horizons aussi divers que Dhafer Youssef, Jon Hassell, David Sylvian, Arve Henriksen, Tigran Hamasyan et Andy Shepard.

On connaît moins le second. Il a lui aussi travaillé avec une flopée de musiciens, dont certains sont nommés ci-dessus, et réalisé sa part d’enregistrements à son nom, mais il est également cofondateur du Punkt Festival, un festival de musique nouvelle qui depuis 2005 est présenté chaque année dans la ville côtière de Kristiansand et dont l’une des particularités est que la plupart des concerts sont immédiatement suivis d’un remix live.

Snow Catches on her Eyelashes est en quelque sorte la suite de l’album d’Aarset Dream Logic réalisé par Bang en 2012, mais en nettement plus étoffé, et cette fois l’œuvre est cosignée.

Ces Norvégiens ont un univers sonore bien à eux. Quelque chose de sombre, mystérieux, introspectif, de nordique en quelque sorte, qu’ils affinent patiemment depuis des années. On remarque immédiatement l’absence de sons de guitare identifiables comme tels. Aarset utilise plutôt son instrument pour générer des textures, des effluves sonores que Bang vient compléter avec ses propres nappes et strates d’ambiance, ses nébuleuses, dynamisées par des vagues, que toutes sortes d’accents percussifs hétéroclites viennent ponctuer et qui brillent comme des mouches à feu dans la nuit. 

Ce qui frappe aussi, c’est la transparence de la réalisation. Tous ces sons vont, viennent, se faufilent et s’estompent, sans jamais rien de tapageur, tout en finesse. Ça glisse, ça coule. Il y aussi la façon avec laquelle ils arrivent à jouer avec l’espace, si bien qu’on a parfois l’impression que celui-ci se distend, s’allonge, se creuse, comme si les sons nous venaient du fond des âges ou d’une galaxie lointaine, comme si les hallucinations sonores qu’ils créaient étaient des illusions, des « trompe-l’oreille ». Oui, ces types sont des illusionnistes, de sacrés magiciens.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre