Beverly Glenn-Copeland: Better Late Than Never

Interview by Frédéric Cardin

Keyboard Fantasies by Beverly Glenn-Copeland is a masterpiece revealed at least… 30 years later!

Genres and styles : Ambient / Electronic / Experimental Dream Pop

Additional Information

(Photo: Juri Hiensch)

A hundred or so cassette copies of a 1986 ambient album Keyboard Fantasies had been sitting in a dark corner for almost 30 years when a Japanese collector and record store owner found themselves selling the precious artefacts to other music lovers in just a few days. The composer, Beverly Glenn-Copeland, had never sold more than 50 of the 150 originally printed. Since then, it’s not only the brilliantly inspired and personal music of a little-known artist that’s making the buzz around the world, but it’s above all the discovery of a human being of great beauty, a sincere humanist, a courageous but never bitter trans man faced with a sometimes difficult past, a music lover with a capital M, eager for all that is beautiful and good, from jazz to classical, African, Indian, folk, electro, pop, etc., who has been a great inspiration for many years. A sudden fame he didn’t expect, but to which he adapts with elegance, as witnessed by the documentary Keyboard Fantasies: The Beverly Glenn-Copeland Story, presented at Pop Montréal on September 23. A must-see. As a complement, here is an intimate interview with the artist.

PAN M 360: How did the pieces of Keyboard Fantasies come to life in your mind before they were played and engraved on the album?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: I’ll probably never know! Once I knew how to work with those first computers, and had the right equipment (Yamaha DX-7 and Roland TR-707 keyboards), everything came out of me very fast! It’s like music was flowing through me. It came out exactly as you hear it. First and only takes!

PAN M 360: The listener is almost literally in your head! What else was there in that teeming brain?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: I was definitely hearing an orchestra in my mind. An orchestra I was replicating with two synthesizers. That informed the structure of the pieces.

PAN M 360: You have a strong musical background, based on solid classical studies, parents who are musicians and music lovers, but also a personal interest in music in general. What influences were the most active in your mind when you created Keyboard Fantasies?
Beverly Glenn-Copeland: Everything I had heard, loved, and absorbed as a music lover at that time kind of fused together in this big soup of artistic inspiration. Classical music was there, of course, it never left me. But everything else was there somewhere, jazz, traditional world music, folk, pop, etc.

PAN M 360 : The album dates back to 1986, and until 2015 there were only a few dozen cassette copies left somewhere in your house. Then a Japanese record store contacted you, sold all your remaining copies in three days, and the rest is history. But history in the making! The international wave of new fans, mainly composed of young people in their twenties and thirties, is growing all the time. Why do you think Keyboard Fantasies is so relevant to young people today?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: I think the message that is transmitted in my pieces, the environment, the beauty of the world and identifying with something greater than our ethnicity, nationality, sexuality or whatever, I think the new generation wants and needs to hear it. Maybe we never had so much need of it, in fact. 

PAN M 360: What are your thoughts on the documentary Keyboard Fantasies: The Beverly Glenn-Copeland Story, directed by Posy Dixon?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: That was a fantastic experience! Posy was very spontaneous about it, even though she was well organized, of course. I think it was more of an exploration for her. She built the narrative and basic structure of the film as she was spending time with me and the musicians. The result is wonderful, very sincere, very fresh.

PAN M 360: Let’s take a look back at your studies at Montreal’s McGill University in the 1960s, fresh from your native Philadelphia. In retrospect, what was it that gave you the most difficulty, being Black or being, at the time, a lesbian?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: Being Black never was an issue for me. It may have been very different if I’d attended an American college of the same nature, meaning mostly white in a white community. But not McGill. The faculty was a very open environment. Difficulties had more to do with my being lesbian, and especially so open about it. You have to understand that I was living in a dormitory. It was mandatory for every young woman coming from outside Montreal at the time. The promiscuity, combined with my very in-your-face lifestyle, shocked some people, and I had to move out of the dormitory, even if it was not permitted. But I don’t hold grudges. I am very happy with who I am and I cherish most memories from this wonderful part of my life. I in fact still love Montreal very much, as my wife does also. We feel good there.

PAN M 360: Classical music remains a fundamental part of your inspiration and even your personality. What listening suggestions would you offeryour new audience, if they want to draw from the same (classical) musical source as you?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland: Anything for piano by Chopin, Schubert’s lieder, Mahler’s Kindertotenlieder, Orff’s Carmina Burana (those lyrics!), Debussy, and anything played by Martha Argerich!

Latest 360 Content

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – Conquering America with Vivaldi and Piazzolla

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Shaina Hayes and her Kindergarten Heart

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

Piano Symphonique | Julia Mirzoev, Braden McConnell & Antoine Rivard-Landry

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

In Pursuit Of Repetitive Beats Experience Strives for Human Connection through VR

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Martha Wainwright about her new jazz festival

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Semaine du Neuf | There Is No Music Without the Wind. L’être contre le vent by Matthias Krüger

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

Deena Abdelwahed’s Swana electro: syncretism, commitment, a new standard

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

The Cool Trad of Nicolas Boulerice and Frédéric Samson

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Psychedelic Afghanistan by Sam Shalabi and Shaista Latif

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Sixtrum: the magic of… aquatic percussion!

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

Semaine du Neuf | Haptic and Interdisciplinary Experiments by Jimmie Leblanc and Fareena Chanda

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

The country chaos of Nora Kelly

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Matana Roberts explores radically different musical settings

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Gueuleuses: a web directory of extreme female vocalists

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Semaine du Neuf: Les Percussions de Strasbourg… Ghostland of another kind

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

Ëda Diaz: a Colombian “French touch”

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

The Asadun Alay label: independent rhymes with the Levant

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Erika Angell and The Obsession With Her Voice

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Mieux vaut tard que jamais

Interview réalisé par Frédéric Cardin

Keyboard Fantasies de Beverly Glenn-Copeland est un chef-d’oeuvre enfin révélé… 30 ans plus tard !

renseignements supplémentaires

(Crédit photo : Juri Hiensch)

Une centaine de copies en format cassette d’un album ambient de 1986 intitulé Keyboard Fantasies dormaient dans un coin sombre depuis presque 30 ans, lorsqu’un collectionneur et disquaire japonais s’occupa de vendre en quelques jours seulement les précieux artefacts à d’autres mélomanes. Le compositeur, Beverly Glenn-Copeland, n’en avait jamais écoulé plus d’une cinquantaine sur les 150 imprimées à l’origine. Depuis, c’est non seulement la musique génialement inspirée et personnelle d’un artiste méconnu qui est en train de faire le tour de la planète buzz, mais c’est surtout la découverte d’un être humain d’une grande beauté, humaniste sincère, homme trans courageux mais jamais amer face à un passé parfois difficile, mélomane avec un grand M, avide de tout ce qui est beau et bon, du jazz au classique en passant par les musiques africaines, indiennes, folk, électro, pop, etc. Une soudaine renommée qu’il n’attendait pas mais à laquelle il s’adapte avec élégance, comme en témoigne le documentaire Keyboard Fantasies: The Beverly Glenn-Copeland Story, présenté à Pop Montréal le 23 septembre. À voir absolument. En complément, voici une entrevue intime avec l’artiste.

PAN M 360 : Comment se sont concrétisées les pièces de Keyboard Fantasies dans votre esprit avant d’être jouées et gravées sur l’album?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Je pense que je ne le saurai jamais vraiment! Une fois que j’ai su comment faire fonctionner ces premiers ordinateurs et que j’avais le bon équipement musical pour aller avec (un Yamaha DX-7 et un Roland TR-707), tout est arrivé très vite! C’est comme si la musique me traversait, en provenance de je ne sais où. C’est sorti tout seul, pendant que je m’amusais, et ça a donné Keyboard Fantasies, d’un seul coup. Ce que vous entendez, c’est la première et seule version de ces pièces à ce moment.

PAN M 360 : L’auditeur est presque littéralement dans votre tête! Qu’y avait-il d’autre dans ce cerveau foisonnant ?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Il y avait un orchestre. Oui, j’entendais un orchestre que je cherchais à exprimer sur deux claviers synthétiques ! Ça informe la structure des pièces.

PAN M 360 : Il est vrai que vous possédez un bagage musical étoffé, basé sur des études classiques solides, des parents musiciens et mélomanes mais aussi un intérêt personnel pour toutes les musiques en général. Quelles sont les influences qui étaient le plus actives dans votre esprit au moment de créer Keyboard Fantasies ?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Je pense que tout ce que j’avais entendu, aimé et absorbé jusqu’à ce moment dans ma vie s’était fusionné en une sorte de soupe primordiale nourrissant consciemment ou non mes réflexes musicaux. Le classique y était bien sûr. Il ne m’a jamais quitté. Mais tout le reste était là aussi, le jazz, les musiques traditionnelles du monde, le folk, la pop, etc.

PAN M 360 : L’album date de 1986, et jusqu’en 2015, il n’en restait que quelques dizaines de copies cassettes quelque part dans votre maison. Puis, un disquaire japonais vous a contacté, a vendu toutes vos copies restantes en 3 jours et le reste c’est de l’histoire comme disent les Serbo-Croates. Mais de l’histoire en train de s’écrire ! L’engouement international d’un public surtout composé de jeunes dans la vingtaine et la trentaine ne fait que grandir sans arrêt. D’après-vous, pourquoi Keyboard Fantasies touche autant les jeunes d’aujourd’hui ?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Je crois que le message général de mon album, lié à l’environnement, à la beauté du monde et au fait de s’identifier à quelque chose de plus grand que l’ethnicité, la nationalité, la sexualité, etc., je crois que la nouvelle génération est avide de l’entendre, dans un contexte émotionnel incarné par une expérience artistique. Et peut-être n’a-t-on justement jamais eu autant besoin de l’entendre. 

PAN M 360 : Que pensez-vous du documentaire Keyboard Fantasies: The Beverly Glenn-Copeland Story, réalisé par Posy Dixon ?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Ce fut une expérience fantastique. Posy a été très spontanée, même en demeurant bien organisée, bien entendu. Je pense que ce fut pour elle une exploration plutôt qu’un plan mené précisément. Elle a construit sa structure narrative au fur et à mesure qu’elle passait du temps avec moi et avec les musiciens en tournée (une tournée interrompue par un certain virus malheureusement) et le résultat est superbe, sincère et naturel.

PAN M 360 : Revenons un tout petit peu sur vos études à McGill dans les années 60, fraîchement arrivé de votre Philadelphie natale. Rétrospectivement, quel fut l’élément qui vous a donné le plus de difficulté : être noire ou être, à l’époque, lesbienne ?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : Être noire n’a jamais été un sujet de conflit ou de difficulté, contrairement à ce que ça aurait été aux États-Unis dans un milieu de ce genre, c’est-à-dire, majoritairement blanc. La faculté était un milieu ouvert et tolérant. Ce fut une expérience magnifique, à ce niveau. Les vraies difficultés sont venues de mon homosexualité affirmée ouvertement. À l’époque, une jeune fille venant de l’extérieur de Montréal devait obligatoirement habiter dans une résidence étudiante sise à l’Université. Ma relation très évidente (je ne me cachais pas) avec une autre jeune fille dans un contexte de promiscuité comme celui des résidences étudiantes ne passait pas bien auprès de certaines personnes. Ce fut difficile, et j’ai finalement emménagé dans un appartement en dehors du campus, même si c’était interdit. Cela dit, je ne garde pas de séquelle douloureuse. Je suis bien dans ma peau, maintenant en tant qu’homme trans, et je chéris la plupart des souvenirs de cette période fabuleuse de ma vie. D’ailleurs j’aime toujours beaucoup Montréal (mon épouse également). Nous nous y sentons bien.

PAN M 360 : La musique classique reste un élément fondamental de votre inspiration et même de votre personnalité. Quelle suggestion d’écoute feriez-vous à votre nouveau public, s’il souhaite s’abreuver à la même source musicale (classique) que vous ?

Beverly Glenn-Copeland : N’importe quelle pièce pour piano de Chopin, des lieder de Schubert, Das Kindertotenlieder de Mahler, Debussy, les Carmina Burana de Orff (ces textes, quelle audace !) et n’importe quoi joué par la pianiste Martha Argerich.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre