Country : Canada Label : Loig's Music Lab Genres and styles : Celtic / Chamber Pop / Dream Pop / Electronic / Pop / Synth-Pop Year : 2023

Loig Morin / Printemps

· by Alain Brunet

Transplanted on the Canadian West Coast, the French artist Loig Morin released “Printemps”, the seventh album of his career on April 9, 2021. Originally from Brittany, he has been living in British Columbia since 2010. From Vancouver, he has recorded and produced “Lonsdale” (2012), “La rivière ” (2018), “Citadelle” (2019), the latter having earned him nominations for the Trille Or gala and the Western Canadian Music Award.

Given our ignorance about him, let’s start by telling you about this “Printemps” # 7, an unidentified rotating object by the vast majority and which has just been released on (apparently) the coldest day of this winter. “Printemps” was recorded, produced and mixed at Loig’s Music Lab, which Loig Morin designed and built in Vancouver.

Inspired by the “season of new beginnings”, “Printemps” (“Spring”) is the first of a series of four albums designed for each season. The biographical profile of Loig Morin indicates that each project of this tetralogy would have its own colors, textures, themes and sonic signatures, revealing interesting crossings of synth pop, dream pop, electro-pop, reggae-pop, Celtic pop, and just plain French FM pop.

The first single that marks the relaunch of the Spring opus, “Romance à l’italienne”, is reminiscent of the most typical French pop duets, except for the charming accent of Canadian Jill Barber, Loig Morin’s interlocutor, who is joined by Maude G.L. for other melodic lines.

When the pandemic hit,” says Morin in a press release regarding this album, “I was writing new songs and then the depression hit and I decided to stop drinking. I was a social drinker and thought it might be a good time for some introspection, the result was great. I thought it was a good time to write and create songs and for the first time I decided to make an album by myself. I worked day and night on it. It’s an authentic album. I put all my musical references on “Printemps”, and it was a huge pleasure to do it.”

There are plenty of hooks on the program of this introspection, polished instrumentations, carefully tinkered electro textures, a succinct poetry on the splendors and also on the meanders of the intimate life. With oneself, with someone else.

Latest 360 Content

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Single of The Day – “False East” – Mr. Roswell’s Neighborhood

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Permanent Moves – Don’t Forget Us

Subscribe to our newsletter

Pays : Canada Label : Loig's Music Lab Genres et styles : celtique / dream-pop / pop / synth-pop Année : 2023

Loig Morin / Printemps

· par Alain Brunet

Transplanté sur la Côte Ouest canadienne, l’artiste français Loig Morin sortait Printemps le 9 avril 212, soit le septième album de sa carrière. Originaire de Bretagne, il vit en Colombie Bretonne (…) depuis 2010. De Vancouver (plus sérieusement!), il a lancé les albums Lonsdale (2012), La rivière (2018), Citadelle (2019), ce dernier lui ayant valu des mises en nomination au gala Trille Or ainsi qu’au Western Canadian Music Award.

Vu notre ignorance à son sujet, commençons par vous causer de ce Printemps # 7, objet tournant non identifié par la vaste majorité et qui vient tout juste d’être remis en circulation, soit le jour le plus froid de l’année 2023. Printemps a été enregistré, réalisé et mixé au Loig’s Music Lab, que Loig Morin a conçu et construit à Vancouver.

Inspiré par la « saison des nouveaux départs », Printemps se veut le premier d’une série de quatre albums conçus pour autant de saisons. Le profil biographique de Loig Morin nous indique que chaque projet de cette tétralogie arborerait ses propres couleurs, textures, thématiques et signatures sonores, révélant des croisements intéressants de synth pop, dream pop, électro-pop, reggae-pop, pop celtique, pop française tout court.

Le premier extrait qui marque la relance de l’opus Printemps, Romance à l’italienne, rappelle les duos les plus typiques de la pop française, sauf l’accent charmant de la Canadienne Jill Barber, interlocutrice de Loig Morin auquelle se joint Maude G.L. pour d’autres réparties mélodiques.

« Lorsque la pandémie a frappé, raconte le principal intéressé par voie de communiqué, j’étais en train d’écrire de nouvelles chansons, puis la dépression a frappé et j’ai décidé d’arrêter de boire. J’étais un buveur social et j’ai pensé que c’était peut-être le bon moment pour une introspection, le résultat a été génial. J’ai trouvé que c’était un bon moment pour écrire et créer des chansons et pour la première fois j’ai décidé de faire un album tout seul. J’ai travaillé jour et nuit dessus. C’est un album authentique. J’ai mis toutes mes références musicales sur Printemps, et ça a été un énorme plaisir de le faire. »

Tout plein d’accroches au programme de cette heureuse introspection, instrumentations léchées, textures électroniques soigneusement bricolées, une poésie à la fois simple et sensuelle, évoquant les splendeurs et aussi les méandres de la vie intime. Avec soi-même, avec l’autre.

Tout le contenu 360

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

La meilleure version de Karkwa

La meilleure version de Karkwa

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Des filles qui rockent

Des filles qui rockent

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre