×

Mothland Records in pocket-sized format

Interview by Louise Jaunet

The Montreal-based label launches their first eclectic, colourful cassette compilation, in the image of their annual psychedelic festival Distorsion.

Genres and styles : Psychedelia

Additional Information

In only three years of existence, Mothland’s moths have chewed out a place for themselves in Montreal’s nightlife. Their cocoon is based in an underground parallel universe, out of the spotlight. Only the initiated can access the portal to this dimension, which is located in the Bermuda triangle formed by the three taverns on St-Denis Street at the corner of Mont-Royal. Despite the imposed distancing and the uncertainty that reigns over the artistic world, the psychedelic conspiracy Mothland has decided to move forward, with an officially metamorphosis into an independent label.

To mark the occasion, Mothland are releasing their first cassette compilation Sounds from Mothland Volume 1, an astonishing mix of demos and unreleased B-side tracks from various local and international artists who have marked the Montreal psychedelic niche over the last five years. Below, you will find an exclusive listening link that will give you access to the tracks of the compilation. You will be able to listen to a post-disco utopian ballad by the shoegazers Yoo Doo Right, a post-punk cover of the song Enigma Of The Absolute from Dead Can Dance by the Frenchman Jessica93 or a live recording of the Sunwatchers, a New York jazz-punk quartet. To collectors and lovers of rarities, the cassette is coming out in a small limited edition of only one hundred copies.

PAN M 360 entered into telepathic communication with the “mothés” community to discuss psychedelic music, the mythical 4AD label, origami, and their official launch as an independent label.

PAN M 360: You launched the first Distorsion Festival in 2015. Mothland followed two years later. How was the Mothland agency created? What was lacking in the local scene?

Marilyne Lacombe: Mothland started from the Distorsion festival, which is the idea of forming and organizing a community around the Montreal psychedelic scene, to give tools to this scene, places to broadcast, organized in a professional way, while keeping a DIY charm. The artistic direction of Distorsion became the artistic direction of Mothland. As a festival programmer [Taverne Tour and FME], I found myself representing the scene we had built around Distorsion to other programmers and bringing it to festivals that were not necessarily niche festivals. We still opened the door to bands that would never have played in more mainstream festivals.

PAN M 360: There are many festivals that focus on psychedelic music, in a strictly speaking musical sense. Yours has a wider opening field, with post-punk, noise, no-wave, garage, and so on. How do you gather all this around the psychedelic label? What is your vision of the term psychedelic?

ML: We had a very broad, modern, and up-to-date vision of the psychedelic scene. Musically, we didn’t have a limit of style, but more of a state of mind and an aesthetic, I think.

Philippe Larocque: We wanted leftfield programming that was also accessible. It’s not just a two-hour drone show, there’s a party side to it. We mixed heavy bands with electronic music, it didn’t have to be just rock, like in the San Francisco counterculture. We have more of an experimental vibe. For example, Crabe and FET.NAT joined us, they’re bands that have been around for a long time. The scene already existed but we made a bridge between several experimental bands that didn’t necessarily have a direct link. For us, it fit into the same definition of psychedelic experimental music.

Maxime Hébert: We wanted something that would change perception, whether it be sounds or images. That’s one of the main drivers. Psychedelic music is very appealing. People stay in front of a psychedelic video clip because it stimulates them. Psychedelic music is just as stimulating. It’s not a closed genre, it can be enjoyed by so many different gigs.

ML: In 2014, there was a kind of Golden Age of psychedelic rock with Levitation, Austin Psych Fest. We were inspired by that, but we really gave it a Montreal flavour, I think. The idea behind Distorsion was to start a community, a scene started to gravitate around Distorsion, bands that would come back often and we started to forge stronger relationships with them, like Paul Jacobs, Atsuko Chiba, and Yonatan Gat. That scene, that community needed a hat to introduce those bands to the industry. At the beginning, Mothland was purely a booking agency. Our mandate was to take the bands we had federated and present them to festivals. I think there are doors that opened up with the work we did.

PAN M 360: From the very beginning, you brought together local but also international artists, why did you choose to have an international opening very early in the project?

PL: With the Desert Daze gang, the world in Europe of Teenage Menopause, we wanted to find moths all over the world, people who had a bit of the same vision. We began to forge ties with Elzo Durt, who made our posters for Distorsion. His friends from Le Prince Harry came, and we decided to reprint on tape the split between Duchess Says and Le Prince Harry. We didn’t want to be a label but on the side we made a small run of this cassette, it’s like breaking the ice to start making a label.

ML: We’ve built bridges, not only with festivals, but also with labels, other communities and organizations that are a bit like us and that do the same kind of work. There have been encounters, links that have been forged through all of this. Our initial mission was to create an original community, with people helping each other and creating together. There has always been St Denis versus St Laurent, Esco versus La Casa, I think we always had the idea of bringing people from both sides and being together on the same stage.

PAN M 360: You say that Sounds from Mothland is influenced by the punk compilations of the ’80s, which label or compilation do you think of?

Jean-Philippe Bourgeois: On 4AD, all the artists collaborated together on the albums of This Mortal Coil, there was this aspect of community, of creating together. 

PL: I had this desire to look to the past, to look at the labels that influenced us and that were real curators with a strong identity, like 4AD, Sub Pop. Releasing this mixtape was precisely to do something that no longer exists in our time, everything is digital, everything is intangible. Sub Pop and Rough Trade used to release compilations that were sick, nowadays, labels make playlists with all the hits of their artists on Spotify but it just stays there. I didn’t want us to get into that. Without falling into nostalgia, we can bring back what worked back then. As a music lover, sometimes you need something tangible, the finished product. 

[exclusive listening link]

PAN M 360: The compilation is a good representation of this year’s collective feeling. We all feel out of our comfort zone, and that’s what you asked the artists to do to create the tracks. Can we say that it’s a call to stay creative and experiment despite the uncertainty that hangs over the artistic community?

ML: As much as Mothland was born out of the need for this scene to be represented in booking, we also realized that there weren’t many labels in Quebec anymore that were taking risks. It’s really the pandemic that made Mothland as a label truly become a priority. After the first two months of the pandemic, we realized that the shows weren’t coming back for another year, maybe even two years, so it became Mothland’s priority to release music. We reviewed the whole way of doing things, we’re learning how to manage this whole ecosystem. It was a great way to reconnect with the world.

PAN M 360: Paul Jacobs signs the design of the cassette. How would you define his artistic signature? We obviously think of Daniel Johnston’s drawings.

PL: The first time I met Paul, he was wearing a Daniel Johnston t-shirt. We asked Paul to do the packaging, to make it look like it was hand-drawn. We called the compilation Sounds from Mothland, to say that Mothland is really a tangible place. Paul ended up designing his little apartment with someone who plays music.  

ML: It’s the universe that we carry with us everywhere we go. 

PAN M 360: What about Elie Chap’s mystery insertion?

PL: To bring our totem animal, I had the idea to create a kit of how to make your own origami moth. A mothé is like an underdog too.

Watch the Distorsion Domesicle again here.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

[EXCLUSIVITÉ] Mothland‌ ‌Records‌ ‌:‌ ‌l’univers‌ ‌des‌ ‌«‌ ‌mothés‌ ‌»‌ ‌en‌ ‌format‌ ‌de‌ ‌poche‌ ‌

Interview réalisé par Louise Jaunet

Le label montréalais lance une première compilation cassette éclectique et colorée à l’image de son festival psychédélique annuel Distorsion.

renseignements supplémentaires

En seulement trois ans d’existence, les papillons de nuit de Mothland ont su se créer une place à part entière dans le paysage nocturne de Montréal. Leur cocon est basé dans un univers parallèle souterrain, à l’abri de tous les regards. Seuls les initiés peuvent avoir accès à cet univers qui se trouve dans le triangle des Bermudes que forment les trois tavernes de la rue St-Denis au coin de Mont-Royal. Malgré la distance imposée et l’incertitude qui règne pour le monde artistique, la conspiration psychédélique Mothland a décidé d’aller de l’avant en se métamorphosant officiellement en label indépendant.

Pour marquer le coup, l’étiquette sort sa première compilation sur cassette, Sounds from Mothland volume 1, un amalgame étonnant de démos et de morceaux inédits de style face B des différents artistes locaux et internationaux qui ont marqué le créneau psychédélique montréalais ces cinq dernières années. Plus bas, vous trouverez en exclusivité un lien d’écoute qui vous donnera accès aux morceaux de la compilation. Vous pourrez notamment écouter une balade post-disco utopique des shoegazers Yoo Doo Right, une reprise post-punk du morceau Enigma Of The Absolute de Dead Can Dance par le Français Jessica93 ou encore un enregistrement en concert des Sunwatchers, quatuor new-yorkais de jazz-punk. Avis aux collectionneurs et amateurs de raretés, la cassette sort en un petit tirage de cent exemplaires seulement.

PAN M 360 est entré en communication par télépathie avec la communauté des « mothés » pour discuter de musique psychédélique, du mythique label 4AD, d’origami et de son lancement officiel en tant que label indépendant.

PAN M 360 : Vous avez lancé le premier festival Distorsion en 2015, Mothland a suivi deux ans après. Comment l’agence Mothland a été créée ? Quel manque vouliez-vous combler dans la scène locale ?

Marilyne Lacombe : Mothland est parti du festival Distorsion, qui est l’idée de former et d’organiser une communauté autour de la scène psychédélique montréalaise, de donner des outils à cette scène, des lieux de diffusion organisés de façon professionnelle, tout en gardant un charme DIY. La direction artistique de Distorsion est devenue la direction artistique de Mothland. En tant que programmatrice de festivals [ndlr : Taverne Tour et FME], je me suis retrouvée à représenter la scène qu’on avait bâtie autour de Distorsion auprès d’autres programmateurs et de l’amener dans des festivals qui n’étaient pas forcément des festivals de niche. On a quand même ouvert une porte à des bands qui n’auraient jamais joué dans des festivals plus mainstream.

PAN M 360 : Il existe beaucoup de festivals centrés sur la musique psychédélique au sens strict du terme. On peut noter que le vôtre a un champ d’ouverture plus large, avec du post-punk, du noise, de la no wave, du garage et j’en passe. Comment rassemblez-vous tout cela autour de l’étiquette psychédélique ? Quelle est votre vision du terme psychédélique ?

ML : On avait une vision très large, moderne et actuelle de la scène psychédélique. Musicalement, nous n’avions pas de limites de style, mais plus un état d’esprit et une esthétique, je pense.

Philippe Larocque : On voulait une programmation champ gauche mais aussi accessible. Ce n’est pas seulement des shows de drone de deux heures, il y a un côté party. On a mélangé des bands lourds avec de la musique électronique, il ne fallait pas que ça soit juste du rock, comme dans la contre-culture de San Francisco. On a plus une vibe expérimentale. Par exemple, Crabe et FET.NAT se sont joint à nous. Ce sont des bands qui existaient depuis super longtemps. La scène existait déjà mais on a fait un pont entre plusieurs bands expérimentaux qui n’avaient pas forcément de lien direct. Pour nous, ça rentrait dans la même définition de la musique expérimentale psychédélique.

Maxime Hébert : On voulait quelque chose qui change la perception, que ce soit des sons ou des images. C’est un des engrenages principaux. La musique psychédélique, ça pogne, les gens restent devant un vidéoclip psychédélique parce que ça les stimule. La musique psychédélique, ça stimule tout autant. Ce n’est pas un genre fermé, ça peut être apprécié par tellement de différentes gigs.

ML : En 2014, il y a eu comme une espèce de golden age du rock psychédélique avec Levitation, Austin Psych Fest. On s’est inspirés de ça mais on lui a vraiment donné une couleur montréalaise, je pense. L’idée derrière Distorsion était de partir une communauté. Une scène s’est mise à graviter autour de Distorsion, des bands qui revenaient souvent avec qui on s’est mis à forger des relations plus solides, comme Paul Jacobs, Atsuko Chiba et Yonatan Gat. Cette scène-là, cette communauté avait besoin d’un chapeau qui allait permettre de présenter ces bands à l’industrie. À la base, Mothland était purement une agence de booking. Notre mandat était de prendre les bands qu’on avait fédérés et de les présenter auprès des festivals. Je pense qu’il y a des portes qui se sont ouvertes avec le travail qu’on a fait.

PAN M 360 : Dès le départ, vous avez regroupé des artistes locaux mais également internationaux, pourquoi avoir choisi d’avoir une ouverture internationale très tôt dans le projet ?

PL : Avec la gang du Desert Daze, du monde en Europe de Teenage Menopause, on voulait trouver des mothés partout à travers le monde, des gens qui avaient un peu la même vision. On a commencé à tisser des liens avec Elzo Durt qui a fait nos affiches pour Distorsion. Ses amis du Prince Harry sont venus, on a décidé de réimprimer en cassette le split qu’il y avait entre Duchess Says et le Prince Harry. On ne voulait pas être un label mais on the side, on a fait une petite run de cette cassette-là. Ça a comme brisé la glace pour commencer à faire un label

ML : On a créé des ponts, pas seulement avec des festivals, mais aussi avec des labels, d’autres communautés et organismes un peu comme nous et qui font le même genre de travail. Il y a eu des rencontres, des liens qui se sont tissés à travers tout ça. Notre mission de départ était de créer une communauté originale, avec du monde qui s’entraide et qui crée ensemble. Il y a toujours eu St-Denis versus St-Laurent, l’Esco versus La Casa ; je pense qu’on a toujours eu l’idée d’aller chercher des gens des deux côtés et d’être ensemble sur une même scène.

PAN M 360 : Vous dites que Sounds from Mothland s’inspire des compilations punk des années 80, à quel label ou quelle compilation pensez-vous ?

Jean-Philippe Bourgeois : Sur 4AD, tous les artistes collaboraient ensemble sur les albums de This Mortal Coil. Il y avait cet aspect de communauté, de créer ensemble.

PL : J’avais ce désir de regarder vers le passé, de regarder les labels qui nous ont influencés et qui étaient des vrais curateurs avec une identité forte, comme 4AD, Sub Pop. Sortir cette mixtape-là, c’était justement pour faire quelque chose qui n’existe plus à notre époque; tout est numérique, tout est intangible. Sub Pop et Rough Trade sortaient des compilations qui étaient malades, aujourd’hui, les labels font des playlists avec tous les hits de leurs artistes sur Spotify, mais ça en reste là. Je ne voulais pas qu’on rentre dans cet engrenage-là. Sans tomber dans la nostalgie, on peut ramener ce qui marchait à l’époque. En tant que mélomane, tu as parfois besoin de quelque chose de tangible, d’un produit fini. 

[LIEN D’ÉCOUTE EXCLUSIF]

PAN M 360 : La compilation représente bien le sentiment éprouvé collectivement cette année. Nous nous sentons tous hors de notre zone de confort et c’est ce que vous avez demandé aux artistes de faire pour créer les morceaux. Est-ce qu’on peut dire que c’est un appel à rester créatif et à expérimenter malgré l’incertitude qui plane sur la communauté artistique ?

ML : Autant Mothland est né du besoin de cette scène-là d’être représenté en booking, on s’est aussi rendu compte qu’il n’y avait plus beaucoup de labels au Québec qui prenaient des risques. C’est vraiment la pandémie qui a fait que Mothland en tant que label est devenu une priorité. Après les deux premiers mois de la pandémie, on a réalisé que les shows n’allaient pas revenir avant un an, peut-être même deux ans, alors c’est devenu la priorité de Mothland de sortir de la musique. On a revu toute la façon de faire, on apprend comment gérer tout cet écosystème. C’était une belle façon de reconnecter avec le monde.

PAN M 360 : Paul Jacobs signe le design de la cassette, comment définiriez-vous sa signature artistique ? On pense évidemment aux dessins de Daniel Johnston.

PL : La première fois que j’ai rencontré Paul, il portait un t-shirt de Daniel Johnston. On a demandé à Paul de faire le packaging, de faire comme si ça avait été dessiné à la main. On a appelé la compilation Sounds from Mothland, pour dire que Mothland est vraiment un endroit tangible. Paul a finalement dessiné son petit appartement avec quelqu’un qui joue de la musique.

ML : C’est l’univers qu’on traîne avec nous partout où l’on va. 

PAN M 360 : Peut-on en savoir plus sur l’insertion mystère d’Elie Chap ?

PL : Pour amener notre animal totem, j’ai eu l’idée de créer un kit pour faire son propre moth en origami. Un mothé, c’est comme un underdog aussi.

Revoir le Dômesicle de Distorsion ici.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre