Code Quartet: All Jazz Codes

Interview by Alain Brunet
Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz

Additional Information

Code Quartet brings together four key figures of Montreal jazz, as evidenced by the beautiful album Genealogy, released on the Justin Time label last spring. Four performers, improvisers and composers ready to pool their long experience, their great expertise and their insatiable passion for contemporary jazz in its most subtle forms.

Adrian Vedady, double bass, Jim Doxas, drums, Lex French, trumpet and Christine Jensen, saxophones. As a courtesy, Christine Jensen was interviewed by PAN M 360 on the day of their concert at the Montreal International Jazz Festival.

PAN M 360 :Among all your projects, what is the purpose of this quartet ?

Christine Jensen : This quartet allows me, as well as the other three members to play in the most intimate, liberated setting of 4 musicians with no piano or guitar. We are all about linear expression. 

PAN M 360 :Can you tell our readers the circumstances of its foundation ? 

Christine Jensen : This group came together through simpatico meeting of minds between the four of us. I met trumpeter Lex French in 2018, while he was working on his doctorate at McGill. I was teaching composition and performance at the same time.  I was really impressed with his playing, full of expression and very versatile with his jazz language. I am very picky about trumpet players for some reason (haha) . We started playing sessions with Jim Doxas and Adrian Vedady, and knew we had a strong, personal sound with this group. The front line of Lex and myself could hold some power with the heavy hitting rhythm section of this team.  Next thing, Lex brought us to New Zealand for the Wellington Jazz Festival, where he is from. We had such a great time with everything music that we knew we had to continue and headed into the recording studio. We recorded a few days before the lockdown, thinking we would really get things moving forward. During the pandemic, it was easy to get together as we were all in close proximity being in Montreal. It really was a positive event for me whenever we could get together and workshop ideas during that time. In fact it was quite healing, and made me think that music will move forward so strong because of this. 

PAN M 360 : Is it for you guys a side-project or something on which you want to build for the next future?

Christine Jensen : We are very invested artistically in building on what we have started as a chord-less quartet, performing locally in 2019. Since then, every time we perform together we can’t wait to do more.  It’s like a music drug, which is a good thing! It really makes performing easy, because of such equal energy being fed to each other in the most organic setting of acoustic quartet.  We have all really committed to continuing on with exploring many corners, including building new repertoire and uncovering standard repertoire that works well with this formation. 

PAN M 360 : Is there any leader in this band ? 

Christine Jensen : No. We all tend to take on various roles in all of the many corners, including artistic direction, business, and recording. Each component is huge in terms of tasks, so it is really great when each of us take a bit on. I think that because we are so committed to this, we have been able to build a team behind us, including Heidi Fleming FAM group jumping on board with management and booking,  and Justin-Time Records with this recording and one that we have coming up. We also all work on booking the band at various levels. 

PAN M 360 :  Who is composing what ?

Christine Jensen : The four of us equally bring in music, and we are all into the challenge of presenting music that is very vertical linear, and not heavily harmonized or full of harmony. We all try to bring in new music whenever we get the chance. We all work together on orchestrating the sounds we are going for, so there is a lot of workshop, which is SO fun! 

PAN M 360 :  What do you explore musically with those gentlemen ?  Can you describe briefly the jazz styles involved ?

Christine Jensen : We work with anything really. We have even performed commissions by other composers for our group. We had a premiere of New Zealand composer Jasmine Lowell-Smith when we went to that festival. 

PAN M 360 :  How do you see the role and qualities of each member of this ensemble ?

Christine Jensen : That is the coolest part. We are all responsible for bringing in ideas equally, yet our instruments definitely define our roles in the performance. Strong time and great sound really are the key in this band really hitting hard. Lex and I weave the melodies, Adrian is in charge of laying down the bass, and Jimmy definitely gets to drive the ensemble with his expression as a drummer. We are all able to interchange with soloing and accompanying, as well as outlining any harmonic ideas vertically. 

PAN M 360 : Should we receive  this music as a “classic” form because it swings and the chord progressions are rooted in modern jazz idiom, from post-bop to ornettish style of the early 60’s (Genealogy theme) ?

Christine Jensen : I always think it is up to the listener. We are not completely free jazz and we are not completely original post-bop, but we can do all of that and everything in between. I think that is what gives the listener that feeling of something new, yet there is a classic jazz sound to it. 

PAN M 360 : Above its apparent classicism, what are for you the original aspects of this quartet’s personality ?

Christine Jensen : I think the personality finds us at a certain point. We all equally bring our own game to the table and it somehow all merges together. I think the music can take so many dramatic turns because of our personalities. I know I always get surprised by the spontaneity that can occur on so many levels with our dialogue. 

PAN M 360 : Are we going to hear new material (not recorded yet) at the FIJM concert on Saturday ?

Christine Jensen :  Yes. I am adding a piece from my pandemic entitled TwentyTwenty Blues. 

PAN M 360 :What will be the next steps for Code Quartet ?

Christine Jensen :We are performing at some Maison de la Culture’s in the fall, with more booked for next year. We have had really fun times working out our music at our favourite Montreal jazz clubs as well, including Upstairs and Diese Onze. More to come there in the future. We also have a showcase  that has been postponed two years at JazzAhead in Bremen Germany in April. Hopefully we will get more of our sounds in Europe with this opportunity. Also, heading out on Canadian Jazz festival circuit once it gets up and running next summer. 

PAN M 360 : Why CODE quartet ?

Christine Jensen : We worked on many names. When it came down to it, it really does feel like the four of us have a secret language, only because we are all equally enamoured with the same sounds of the masters who have influenced us as a whole in the linear language of jazz. They include Sonny Rollins, Bird and Diz, Lee Konitz, Ornette Coleman, Dave Douglas and Joe Lovano,  Carla Bley and Steve Swallow, Billy Higgins, Charlie Haden….the list goes on, but I think those are some of our mutual ‘racines’ in this small group setting. We also have similar stances on the world in terms of politics and environment. For this reason I am certain that our music will continue to express those thoughts more deeply as we go forward in expanding our dialogue as a group. 

Code Quartet performs at the Parterre symphonique 5h15 PM, Saturday September 18

Latest 360 Content

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Code Quartet : tous les codes du jazz contemporain

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet
Genres et styles : jazz contemporain

renseignements supplémentaires

Code Quartet rassemble quatre figures incontournables du jazz montréalais, en témoigne le très bel album Genealogy, lancé le printemps dernier sous étiquette Justin Time. Quatre interprètes, improvisateurs.trice, compositeurs.trice prêts à mettre en commun leur longue expérience, leur grande expertise acquise et leur passion insatiable pour le jazz contemporain dans ses formes les plus subtiles.

Adrian Vedady, contrebasse, Jim Doxas, batterie, Lex French, trompette et Christine Jensen, saxophones. En toute courtoisie, cette dernière s’est prêtée à l’interview de PAN M 360, mise en ligne le jour de leur concert présenté au Festival international de jazz de Montréal.

PAN M 360 : Parmi tous vos projets, quel est l’objet de ce quartette?

Christine Jensen : Cet ensemble m’autorise, ainsi qu’aux autres membres de jouer dans le cadre le plus intime et libéré de 4 musiciens sans piano ni guitare. Nous sommes tous sur l’expression linéaire. 

PAN M 360 : Pouvez-vous raconter à nos lecteurs les circonstances de sa fondation? 

Christine Jensen : Ce groupe s’est constitué par une rencontre sympathique des esprits entre nous quatre. J’ai rencontré le trompettiste Lex French en 2018, alors qu’il préparait son doctorat à McGill. J’enseignais la composition et l’interprétation.  J’ai été vraiment impressionné par son jeu, plein d’expression et très polyvalent avec son langage jazz. Pour une raison ou une autre, je suis très exigeante envers les trompettistes – clin d’œil à ma sœur Ingrid haha! Nous avons commencé à faire des séances  avec Jim Doxas et Adrian Vedady, et nous savions que nous avions un son fort et personnel avec ce groupe. La première ligne, composée de Lex et de moi-même, pouvait avoir une certaine puissance avec la section rythmique de cette équipe.  Ensuite, Lex nous a emmenés en Nouvelle-Zélande pour le festival de jazz de Wellington, dont il est originaire. Nous avons passé un si bon moment avec toute cette musiqu, nous savions que nous devions continuer et nous nous sommes dirigés vers le studio d’enregistrement. Nous avons enregistré quelques jours avant le confinement, en pensant que nous allions vraiment faire avancer les choses. Pendant la pandémie, il était facile de se réunir car nous étions tous proches les uns des autres, étant à Montréal. C’était vraiment un événement positif pour moi quand nous avons pu nous réunir et échanger des idées pendant cette période. En fait, c’était plutôt apaisant, et cela m’a fait penser que la musique avancerait fortement grâce à ce contexte. 

PAN M 360 : Est-ce pour vous un projet secondaire ou un ensemble sur lequel vous voulez vous appuyer pour l’avenir?

Christine Jensen :  Nous sommes très investis artistiquement dans la construction de ce que nous avons commencé en tant que quatuor sans instruments harmoniques, en nous produisant localement au cours de  2019. Depuis, chaque fois que nous nous produisons ensemble, nous sommes impatients d’en faire plus.  C’est comme une drogue musicale, ce qui est une bonne chose ! Cela rend vraiment la performance facile, en raison d’une telle énergie égale qui se nourrit les uns les autres dans le cadre le plus organique du quartette acoustique.  Nous nous sommes tous vraiment engagé.e.s à continuer à explorer de nombreux coins, y compris la construction d’un nouveau répertoire et la découverte d’un répertoire standard qui fonctionne bien avec cette formation. 

PAN M 360 : Y a-t-il un leader dans ce groupe? 

Christine Jensen : Non. Nous avons tous tendance à assumer des rôles différents dans tous les domaines, y compris la direction artistique, le business et l’enregistrement. Chaque composante est énorme en termes de tâches, donc c’est vraiment génial quand chacun de nous en prend un peu. Je pense qu’en raison de notre engagement, nous avons pu constituer une équipe derrière nous, notamment le groupe Heidi Fleming FAM qui s’occupe de la gestion et des réservations, et Justin-Time Records pour cet enregistrement et un autre à venir. Nous travaillons également tous sur le booking du groupe à différents niveaux. 

PAN M 360 : Qui compose quoi?

Christine Jensen : Nous apportons tous les quatre de la musique sur la table, et nous relevons tous le défi de présenter une musique qui soit très linéaire et verticale, et qui ne soit pas fortement harmonisée ou pleine d’harmonie. Nous essayons tous d’apporter de la nouvelle musique dès que nous en avons l’occasion. Nous travaillons tous ensemble pour orchestrer les sons que nous recherchons, il y a donc beaucoup d’ateliers, ce qui est très amusant ! 

PAN M 360 : Qu’explorez-vous musicalement avec ces messieurs?  Pouvez-vous décrire brièvement les styles de jazz impliqués?

Christine Jensen : Nous travaillons avec tout, vraiment. Nous avons même joué des commandes d’autres compositeurs pour notre groupe. Nous avons eu une première de la compositrice néo-zélandaise Jasmine Lowell-Smith lorsque nous sommes allés à ce festival. 

PAN M 360 : Comment voyez-vous le rôle et les qualités de chaque membre de cet ensemble?

Christine Jensen : C’est la partie la plus cool. Nous sommes tous responsables d’apporter des idées de manière égale, mais nos instruments définissent définitivement nos rôles dans la performance. Un temps fort et un bon son sont vraiment la clé pour que ce groupe frappe fort. Lex et moi tissons les mélodies, Adrian s’occupe de la basse et Jimmy dirige l’ensemble grâce à son expression en tant que batteur. Nous sommes tous capables d’échanger avec les solos et les accompagnements, ainsi que d’esquisser verticalement toute idée harmonique. 

PAN M 360 : Devons-nous considérer cette musique comme une forme “classique” parce qu’elle swingue et que les progressions d’accords sont enracinées dans l’idiome du jazz moderne, du post-bop au style ornettien du début des années 60 (thème de Genealogy)?

Christine Jensen : Je pense toujours que c’est à l’auditeur de décider. Nous ne sommes pas complètement free jazz et nous ne sommes pas complètement post-bop originaux, mais nous pouvons faire tout cela et tout ce qui se trouve entre les deux. Je pense que c’est ce qui donne à l’auditeur ce sentiment de nouveauté, tout en gardant un son de jazz classique. 

PAN M 360 : Pourrons-nous entendre de nouveaux morceaux (non encore enregistrés) lors du concert du FIJM samedi?

Christine Jensen : Oui. Je vais ajouter un morceau de ma pandémie intitulé TwentyTwenty Blues. 

PAN M 360 : Quelles seront les prochaines étapes pour Code Quartet?

Christine Jensen : Nous nous produisons dans quelques Maisons de la culture à l’automne, et d’autres sont prévues l’année prochaine. Nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir à travailler notre musique dans nos clubs de jazz préférés à Montréal, dont Upstairs et Dièse Onze. D’autres concerts sont prévus à l’avenir. Nous avons également un showcase qui a été reporté de deux ans à JazzAhead à Brême en Allemagne en avril 2022. Nous souhaitons que cette opportunité nous permette de diffuser davantage nos sons en Europe. Nous nous dirigerons également vers le circuit des festivals de jazz canadiens dès qu’il sera remis en marche l’été prochain. 

PAN M 360 : Pourquoi CODE Quartet?

Christine Jensen : Nous avons travaillé sur de nombreux noms. En bout de ligne, on a vraiment l’impression que nous avons tous les quatre un langage secret, seulement parce que nous sommes tous également épris des mêmes sons des maîtres qui nous ont influencés dans le langage linéaire du jazz. Parmi eux, Sonny Rollins, Bird et Diz, Lee Konitz, Ornette Coleman, Dave Douglas et Joe Lovano, Carla Bley et Steve Swallow, Billy Higgins, Charlie Haden…. la liste est longue, mais je pense que ce sont là quelques-unes de nos “racines” mutuelles dans ce petit groupe. Nous avons également des positions similaires sur le monde en termes de politique et d’environnement. C’est pourquoi je suis certaine que notre musique continuera à exprimer ces pensées plus profondément au fur et à mesure que nous progresserons dans l’expansion de notre dialogue en tant que groupe. 

Dans le cadre du Festival international de jazz de Montréal, Code Quartet se produit ce samedi 18 septembre, 17 h 15, au Parterre symphonique.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre