×
Country : Austria Label : Deutsche Grammophon Genres and styles : Classical / Modern Classical Year : 2020
Alban Berg Ensemble Wien

Alban Berg Ensemble Wien

· by François Vallières

At the beginning of the twentieth century, it was common for some composers to reduce the instrumentation of their works for large orchestra, to simplify the logistics of things. As a result, originally large-scale works could be heard in private salons or clubs by music lovers of all kinds. The three members of the Vienna School (A. Schoenberg, A. Berg and A. Webern) used this procedure and arranged many orchestral pieces composed by their colleagues, their predecessors, or even their own works.

Written during this period, Gustav Mahler’s Adagio from the 10th Symphony (1910), Arnold Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony Op. 9 (1906) and Richard Strauss’s The Knight with a Rose (1911) are three masterpieces from the standard repertoire. The three composers are, however, at different stages in their respective lives: Mahler is at the brink of death, Schoenberg at the beginning of his career, and Strauss at the peak of his art.

The Alban Berg Ensemble Wien offers us here clear, well-chiselled and stylistically sophisticated interpretations. The inherent loss of orchestral power finds compensation in the agility, virtuosity, and reactive speed of the Vienna ensemble. Special mention must be made of the composer Martyn Harry, who arranged the Mahler and Strauss, respectful of the original versions while demonstrating an abundance of originality. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Autriche Label : Deutsche Grammophon Genres et styles : classique / classique moderne Année : 2020
Alban Berg Ensemble Wien

Alban Berg Ensemble Wien

· par François Vallières

Au début du XXe siècle, il était courant pour certains compositeurs de réduire l’instrumentation de leurs œuvres pour grand orchestre afin d’en faciliter, d’un point de vue logistique, l’exécution. Ainsi, des œuvres originellement à grand déploiement pouvaient être entendues dans des salons ou des clubs privés et ce, par des amateurs de musique de tout acabit. Les trois membres de l’École de Vienne (A. Schoenberg, A. Berg et A. Webern) ont eu recours à ce procédé et ont arrangé bon nombre de pièces orchestrales composées par leurs collègues, leurs prédécesseurs ou même tirées de leur propre œuvre.

Écrits durant cette période, l’Adagio de la 10e Symphonie (1910) de Gustav Mahler, la Symphonie de Chambre Op.9 (1906) d’Arnold Schoenberg et Le Chevalier à la rose (1911) de Richard Strauss sont trois chefs-d’œuvre du répertoire standard. Les trois compositeurs sont, toutefois, à différentes étapes de leurs vies respectives : Mahler est à l’article de la mort, Schoenberg au début de sa carrière et Strauss au sommet de son art.

L’Alban Berg Ensemble Wien nous offre ici une interprétation claire, bien ciselée et stylistiquement très recherchée. La perte inhérente de puissance orchestrale est grandement compensée par l’agilité, la virtuosité et la vitesse de réaction de l’ensemble viennois. Une mention spéciale au compositeur Martyn Harry qui a effectué les arrangements du Mahler et du Strauss et su respecter les versions originales, tout en faisant preuve d’une originalité foisonnante. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre