Hippie Hourrah: “Exposition individuelle” in Tribute to Jacques Hurtubise

Interview by Jacob Langlois-Pelletier
Genres and styles : Electronic / Psych-Rock / Rock / Synth-Pop

Additional Information

This Friday, April 21, the Montreal group Hippie Hourrah unveils its second album entitled Exposition Individualinspired and created by the work of the late Quebec painter, Jacques Hurtubise. A few days before the publication of the project, Pan M 360 met the three members of the group, Miles Dupire-Gagnon, Gabriel Lambert, and Cédric Marinelli at the latter’s painting studio in order to learn more about this new chapter of their artistic history. 

Under the Simone Records label, the trio rose to prominence in 2021 with the opus Hippie Hourrah!, a proposal with psychedelic sounds, also tinged with pop and even folk. This time, the three men return to the charge with a concept album around the art of the artist Jacques Hurtubise, a member of the family of the group’s percussionist when they perform on stage. Recently, the group’s voice, Cédric Marinelli, was charmed by the painter’s work and offered to make it the guideline of their second long format. Moreover, the Onibaba painting d’Hurtubise adorns the cover of the book and gives a good image of the project, making it as coherent as it is eclectic. Also, the titles of the pieces are all those of paintings by Jacques Hurtubise and served as a starting point for the development of the songs. 

With the help of the writer Ralph Elawani, Hippie Hourrah drew its inspiration from the impressive artistic catalog of Jacques Hurtubise. On the album, Elawani plays the role of a journalist and appears several times in narrative tracks, providing additional depth to the concept. Composed of 14 titles, this project offers pieces with atypical structures infused with synths, all crafted around the singular and bewitching voice of Marinelli. The creative casualness of Hippie Hourrah shines on Exhibition Individual and gives life to excellent titles such as “Unfathomable Nights,” and “Brush in the Tomb,” which are undoubtedly two favourites for the author of these lines.

PAN M 360: Why were you inspired by the art of Jacques Hurtubise?

CEDRIC MARINELLI: At a certain point, I completely fell into discovering Jacques Hurtubise and his art. Jacques is in the family of our percussionist and I have always seen his works, without really knowing who he was. Recently, I went to the workshop where his family takes care of his paintings. I found the experience very inspiring and thought it would make a great guideline for our project. Naturally, I discussed with members of Jacques Hurtubise’s family and I was sent his catalogs with all his paintings. It is precisely from there that we took the names of each of the songs of our project. His family liked our vision and thought it would introduce his art to younger generations. Almost all the texts on the album have as their starting point an element of the life of Jacques Hurtubise, and they are as much works as moments of his life. That being said, the titles of Individual Exhibition do not exclusively deal with Jacques and we approach several other different subjects. The narrative pieces also reinforce the concept of the album and bring a little something extra musical to the project. 

PAN M 360: Let’s talk about the Onibaba canvas that adorns the album cover. Why did you make this choice?

HIPPIE HOURRAH: We chose this canvas because of the effect it had on us. We love the aesthetics and the feeling that the work gives off. Jacques Hurtubise’s family offered us several canvases for the cover and we looked at them all carefully. When we saw  Onibaba, we all agreed that it was the one that best represented the project. 

PAN M 360: How did you choose the paintings that would become the titles of your songs?

HIPPIE HOURRAH: We chose the paintings that made us trip and inspired us to create. For example, Jacques made “Rorschach” style canvases. Rorschach was a psychologist who developed a therapy tool that is still used today. The principle is simple, it is to show an abstract painting to a patient and ask him to describe what he sees. Jacques has already made canvases in the style of those presented for this test. For the song from our album called “Rorschach,” we played along and wrote about what we saw on works of this style that we found on the internet. The song is squarely about what a patient would say to a doctor, it’s quite interesting. 

PAN M 360: Is there a parallel to be drawn between what the painting gives you and your music?

CÉDRIC MARINELLI: Clearly. And I think that’s why we wanted to be inspired by a visual artist and the title of the album is Exhibition Individual. For us, each song is a painting. I really like lots of different art forms, I especially love abstract painting. In the composition of our music, we always have this desire for expansion and research that goes beyond what is known. It really is like painting. In our new project, we go further than what we know musically through research, improvisation, and imagination. 

PAN M 360: You say that you go beyond certain musical limits in this new work. How would you describe this proposal?

HIPPIE HORRAH: It sure is psychedelic. It is musically, but also in the general attitude of the project. Sometimes, in this project, we explore more pop and rock avenues. There is a bit of everything in this project and our influences are very vague. It’s a happy mix of musical styles wrapped in a psychedelic universe. 

PAN M 360: By its rhythm and its color, the title “Nuits insondables” stands out from the rest of the album. Tell me a bit about the history of this song. 

HIPPIE HOURRAH: This is probably the rawest track on the album. When we worked on this track, it was super easy compared to other tracks that we worked on for a long time. There is a certain simplicity in “Nuits insondables,” which goes well with Cédric’s very personal lyrics. It is at this level that this piece differs from the others in the project. This title gives you time to catch your breath before setting off again. We’ve been hanging out at Esco for years and Cédric works there. He wanted to make a song about this area which is well-known to musicians here. 

PAN M 360: Your writing is neat and poetic. What does your creative process look like in terms of writing?

CÉDRIC MARINELLI: I have always written with Ralph Elawani, a good friend of mine. He is the one who speaks on the narrative frameworks of the album. Generally, I don’t have any particular technique. We start with an idea and we build from that. For this project, we wanted each song to have the name of a painting by Jacques Hurtubise. As I said earlier, each song bears the name of a canvas, and we started from that as a source of inspiration to create. 

PAN M 360: Which Exposition Individual piece are you most looking forward to performing on stage?

HIPPIE HOURRAH: We’re definitely looking forward to “Unfathomable Nights” and “Pur Sang Rouge.” We had a lot of fun doing “Time of the Dead” on Exposition Individual, it’s really trippy. It will be good to have new material to do during our shows. Our performances could take a different turn, we can’t wait. Before, we didn’t have so many tunes, so we threw ourselves into endless instrumental sequences. We really don’t hate it, but it’s hard to do an hour show like that. More concise pieces, it’s not a refusal. 

The launch of the Individual Exhibition  will take place at Casa Del Popolo on April 26 at 6:15 p.m. 

Latest 360 Content

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

INTERVIEW: Dumai Dunai releases debut album

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, a lot from the head for the body

Jill Barber: in French, again and always!

Jill Barber: in French, again and always!

Classica Festival – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Classica Festival – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Suoni Per Il Popolo | Kiva Stimac explains her artistic direction

Suoni Per Il Popolo | Kiva Stimac explains her artistic direction

Phi Centre | Kee Avil plays the material of SPINE

Phi Centre | Kee Avil plays the material of SPINE

Lyric women of today: discover 3 new all-female operas at Bourgie

Lyric women of today: discover 3 new all-female operas at Bourgie

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

Vancouver Turning Point Ensemble celebrates in Montreal with SMCQ

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

Subscribe to our newsletter

Hippie Hourrah : « Exposition individuelle » en hommage à Jacques Hurtubise

Entrevue réalisée par Jacob Langlois-Pelletier

renseignements supplémentaires

Ce vendredi 21 avril, la formation montréalaise Hippie Hourrah dévoile son deuxième album intitulé Exposition individuelle, inspiré et créé à partir de l’œuvre du défunt peintre québécois, Jacques Hurtubise. À quelques jours de la parution du projet, Pan M 360 a rencontré les trois membres du groupe, Miles Dupire-Gagnon, Gabriel Lambert et Cédric Marinelli à l’atelier de peinture de ce dernier afin d’en connaître davantage sur ce nouveau chapitre de leur histoire artistique. 

Sous étiquette Simone Records, le trio s’est fait connaître en 2021 avec l’opus Hippie Hourrah!, une proposition aux sonorités psychédéliques, aussi teintée de pop et même de folk. Cette fois-ci, les trois hommes reviennent à la charge avec un album-concept autour de l’art de l’artiste Jacques Hurtubise, un membre de la famille du percussionniste du groupe lorsqu’ils se produisent sur scène. Récemment, la voix du groupe, Cédric Marinelli, a été charmée par l’œuvre du peintre et a proposé d’en faire la ligne directrice de leur deuxième long format. Par ailleurs, le tableau Onibaba  d’Hurtubise orne la pochette de l’ouvrage et image bien le projet, soit un tout aussi cohérent qu’éclectique. Aussi, les titres des morceaux sont tous ceux de toiles de Jacques Hurtubise et ont servi de point de départ pour l’élaboration des chansons. 

Avec l’aide de l’écrivain Ralph Elawani, Hippie Hourrah a puisé son inspiration dans l’impressionnant catalogue artistique de Jacques Hurtubise. Sur l’album, Elawani joue le rôle d’un journaliste et apparaît à plusieurs reprises dans des morceaux narratifs, procurant une profondeur additionnelle au concept. Composé de 14 titres, ce projet offre des pièces aux structures atypiques infusées de synths, toutes confectionnées autour de la voix singulière et envoûtante de Marinelli. La désinvolture créative de Hippie Hourrah brille sur Exposition individuelle et donne vie à d’excellents titres tels que Nuits insondables et Pinceau au tombeau qui sont sans aucun doute deux coups de cœur pour l’auteur de ces lignes.

PAN M 360 : Pourquoi s’être inspiré de l’art de Jacques Hurtubise?

CÉDRIC MARINELLI : À un certain moment, je suis complètement tombé dans la découverte de Jacques Hurtubise et de son art. Jacques est dans la famille de notre percussionniste et j’ai toujours vu ses œuvres, sans réellement connaître qui il était. Récemment, je suis allé à l’atelier où sa famille s’occupe de ses toiles. J’ai trouvé l’expérience très inspirante et je me suis dit que ça ferait une superbe ligne directrice pour notre projet. Naturellement, j’ai discuté avec des membres de la famille de Jacques Hurtubise et on m’a envoyé ses catalogues avec toutes ses toiles. C’est justement de là que nous avons pris les noms de chacune des chansons de notre projet. Sa famille aimait bien notre vision et trouvait que cela allait faire connaître son art aux générations plus jeunes. Presque tous les textes de l’album ont comme point de départ un élément de la vie de Jacques Hurtubise, et ce sont autant des œuvres que des moments de sa vie. Cela étant dit, les titres d’Exposition individuelle ne traitent pas exclusivement de Jacques et on aborde plusieurs autres sujets différents. Les pièces narratives renforcent aussi le concept de l’album et amènent un petit quelque chose d’extra musical au projet. 

PAN M 360 : Parlons de la toile Onibaba  qui orne la pochette de l’album. Pourquoi avez-vous fait ce choix?

HIPPIE HOURRAH : On a choisi cette toile en raison de l’effet qu’elle exerçait sur nous. On adore l’esthétique et la sensation que l’œuvre dégage. La famille de Jacques Hurtubise nous a proposé plusieurs toiles pour la pochette et nous les avons toutes regardées attentivement. Lorsqu’on a vu  Onibaba, on était tous d’accord que c’était celle qui représentait le mieux le projet. 

PAN M 360 : Comment avez-vous fait les choix des toiles qui allaient devenir les titres de vos chansons?

HIPPIE HOURRAH : On a choisi les toiles qui nous faisaient tripper et qui nous inspiraient pour la création. Par exemple, Jacques faisait des toiles de style « Rorschach ». Rorschach est un psychologue qui a développé un outil de thérapie qui est encore utilisé aujourd’hui. Le principe est simple, c’est de montrer une peinture abstraite à un patient et de lui demander de décrire ce qu’il voit. Jacques a déjà fait des toiles dans le style de ceux qu’on présente pour ce test. Pour la chanson de notre album intitulé « Rorschach », on s’est prêté au jeu et on a écrit sur ce qu’on voyait sur des œuvres de ce style qu’on a trouvées sur internet. La chanson parle carrément de ce qu’un patient dirait à un docteur, c’est assez intéressant. 

PAN M 360 : Y a-t-il un parallèle à faire entre ce que vous procure la peinture et votre musique?

CÉDRIC MARINELLI : Clairement. Et je pense que c’est pour ça que nous avons voulu nous inspirer d’un artiste visuel et que le titre de l’album est Exposition individuelle. Pour nous, chaque chanson est un tableau. J’aime vraiment plein de formes d’art différentes, j’adore particulièrement la peinture abstraite. Dans la composition de notre musique, nous avons toujours ce désir d’expansion et de recherche qui va au-delà de ce qui est connu. C’est vraiment comme de la peinture. Dans notre nouveau projet, on va plus loin que ce qu’on connaît musicalement par la recherche, l’improvisation et l’imagination. 

PAN M 360 : Vous dites que vous dépassez certaines limites musicales dans ce nouvel ouvrage. Comment décririez-vous cette proposition?

HIPPIE HOURRAH : C’est certain que c’est psychédélique. Ça l’est musicalement, mais aussi dans l’attitude générale du projet. Parfois, dans ce projet, on explore des avenues plus pop et rock. Il y a un peu de tout dans ce projet et nos influences sont très vagues. C’est un heureux mélange de styles musicaux enrobés dans un univers psychédélique. 

PAN M 360 : Par son rythme et sa couleur, le titre Nuits insondables détonne du reste de l’album. Parlez-moi un peu de l’histoire de cette chanson. 

HIPPIE HOURRAH : C’est probablement le morceau le plus raw de l’album. Quand on a travaillé sur ce morceau, ça s’est fait super facilement comparativement à d’autres morceaux sur lesquels on a bûché longtemps. Il y a une certaine simplicité dans Nuits insondables, qui se marie bien aux paroles très personnelles de Cédric. C’est à ce niveau que ce morceau se différencie des autres dans le projet. Ce titre te donne le temps de prendre ton souffle avant de repartir à nouveau. On se tient à l’Esco depuis des années et Cédric y travaille. Il avait envie de faire une chanson sur ce coin qui est bien connu des musiciens d’ici. 

PAN M 360 : Votre écriture est soignée et poétique. À quoi ressemble votre processus créatif au niveau de l’écriture?

CÉDRIC MARINELLI : J’ai toujours écrit avec Ralph Elawani, un bon ami à moi. C’est celui qui parle sur les trames narratives de l’album. Généralement, je n’ai pas de technique particulière. On part d’une idée et on bâtit à partir de ça. Pour ce projet, on voulait que chaque chanson ait le nom d’une toile de Jacques Hurtubise. Comme j’ai dit plus tôt, chaque chanson porte le nom d’une toile, et on est parti de ça comme source d’inspiration pour créer. 

PAN M 360 : Quel morceau d’Exposition individuelle avez-vous le plus hâte de jouer sur scène?

HIPPIE HOURRAH : C’est certain qu’on a hâte de faire Nuits insondables et Pur sang rouge. On a eu énormément de plaisir à faire Le temps des morts en show, c’est vraiment trippant. Ça va faire du bien d’avoir du nouveau matériel à faire lors de nos spectacles. Nos représentations pourront prendre une différente tournure, on a très hâte. Avant on n’avait pas tant de tounes, donc on se lançait dans d’interminables séquences instrumentales. On ne déteste vraiment pas ça, mais c’est dur de faire une heure de spectacle comme ça. Des morceaux plus concis, ce n’est pas de refus. 

Le lancement d’Exposition individuelle se déroulera à la Casa Del Popolo le 26 avril prochain à 18h15. 

Tout le contenu 360

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Au Gala de la Terre, l’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explique

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Bell Orchestre immersif et interactif: House Music devient Sound House à la SAT

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | La parole de Georges Sand, les mots de Denis Plante

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un anniversaire symphonique pour Starmania et Jacques Lacombe

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Festival Classica | Un hommage à Théodore Dubois signé Lavigueur et Sinfonia

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

Dumai Dunai sort son premier album… et en cause

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

SAT Dômesicle | Elena Colombi, beaucoup de la tête pour le corps

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Humidex Records fête ses cinq ans à la SAT!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Jill Barber : en français encore et toujours!

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

Festival Classica – Piazzolla, de New York à Paris

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

38e Nuits d’Afrique | Sépopo Galley explique la programmation

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin dans les traces de Marie Hubert, Fille du Roy

Présente ta chanson ! Joyce N’Sana nous parle de Zola

Présente ta chanson ! Joyce N’Sana nous parle de Zola

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre