×
Country : United States Label : Xenotone Genres and styles : Afrobeat / Contemporary / Funk / Jazz Year : 2020
N to The Power

Autogenesis

· by Rupert Bottenberg

The title of New York ensemble N to The Power’s debut release might read like that of some blockbuster cinematic eyesore from Michael Bay, and aside from that, spoken aloud, it might sound like “all too generous” – and that would be more than appropriate. 

The ensemble of 10 members reconfigures slightly for each piece, the constants being bandleaders, composers, and producers Blake Leyh and Tony Jarvis. The two bring impressive credentials to the table. Emmy-winner Leyh served as music supervisor for the HBO series The Wire, while Jarvis, whose bass clarinet brings a genial tone to these works, has clocked in hours with ’80s punk-funk pioneers Tar Babies, and later the Dap-Kings, Phish, and others. Leyh and Jarvis also craft film scores together (and each dragged his daughter in on this “cool dad” affair – Ryoko on melodica, Kaya on cello).

N to the Power is a mathematical moniker, and so yes, polyrhythms abound and the architecture of their compositions is elaborate and precise. The formula they’re following is an ambitious fitting together of the minimalist school of their own New York City, the earthy, exploratory jazz of Chicago, Nigerian Afrobeat and New Orleans funk – all of which come together on the percolating “The God Particle”. The Afrobeat returns in a more muted form for the mesmerizing “Marrakesh Memosphere”, which Yusuke Yamamoto’s lovely vibraphone takes to a transcendental place. There are suggestions of space-rock and spaghetti Westerns on the furtive but inexorable “To the Jackpot”. The album closes on an extended, yet more placid, note with an adaptation of jazzman Bill Evans’ celebrated “Peace Piece”, from 1958. The solo piano meditation becomes a chamber-music work, the strings and woodwinds giving it more robust form, with a bit of lurching wooziness.

This wealth of worthy elements, the wisdom with which they’re woven together, and the approachability with which N to the Power present such advanced music, is where the generosity mentioned above lies. Music for the stroking of chins, or the shaking of tailfeathers? Both at once, if you wish, and aren’t worried about appearing undignified.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Xenotone Genres et styles : afrobeat / funk / jazz / musique contemporaine Année : 2020
N to The Power

Autogenesis

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Le titre de la première sortie de l’ensemble new-yorkais N to The Power pourrait se lire comme celui d’une superproduction cinématographique de Michael Bay, ou, dit à haute voix, pourrait ressembler à «all too generous» – et ce serait plutôt juste.. 

L’ensemble de 10 membres se reconfigure légèrement pour chaque pièce, les constantes étant les chefs d’orchestre, les compositeurs et producteurs Blake Leyh et Tony Jarvis. Les deux membres apportent des références impressionnantes. Leyh, lauréat d’un Emmy Award, a été le superviseur musical de la série The Wire sur HBO, tandis que Jarvis, dont la clarinette basse donne un ton génial à ces œuvres, a passé des heures avec les pionniers du punk-funk des années 80, les Tar Babies, et plus tard les Dap-Kings, Phish et autres. Leyh et Jarvis ont également créé ensemble des musiques de films (et chacun a entraîné sa fille dans cette aventure de «papa cool» – Ryoko au mélodica, Kaya au violoncelle).

N to the Power est un sobriquet de mathématique, et donc oui, les polyrythmies abondent et l’architecture de leurs compositions est élaborée et précise. La formule qu’ils suivent est un assemblage ambitieux de l’école minimaliste de New York, du jazz terreux et exploratoire de Chicago, de l’afrobeat nigérian et du funk de la Nouvelle-Orléans – tous réunis sur le percutant The God Particle. L’afrobeat revient sous une forme plus discrète pour l’envoûtante Marrakesh Memosphere, que le charmant vibraphone de Yusuke Yamamoto transcende. On y trouve des atmosphères de space-rock et de western spaghetti sur la furtive mais implacable To the Jackpot. L’album se termine sur une note plus longue, mais plus placide, avec une adaptation du célèbre Peace Piece du jazzman Bill Evans, datant de 1958. La méditation du piano solo devient une œuvre de musique de chambre, les cordes et les bois lui donnant une forme plus robuste mais légèrement chancelante.

Cette richesse d’éléments, la sagesse avec laquelle ils sont tissés ensemble et la manière avec laquelle N to the Power rend accessible une musique aussi avancée, c’est là que réside toute la générosité mentionnée plus haut. Une musique pour se frotter le menton ou le se secouer les plumes ? Les deux à la fois, si vous le souhaitez, et ne craignez pas de paraître indigne.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre