Maestro Kent Nagano: His OSM mandate’s conclusion, the pandemic, the future

Interview by Alain Brunet

Recently, before coming back to Montreal for a cycle of winter concerts, Maestro Kent Nagano was reached at his Parisian home. He gave PAN M 360 an initial assessment of his term at the helm of the Montreal orchestra, one cut short by the global pandemic.

Genres and styles : Classical

Additional Information

From 2006 to 2020, Kent Nagano was Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. Unfortunately, the global pandemic ruined the end of his Montreal stay at the helm of the OSM, a series of special concerts planned for last spring and summer… cancelled or postponed, obviously. We can already imagine invitations in 2021 when the concert halls will be allowed to reopen. In the meantime, he granted this in-depth interview to PAN M 360.

The first question that comes to mind after this year of profound disruption in the music world concerns the maestro’s final round, of which 2020 was his last year at the helm of the OSM, an exit unfortunately overshadowed by the pandemic.

“Of course, it’s disappointing. I’m afraid that the current situation is simply out of our control. We must remain positive. And I think the vaccine will have a positive effect by late spring or early summer. The finale was really very rich, not one concert but a rich process, that’s the best word to use. Several concerts linked together, which were going to have a crescendo or a general recapitulation towards the end, and that involved not only the OSM but also the community and many artists from Quebec who joined the orchestra, it was also the last Classical Virée that was going to give Andrew Wan another chance to perform the Samy Moussa concerto that we recorded. It’s always different when you play a brand new concerto twice.”

It’s easy to imagine that the conductor, based (mostly) in Paris and (sometimes) in San Francisco, and whose main job is in Hamburg, will be entitled to important invitations when the Maison symphonique reopens. In the meantime, he remains Honourary Conductor of the German Symphony Orchestra in Berlin, where he was Music Director from 2000 to 2006, but his most important duties are in Hamburg, where he is Music Director of the State Opera and the Philharmonic Orchestra.

A more festive conclusion to his Montreal direction would have been desirable, but… At 69 years of age, Nagano accepts his fate wisely and expresses a deep attachment to the city that has embraced him for at least 14 years.

“When your child leaves home, the relationship is different, of course. You don’t see each other every day, but that has nothing to do with the love you have for your child. In this case, I actually feel like it’s not over yet. My respect and admiration for the OSM is just as strong today as it was on day one, if not more so. My feelings for Montreal and the orchestra are much deeper today. Because the orchestra can accomplish so much, which means that we have developed a very, very intense personal relationship. And that hasn’t ended. So yes, I’m looking forward to the future.”

The maestro leaves with his head held high after 14 years of service to the OSM, and is proud of his Montreal achievements.

“What am I most proud of? It’s terribly difficult to say. Together, we have done so much.”

Without claiming to be exhaustive, it nevertheless lends itself to gambling. The construction of the Maison symphonique comes first:

“We started by bringing the orchestra closer to the community. We first filled Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier, which led us to the realization of an old dream of which Quebec can be very proud. The construction of the new concert hall was carried out in 2007, 2008 and 2009 in the midst of a global banking scandal. It is so impressive to me that Montrealers and Quebecers were saying ‘Let’s do it’, very impressive despite the global financial fragility.”

The OSM Choir, under the direction of Andrew Megill, is then touched on by the maestro.

“I had always felt that we needed a choir that could sing at the same level as the orchestra, so we created the OSM Choir.”

The acquisition of the Pierre Béique organ is another source of great pleasure for Nagano. The purchase of this orchestral organ was made possible thanks to the late Jacqueline Desmarais, a patron of the arts. Its name honours the contribution of Pierre Béique, the OSM’s first director general, from 1939 to 1970.

“Many concert halls have left an empty space where the organ was supposed to be!” Nagano laughs. “Installed at the Maison symphonique, the Pierre Béique organ is currently one of the best in the world.”

The Maestro is also pleased with a relationship that he feels has been strengthened between the Montreal community and the OSM, beginning with the Classical Tour, which is normally presented at the end of the summer.

“That’s why we’ve set up our summer festival, La Virée classique. I’ve always felt that one of the unique, special features of Montreal is its summer festival season. There’s a great atmosphere and there’s a place for classical music.”

Maestro Nagano goes on to cite La musique aux enfants, an OSM music-education initiative conducted in partnership with the Université de Montréal and the Commission scolaire de la Pointe-de-l’Île. The goal was to introduce preschoolers to intensive music learning. The project was inaugurated in November 2016, first initiated at St-Rémi public school in Montréal-Nord.

“I am very happy with our involvement in this very special school, which provides children with a high level of education.”

Finally, the rejuvenation of the OSM’s audience is a great victory for Maestro Nagano.

“For me, one of the things that people don’t realize so much is that over time, the orchestra and I have lowered the average age of our audience; we see young adults, teenagers, whole families. The orchestra today has one of the youngest audiences in all of North America, without neglecting our mature audience. I’ve always thought that the OSM audience should be the people you meet on the streets of Montreal, people from all walks of life, all age groups, all interests, all levels of experience and education.

“The idea was to reflect Montreal, a very special city: mosaic of cultures, high quality of life, cuisine, arts, culture, education, visionary industries, advanced technologies, etc. When the Montreal public comes to us, they can feel, hear and be nourished through the OSM, the sense of belonging develops, it makes the orchestra all the more relevant. Slowly and surely, this representation of Montrealers is tangible in the OSM. It’s a sign of good health, and I think we can really be proud of it.”

Kent Nagano has not always enjoyed unanimous support. His conducting has sometimes been considered too soft by some. His artistic orientation, very open to the contemporary corpus and therefore not always consensual for the “classical audience”, has displeased those who are reluctant to change. It is also possible that these differences in values sometimes had a negative impact within some of the orchestra’s staff, which may have affected some performances.

Regrets, Maestro Nagano… He takes responsibility for everything, starting with an artistic direction that he feels he has imposed through dialogue.

“We had a fairly open dialogue between members of the OSM, the decisions that were taken were not unilateral. There was a lot of discussion among us, because when we wanted to do something important, because we all had to go in the same direction. If you divide and go in different directions, you can’t achieve your goals. Without discussion, by losing the sense of unity and community, you may find yourself in very dangerous situations.”

That being said, the maestro remains aware that you can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs.

“If you are an artist and you take risks, you have to assume the difficulties and the consequences. Not everyone will systematically understand, not everyone will be able to feel at the same time what has been implemented. The orchestra quickly achieved my initial goals and each year I set the bar higher and higher. My only regret is that I didn’t have enough time. But maybe that’s a good thing…”

In this, he suggests that the development of the OSM must continue, a new direction must now take over with Maestro Rafael Payare.

“I think it’s important for an orchestra to be able to go back to the time of Johann Sebastian Bach, Mozart and Beethoven, and to get to the present day. The idea of an orchestra for musicians is to make music together. Artists from different nationalities, cultures, or social classes pool their talent to achieve what they cannot accomplish individually. This is a kind of metaphor for democracy.”

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Maestro Kent Nagano, fin de mandat à l’OSM, la pandémie…

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Peu avant Noël, le chef sortant de l’OSM a été joint à son domicile parisien. Il nous dresse un premier bilan de son mandat à la barre de l’orchestre montréalais, mandat écourté par la pandémie mondiale.

Genres et styles : classique

renseignements supplémentaires

De 2006 à 2020, Kent Nagano fut le directeur musical et chef principal de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, la pandémie mondiale a malheureusement bousillé la fin de son séjour montréalais à la barre de l’OSM, soit une série de concerts spéciaux prévus au printemps et à l’été derniers… évidemment annulés ou reportés. On imagine déjà des invitations en 2021 lorsque les salles de concerts seront autorisée à rouvrir. D’ici là, il accorde cette interview de fond à PAN M 360.

Réalisée il y a quelques jours, cette interview avec Maestro Nagano est présentée en deux parties. D’abord, nous présentons le volet des questions relatives à son séjour montréalais de 14 années, puis nous causerons du plus récent enregistrement de l’OSM (paru chez Analekta) sous sa direction avec pour soliste le premier violon de l’orchestre, Andrew Wan.

La première question qui vient à l’esprit après ces 10 mois de profondes perturbations dans le milieu de la musique concerne la ronde finale du maestro dont 2020 était la dernière année à la barre de l’OSM, sortie malheureusement éradiquée par la pandémie.

« Bien sûr, c’est décevant. Je crains que la situation actuelle ne soit tout simplement hors de notre contrôle. Nous devons rester positifs. Et je pense que le vaccin aura un effet positif à la fin du printemps ou au début de l’été. La finale a été vraiment très riche, pas un seul concert mais un processus riche, c’est le meilleur mot à utiliser. Plusieurs concerts liés entre eux, qui allaient faire un crescendo ou une récapitulation générale vers la fin, et cela a impliqué non seulement l’OSM mais aussi la communauté ainsi que de nombreux artistes du Québec qui se sont joints à l’orchestre, c’était aussi la dernière Virée classique qui devait donner une autre chance à Andrew Wan d’interpréter le concerto de Samy Moussa que nous avons enregistré. C’est toujours différent quand on joue deux fois un concerto tout neuf. »

Il est aisé de croire que le chef, basé (surtout) à Paris et (parfois) à San Francisco, et dont l’emploi principal se trouve à Hambourg, aura droit à d’importantes invitations lorsque la Maison symphonique pourra rouvrir. D’ici là, il demeure chef honoraire de l’Orchestre symphonique allemand de Berlin, dont il fut directeur musical de 2000 à 2006, mais ses occupations les plus importantes se trouvent à Hambourg; il y assure la direction musicale de l’Opéra d’État et de l’Orchestre philharmonique.

Une conclusion plus festive de sa direction montréalaise eu certes été souhaitable mais… Du haut de ses 69 ans, Nagano accepte son destin avec sagesse et exprime un profond attachement à la ville l’ayant adopté pendant au moins 14 ans.

« Quand votre enfant quitte la maison familiale, la relation est alors différente, bien sûr. Vous ne vous voyez plus tous les jours, mais cela n’a rien à voir avec l’amour que vous portez à votre enfant. Dans ce cas, en fait, j’ai l’impression que rien n’est terminé. Mon respect et mon admiration pour l’OSM sont tout aussi forts aujourd’hui qu’au premier jour, sinon plus. Mes sentiments pour Montréal et l’orchestre sont beaucoup plus profonds aujourd’hui. Car l’orchestre peut accomplir tant de choses, ce qui signifie que nous avons développé une relation personnelle très très intense. Et cela n’a pas pris fin. Alors oui, je me réjouis de l’avenir. »

Le maestro part la tête haute après 14 années au service de l’OSM, il se montre fier de ses réalisations montréalaises.

« De quoi suis-je le plus fier ? C’est terriblement difficile à déterminer. Ensemble, nous avons accompli tant de choses. »

Sans prétendre à un bilan exhaustif, il se prête néanmoins au jeu. La construction de la Maison symphonique vient en premier lieu :

« Nous avions commencé par rapprocher l’orchestre de la communauté. Nous avons d’abord rempli la salle Wilfrid-Pelletier, ce qui nous a menés à la réalisation d’un vieux rêve dont le Québec peut être très fier. La construction de la nouvelle salle de concert a été réalisée en 2007, 2008 et 2009, et ce, au milieu d’un scandale bancaire mondial. C’est tellement impressionnant pour moi que les Montréalais et les Québécois disaient  «Faisons-le », très impressionnant malgré la fragilité financière mondiale. »

Le Choeur de l’OSM, sous la direction d’Andrew Megill, est ensuite cité par le maestro :

«J’avais toujours senti que nous avions besoin d’un chœur qui pouvait chanter au même niveau que l’orchestre, nous avons alors créé le Chœur de l’OSM. »

L’acquisition de l’orgue Pierre Béique réjouit encore Kent Nagano. Rappelons que l’achat de cet orgue d’orchestre fut rendu possible par une gracieuseté de feue la mécène Jacqueline Desmarais. Son appellation honore la contribution de Pierre Béique, premier directeur général de l’OSM, soit de 1939 à 1970.

« Beaucoup de salles de concert ont laissé un espace vide où l’orgue était censé se trouver! Installé à la Maison symphonique, l’orgue Pierre Béique est actuellement l’un des meilleurs au monde. »

Le maestro se montre aussi heureux d’une relation qu’il estime renforcée entre la communauté montréalaise et l’OSM, à commencer par la Virée classique présentée normalement à la fin de l’été.

« C’est pourquoi nous avons mis sur pied notre festival d’été, la Virée classique. J’ai toujours ressenti qu’une des caractéristiques si uniques, si spéciales de Montréal, est sa période des festivals d’été. Y règne toute une atmosphère et il y a une place pour la musique classique. »

Maestro Nagano cite ensuite La musique aux enfants, une initiative d’éducation musicale de l’OSM menée en partenariat avec l’Université de Montréal et la Commission scolaire de la Pointe-de-l’Île. L’Objectif était d’initier les enfants d’âge préscolaire à l’apprentissage intensif de la musique. Le projet fut inauguré en novembre 2016, d’abord déployé à l’école publique St-Rémi à Montréal-Nord.

« Je suis très heureux de notre implication pour cette école très spéciale, qui prodigue aux enfants des enseignements de haut niveau. »

Enfin, le rajeunissement du public de l’OSM est une grande victoire pour notre interviewé.

« Pour moi, une des choses dont les gens ne se rendent pas tellement compte est qu’avec le temps, l’orchestre et moi avons abaissé l’âge moyen de notre auditoire; on y observe des jeunes adultes, des adolescents, des familles entières. L’orchestre peut aujourd’hui compter sur l’un des plus jeunes publics de toute l’Amérique du Nord, sans pour négliger notre public mature.  J’ai toujours pensé que le public de l’OSM devrait correspondre aux gens que l’on croise dans les rues de Montréal, des gens de tous les milieux, de tous groupes d’âge, de tous intérêts, de tous niveaux d’expérience ou d’éducation.

« L’idée était de refléter Montréal, une ville très spéciale: mozaïque de cultures, grande qualité de vie, cuisine, arts, culture, éducation, industries visionnaires, technologies de pointe, etc. Quand le public montréalais vient à nous, il peut sentir, entendre et se nourrir à travers l’OSM, le sentiment d’appartenance se développe, cela rend l’orchestre d’autant plus pertinent. Lentement et sûrement, cette représentation des Montréalais est tangible à l’OSM. C’est un signe de bonne santé et je pense que nous pouvons vraiment en être fiers. »

On sait au demeurant que Kent Nagano n’a pas toujours fait l’unanimité. Sa direction d’orchestre a été parfois jugée trop molle par certains. Son orientation artistique, très ouverte au corpus contemporain et donc pas toujours consensuelle pour le « grand public classique », a déplu aux esprits peu enclins au changement. Il se peut également que ces différences de valeurs aient eu parfois un impact négatif au sein même du personnel de l’orchestre, ce qui aurait affecté certaines exécutions.

Des regrets, Maestro Nagano ? Il assume sur toute la ligne, à commencer par une direction artistique qu’il estime avoir imposé à travers le dialogue.

« Nous avons eu un dialogue assez ouvert entre membres de l’OSM, les décisions qui ont été prises n’ont pas été unilatérales. Il y a eu énormément de discussions entre nous, parce que lorsque nous voulions faire quelque chose d’important, parce que nous devions tous aller dans la même direction. Si vous vous divisez et empruntez différentes avenues, vous ne pouvez pas atteindre vos objectifs. Sans discussion, en perdant le sens de l’unité et de la communauté, vous pouvez vous trouver dans des situations très dangereuses. »

Cela étant posé, le maestro reste conscient qu’on ne fait pas d’omelette sans casser des œufs.

« Si vous êtes un artiste et que vous prenez des risques, vous devez en assumer les difficultés et les conséquences. Tout le monde ne comprendra pas systématiquement, tout le monde ne pourra pas sentir en même temps ce qui a été mis en œuvre. L’orchestre avait rapidement atteint mes objectifs initiaux et, chaque année, j’ai mis la barre de plus en plus haut. Mon seul regret est de ne pas avoir assez eu de temps. Mais c’est peut-être une bonne chose… »

En cela, notre interviewé laisse entendre que le développement de l’OSM doit se poursuivre, une nouvelle direction doit maintenant prendre le relai.

« Je pense qu’il soit important pour un orchestre de pouvoir remonter à l’époque de Johann Sébastian Bach, de Mozart et de Beethoven et de se rendre jusqu’à aujourd’hui. L’idée d’un orchestre pour musiciens, c’est de faire de la musique ensemble. Des artistes issus de nationalités, cultures, ou classes sociales différentes mettent en commun leur talent pour réaliser ce qu’ils ne peuvent accomplir individuellement. Voilà en quelque sorte une métaphore de la démocratie. »

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre