×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : independent Genres and styles : Funk / Jazz / Prog Rock / Rock Year : 2020
Tunnel

Out For a While

· by Réjean Beaucage

Progressive rock has a broad back, and it’s more common nowadays to pretend to hate it (as Radiohead members do, for instance) than to claim it, as the Tunnel duo does (and they probably don’t hate Radiohead). Drummer Kevin Warren has appeared in the Orchestre National de Jazz de Montréal and with saxophonist Yannick Rieu, among others, and guitarist François Jalbert, an emulator of Django Reinhardt, distilling gypsy jazz with his own combo. Note that this double winner of the Grand Prix de Guitare de Montréal, presented as part of the Montreal Jazz Fest, earned a master’s degree in jazz composition at McGill University. Like that, I’ve just written the word “jazz” four times, compared to only once for “rock”, and that should give you a bit of a heads-up. But after all, is that so important and… what’s in a name?

The duo released a first EP, entirely instrumental, in 2015, and two of the pieces gathered here were released separately in 2018. So they’ve been working on this album for a while now, on which Kevin Warren sings a few songs in a vaporous voice. Several guests join Warren and Jalbert this time: Lex French (trumpet) and France Basilic (bass) inject a big dose of funk into “Qualité Camping”, Mélanie Bélair does the string arrangements on two pieces, and Rémi-Jean Leblanc plays bass on two others. Also present here are the voices of Erika Angell (Thus Owls), on “Falling First”, and Lisa Iwanycki-Moore on the title track, which help adjust the colour of the mélange. With a touch of Tom Waits on “420”, and a lot of Atoms For Peace-ish Thom Yorke in “Save You”, at the end, it starts to sound like this other track on the album’s title, a kind of “Pizza hawaïenne” (nice piece by the way, very evocative).

There’s a certain restraint throughout the album which dampens enthusiasm a bit, even though the musicians’ playing is flawless, but the programme’s varied, so there’s something for everyone – as long as you like pineapples.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : Autoproduction Genres et styles : funk / jazz / rock / rock prog Année : 2020
Tunnel

Out For a While

· par Réjean Beaucage

Le rock progressif a le dos large, et il est plus courant aujourd’hui de prétendre détester ça (comme le font par exemple les membres de Radiohead) que de s’en revendiquer, comme le fait le duo Tunnel (qui ne déteste sans doute pas Radiohead). On a pu voir le batteur Kevin Warren au sein de l’Orchestre National de Jazz de Montréal ou avec le saxophoniste Yannick Rieu, entre autres, et le guitariste François Jalbert, un émule de Django Reinhardt, distillant le jazz manouche avec son propre combo. Notons que ce double lauréat du Grand Prix de Guitare de Montréal, présenté dans le cadre du Festival international de jazz de Montréal, a obtenu une maîtrise en composition jazz à l’Université McGill. L’air de rien, je viens d’écrire le mot « jazz » quatre fois, contre une seule pour « rock », et ça devrait vous mettre la puce à l’oreille, en quelque sorte. Mais après tout, est-ce donc si important et, n’est-ce pas, what’s in a name ?

Le duo a fait paraître un premier EP, entièrement instrumental, en 2015, et deux des pièces réunies ici ont été lancées séparément en 2018. Ça fait donc un bout de temps qu’ils travaillent à l’album que voici, sur lequel Kevin Warren chante quelques pièces d’une voix vaporeuse. Plusieurs invité-e-s se joignent cette fois à Warren et Jalbert : Lex French (trompette) et France Basilic (basse) mettent une grosse touche de funk dans Qualité Camping, Mélanie Bélair s’occupe des arrangements de cordes sur deux pièces et Rémi-Jean Leblanc joue de la basse sur deux autres ; il y a aussi les voix d’Erika Angell (Thus Owls), sur Falling First, et de Lisa Iwanycki-Moore, sur la pièce-titre, qui contribuent à changer la couleur du mélange. Avec une touche de Tom Waits dans 420, et beaucoup du Thom Yorke d’Atoms For Peace dans Save You, à la fin, ça commence à ressembler à cet autre titre de l’album, une espèce de Pizza hawaïenne (belle pièce par ailleurs, très évocatrice).

Il y a une certaine retenue, tout au long de l’album, qui éteint un peu l’enthousiasme, même si le jeu des interprètes est irréprochable, mais le programme est varié, alors il y en a un peu pour tout le monde, pourvu qu’on aime les ananas.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre