×
Country : United States Label : Columbia Genres and styles : Country / Folk / Pop Year : 2020
The Chicks

Gaslighter

· by Luc Marchessault

“We do not want this war, this violence, and we’re ashamed that the President of the United States is from Texas.” Natalie Maines, singer and guitarist of the Texan trio The Chicks (the prefix Dixie, a reference to the slaveholding South, was recently dumped), addressed a London audience in 2003, just before the U.S. military intervention in Iraq. This stance, remember, earned the three musicians the opprobrium of many of their compatriots, as well as a ban on country-music radio.

But the Chicks bounced back in 2006 with the Rick Rubin-produced Taking the Long Way. Despite the persistent radio boycott, Taking the Long Way sold several million copies and won five Grammy awards. Fourteen years later, here they are again, the enfants térribles of American country-pop, with Gaslighter, their seventh studio album. The trio joined forces with two musicians, composers and producers with dazzling track records: Jack Antonoff (St. Vincent, Carly Rae Jepsen, Taylor Swift, Lorde, Lana Del Rey) and Teddy Geiger (Shawn Mendes, Lizzo, Tiesto, Leon Bridges).

Musically, Martie Maguire (violin, guitar, mandolin, and backing vocals), Emily Robison (banjo, dobro, guitar, accordion, sitar, and backing vocals) and Natalie Maines are strong supporters of country pop. In addition to the country foundations that remain easily discernible, the Chicks and their gifted colleagues have cleverly added various synthetic ornaments. As for the lyrics, most of them put Natalie Maines’s ex, the “gaslighter” of the title, through the wringer in a very well-oiled, cathartic twist. For musicophiles the least bit fond of quality pop, it’ll be ambrosia.

There was undoubtedly a time when our three Texan sisters were looking to the future candidly, like the three young Irish dancers featured on the Gaslighter cover. Today, more than 30 years after the trio’s bluegrass debut, Emily, Martie and Natalie, are bringing their pragmatic art to a climax.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Columbia Genres et styles : country / folk / pop Année : 2020
The Chicks

Gaslighter

· par Luc Marchessault

« Nous ne voulons ni de cette guerre ni de cette violence. Quelle honte pour nous que le président des États-Unis vienne du Texas ! » C’est en ces termes que Natalie Maines, chanteuse et guitariste du trio texan The Chicks (le « Dixie » antéposé a été largué récemment, compte tenu de l’allusion au Sud esclavagiste) s’était adressée à un auditoire londonien en 2003, juste avant l’intervention militaire des É.-U. en Irak. Cette prise de position, on s’en souviendra, avait valu aux trois musiciennes l’opprobre de bon nombre de leurs compatriotes, ainsi qu’une mise au ban des radios country.

Qu’à cela ne tienne, les Chicks avaient rebondi en 2006 avec l’opus Taking the Long Way, réalisé par Rick Rubin. Nonobstant le boycottage persistant des radios, Taking the Long Way s’était écoulé à plusieurs millions d’exemplaires et avait mérité au trio cinq prix Grammy. Revoici donc, quatorze ans plus tard, les enfants terribles de la country-pop états-unienne avec Gaslighter, leur septième album studio. Pour le coréaliser, le trio s’est adjoint deux musiciens, compositeurs et réalisateurs à la feuille de route éclatante : Jack Antonoff (St. Vincent, Carly Rae Jepsen, Taylor Swift, Lorde, Lana Del Rey) et Teddy Geiger (Shawn Mendes, Lizzo, Tiesto, Leon Bridges).

Musicalement, Martie Maguire (violon, guitare, mandoline et chœurs), Emily Robison (banjo, dobro, guitare, accordéon, sitar et chœurs) et Natalie Maines appuient fort sur le « pop » de country-pop. Aux fondations country qui demeurent aisément perceptibles, les Chicks et leurs doués collègues ont astucieusement combiné divers ornements synthétiques. Quant aux textes, la plupart d’entre eux passent et repassent dans un tordeur cathartique très bien huilé l’ex de Natalie Maines, c’est-à-dire le « gaslighter » (abuseur adepte du détournement cognitif) du titre. Pour les musicophiles le moindrement friands de pop de qualité, ça se boira comme du petit-lait.

Il fut sans doute un temps où nos trois consœurs texanes envisageaient l’avenir candidement, comme les trois jeunes danseuses irlandaises figurant sur la pochette de Gaslighter. Aujourd’hui, plus de 30 ans après les débuts bluegrass du trio, Emily, Martie et Natalie font culminer leur art pragmatique.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre