×
Country : Russia Label : Deutsche Grammophon Genres and styles : Classical / Contemporary / Modern Classical Year : 2020
Denis Matsuev, Gabor Tarkövi, Kammerorchester Wien – Berlin, Rainer Honeck

Shostakovich, Schnittke, Lutoslawski

· by Sarah-Ann Larouche

This album opens with Shostakovich’s Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Strings in C minor No. 1, Op. 35 (1933), as one might expect for an album by Denis Matsuev, a Russian pianist known for the power of his playing. However, this work does not fail to highlight Matsuev’s lyrical aspect, especially in the lento second movement. The contribution of the first trumpet player Gábor Tarkövi is also to be noted. 

Contemporary composer Alfred Schnittke’s Concerto for Piano and String Orchestra Op. 136 offers us a completely different sound. Composed in 1979, it carries the influence of futurism, even serialism, and is a perfect example of the polystylism that often defines Schnittke’s music. The term “polystylism” is an accurate reflection of the multiplicity of approaches found throughout the work, where the power of Matsuev’s playing is once again brought to the fore. 

In conclusion, we’re presented with the Variations on a Paganini Theme by contemporary composer Witold Lutoslawski. This arrangement for piano, strings and percussion is marked by a beautiful balance between soloist and orchestra, and is particularly dynamic. Lutoslawski’s new dissonances and sonorities effectively give this theme a new lease on life. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Denis Matsuev, Gabor Tarkövi, Kammerorchester Wien – Berlin, Rainer Honeck

Shostakovich, Schnittke, Lutoslawski

· par Sarah-Ann Larouche

Cet album débute en force avec le Concerto pour piano, trompette et cordes en do mineur no. 1, Op. 35 de Chostakovitch (1933), tel que l’on pouvait s’y attendre pour un album de Denis Matsuev, pianiste russe reconnu pour la puissance de son jeu. Cette œuvre ne manque toutefois pas de mettre en valeur l’aspect lyrique de Matsuev, notamment dans le second mouvement Lento. La contribution du premier trompettiste Gábor Tarkövi est également à souligner. 

Le Concerto pour piano et orchestre à cordes Op. 136 du compositeur contemporain Alfred Schnittke nous propose par la suite des sonorités totalement différentes. Composé en 1979, ce concerto présente des influences du futurisme, voire du sérialisme, et constitue un parfait exemple du polystylisme qui définit souvent la musique de Schnittke. Ce terme rend bel et bien compte de la multiplicité des styles que l’on retrouve parsemés dans l’œuvre, où la puissance du jeu de Matsuev est encore une fois mise de l’avant. 

En conclusion, on nous présente les Variations sur un thème de Paganini du compositeur contemporain Witold Lutoslawski. Cet arrangement pour piano, cordes et percussions est marqué d’un bel équilibre entre le soliste et l’orchestre et est particulièrement dynamique. Les nouvelles dissonances et sonorités apportées par Lutoslawski donnent effectivement à ce thème un nouveau souffle. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre