A July 3 at FIJM: Herbie Hancock, Domi & JD Beck, Nate Smith, Emmet Cohen, Focus & Elements…

by Rédaction PAN M 360

At the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, PAN M 360 experts attend concerts that shake up music lovers. Follow our team!

Herbie Hancock, Phenomenal Greenness!

The piano is an instrument conducive to the longevity of its user, as Herbie Hancock brilliantly demonstrated on Monday evening at Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier. Undiminished by his age (83!!), the most respected living pianist on the jazz planet displayed phenomenal verve, exemplary articulation, and unparalleled wit. We could have forgiven him for a few shortcomings, but we really didn’t have to.

Herbie began with an ambitious Overture, introduced by an electro-acoustic passage (not as “weird” as its creator had announced), accompanied by elements, riffs, or themes from his immense repertoire, familiar to any self-respecting jazzophile – “Butterfly,” “Chameleon,” “Rockit,” etc. Some of the works on the program were played by the musicians themselves.

Some of the works on the program were played in their entirety and transformed by the sidemen, and not the least: trumpeter Terence Blanchard, guitarist Lionel Loueke, bassist James Genus and drummer Jaylen Petiniaud lent their respective personalities to the work of the coolest octogenarian active on the jazz planet.

A tribute to Wayne Shorter, a lifelong friend with whom he had played Footprints, a standard by the late saxophonist and composer, once magnified by the Miles Davis Quintet of which they were both prominent members, was to be expected.

Less predictable, however, was the fact that a small part of the program was made up of jazz-funk pieces, including Actual Proof (Thrust album) and Come Running to Me (Sunlight) with Vocoder, the ancestor of Autotune.

To conclude? The mega tube “Chameleon” (Headhunters, homonymous album), of course. For this, the leader chose to sling his synth over his shoulder and improvise with each of his colleagues rather than perform at the piano in the bridge. Some would have preferred the structure of the original recording, but our monumental Herbie has opted for the risk of a full-scale re-reading, for better or for worse.

But isn’t that what you’d expect from a great jazzman?

Alain Brunet

Domi & JD Beck, the phenomenon of the hour

They’re the talk of the town, far beyond the jazz world. The viral propulsion of these two artists barely out of their teens is matched only by their talent. Domi (Domitille Degalle), originally from Nancy, and JD Beck, from Dallas, who met in the USA while studying at Berklee College of Music, were already the subject of a real buzz.

A rather clumsy, lazy, and disjointed concert by Robert Glasper had led me to migrate to this most refreshing of concerts, given in a packed Club Soda. It was not long after the release of Not Tight, a debut album that appealed to a wide audience, far beyond the jazz world.

A year later, the phenomenon has taken off. Anderson. Paak, Snoop Dog, Thundercat, and even Ariana Grande recorded with them, which goes to show their appeal.

We were treated to much the same material as on Monday at Wilfrid’s, when Domi multiplied the prowess of her right hand, extreme speed and extreme precision of articulation, and dazzled with her left hand, which she uses in the manner of electric bass, notably when she plays Jaco Pastorius, Weather Report era, or Wayne Shorter with Endangered Species (Atlantis album).

How to explain this buzz? By the youthfulness of its protagonists, by the visual aesthetics with their naïve backgrounds, by their teenage looks that don’t give a damn about anything… and above all by this hallucinating virtuosity acquired at such a young age – around twenty. JD Beck has already absorbed and mastered many of the techniques of his predecessors, and his small drum kit and borrowings from electronic music are impressive. Anyone who appreciates instrumentalists of this level is sure to be delighted, even with the technical problems they had to face in front of Herbie Hancock’s audience.

Alain Brunet

Nate Smith and the spirit of groove

On the second night of his three-concert road trip, super-drummer Nate Smith produced the desired effect: delighting groove fans with material from an obscure “beat tape” he’d recorded for his 40th birthday, “a few years ago” as he quipped. Alongside specialists in this exercise, keyboardist Kiefer and bassist CARRTOONS, Nate Smith brought this soul-funk minimalism to the fore.

The approach consists of repeating a very simple, soul/R&B-inspired harmonic progression for ten minutes or more. Simplistic? Redundant? Nay. Nate Smith and his seasoned colleagues are quick to make you appreciate the micro-variations of these grooves, bringing out all their suavity. This has been the case since the heyday of CTI in the ’70s, a label with a penchant for jazzifying soul.

The comeback of instrumental soul/R&B via hip hop in the jazz world is accompanied by related phenomena, including this one, reinvigorated by instrumentalists doubling as beatmakers, armed with a vast culture of African-American popular music in the digital age. Who’s going to complain?

Alain Brunet

Emmet Cohen, the reincarnation of swing

I’d be lying if I were to write a full concert review for the Emmet Cohen Trio. Upon arriving at Studio TD almost an hour before the 10PM show, the line-up was already very large. For an artist so deeply rooted in the now almost hundred-year-old tradition of swing, this was a nice surprise, but perhaps no surprise really. With his electrifying performances and his strong online presence, Emmet is now something of a piano icon whose mission is to keep the spirit of swing alive.

Upon arriving about halfway during their set, there was a special feeling in the air. Somewhere the spirit of Ahmad Jamal was present, as the band channeled the elegance and drama of Jamal’s minimalist-maximalist trio arrangements. The trio’s dedication to engaging the audience was commendable too. Cohen made it a point to make the crowd really feel a part of the show, sharing anecdotes and insights into the music they were about to perform. To end the evening, their third encore, they absolutely rocked the Ellington classic, “Satin Doll,” and by the end of the show we all knew we were aside from something special.

Varun Swarup

Focus and Elements : Cynic and Atheist finally reunited

Yesterday, on the fringes of the Jazz Festival, Montreal hosted two luminaries of jazz fusion-infused progressive metal. Cynic and Atheist, both with a 35-year track record, respectively presented the entirety of Focus (1993), as well as selections from Piece of Time (1990), Unquestionable Presence (1991) and Elements (1993). In front of a packed Fairmount Theatre, both bands delivered flawless performances of their repertoire. Atheist impressed with their inexhaustible energy, easily matched by the complexity of the songs they played. In

deed, it’s rare to see such a successful combination of instrumental technicality and fierce stage presence. Singer Kelly Schaeffer, the only original member of the band, has surrounded himself with young musicians half his age to form his latest band. However, his bandmates’ enthusiasm was matched only by his own, as Schaeffer has clearly lost none of his charisma and madness. While replaying the classics might have been more than enough, especially for a quiet Monday night, Atheist far exceeded expectations.

Cynic then kicked off their show with a chronological rendering of their debut album, which has become a cult death metal staple. More angular and aggressive than the band’s more recent material, these compositions were interpreted with all the desired nuance. In particular, the interplay between vocoder-sung and screamed vocals was true to the album. As for the guitar timbres, these were carefully crafted and adapted to each musical section via digital processors. After a brief incense tribute to the late Sein Reinert (drums) and Sean Malone (bass), Cynic followed up with four tracks from their more recent discography. These pieces, sometimes serene, sometimes intense, but always very dynamic, closed the evening well, even if the audience was left wanting more.

Latest 360 Content

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine  Frontwoman Eno Williams

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine Frontwoman Eno Williams

Colin Fisher – Suns of the Heart

Colin Fisher – Suns of the Heart

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Afrovibes Opens the Ball

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Afrovibes Opens the Ball

EP Quintet – Le convoi des oies

EP Quintet – Le convoi des oies

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Pahua : A Latina Tornado

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Pahua : A Latina Tornado

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024: Rumba de Bodas, Italian coffee roasting

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024: Rumba de Bodas, Italian coffee roasting

Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra – Harbour

Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra – Harbour

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 202 | All United by The Kora

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 202 | All United by The Kora

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Youba Adjrad, Algeria’s Great Pop Voice

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Youba Adjrad, Algeria’s Great Pop Voice

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Def Mama Def, Two Sisters in Art  

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

PANM360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Alberto Salgado Turns Balattou Into a Percussive Laboratory

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Guinea in Circus!

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Guinea in Circus!

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Subscribe to our newsletter

Un 3 juillet au FIJM et en marge: Herbie, Domi, JD, Nate, Cynic, Atheist…

par Rédaction PAN M 360

Au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, les experts de PAN M 360 assistent aux concerts qui secouent les mélomanes. Suivez notre équipe !

Herbie Hancock, verdeur phénoménale !

Le piano est un instrument propice à la longévité de son utilisateur, Herbie Hancock en a fait lundi la brillantissime démonstration, lundi soir à la Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier. Aucunement diminué par l’âge qu’il a (83 ans!!), le plus respecté des pianistes vivants sur la planète jazz témoignait d’une verdeur phénoménale, d’une articulation exemplaire et d’une vivacité d’esprit sans pareil. On aurait pu lui pardonner certains manquements, remarquez, on n’a vraiment pas eu à le faire. 

Herbie y est allé d’abord d’une ambitieuse Overture introduite par un passage carrément électroacoustique (pas aussi« weird » que l’annonçait son concepteur) assortie d’éléments, riffs ou thèmes tirés de son immense répertoire, connu de tout jazzophile qui se respecte –  Butterfly, Chamelelon, Rockit, etc. 

Certaines œuvres au programme ont été jouée intégralement et transformées par les sidemen, et pas les moindres : le trompettiste Terence Blanchard, le guitariste Lionel Loueke, le bassiste James Genus et le batteur Jaylen Petiniaud, ont conféré leur personnalités respectives à l’œuvre du plus cool des octogénaires actifs sur la planète jazz. 

Il était prévisible que fusse rendu un hommage à Wayne Shorter, ami de toujours avec qui il avait joué Footprints, un standard de feu le saxophoniste et compositeur, jadis magnifiée par le Miles Davis Quintet dont ils étaient tous deux parmi les membres éminents.

Il était toutefois moins prévisible qu’une part congrue de ce programme fut constitué de pièces  jazz-funk, notamment Actual Proof (album Thrust) et  Come Running to Me (Sunlight) avec Vocoder, ancêtre de l’Autotune. 

Pour conclure? Le mégatube Chameleon  (Headhunters, album homonyme),  bien évidemment. Pour ce, le leader a choisi d’exploiter son synthé en bandoulière et improviser avec chacun de ses collègues plutôt que de s’exécuter au piano dans le bridge. D’aucuns auraient préféré la structure de l’enregistrement originel, mais notre monumental Herbie a choisi le risque d’une relecture en règle, pour le meilleur ou pour le pire. 

N’est-ce pas ce à quoi on doit s’attendre d’un grand jazzman ? Oui, et on lui pardonnera ses choix artistiques moins intéressants qu’à l’escale précédente.

Alain Brunet

Domi & JD Beck, ze phénomène de l’heure

Tout le monde se les arrache, bien au-delà de la planète jazz. La propulsion virale de ces deux artistes à peine sortis de l’adolescence n’a d’égal que leur talent. Domi (Domitille Degalle), originaire de Nancy, et JD Beck de Dallas et réunis aux USA alors qu’ils étudiaient au Berklee College of Music, faisaient déjà l’objet d’un vrai buzz. 

Un concert plutôt poche, paresseux et décousu de Robert Glasper m’avait conduit à migrer vers ce concert des plus rafraîchissants, donné dans un Club Soda bien rempli. C’était peu de temps après la sortie de Not Tight, un premier album prisé par un vaste public, bien au-delà du jazz.

 Un an plus tard, le phénomène a pris de l’ampleur. Anderson.Paak, Snoop Dog, Thundercat ou même Ariana Grande enregistrent à leurs côtés, c’est dire leur pouvoir attractif.

On avait eu droit sensiblement à la la même matière que lundi à la Wilfrid, alors que Domi a multiplié les prouesses de sa main droite, rapidité extrême et précision extrême de l’articulation, et ébloui de sa main gauche qu’elle utilise à la manière d’une basse électrique, notamment lorsqu’elle joue du Jaco Pastorius ou du Wayne Shorter, époque Weather Report.

Comment expliquer ce buzz? Par la jeunesse de ses protagonistes , par l’esthétique visuelle assortie de décors naïfs des plus sympas, par leur look d’ados qui se fichent de tout… et surtout par cette hallucinante virtuosité acquise à un si jeune âge – tournant de la vingtaine. JD Beck a déjà absorbé et maîtrisé maintes techniques de ses prédécesseurs, son petit kit de batterie et ses emprunts à la musique électronique impressionnent. Quiconque apprécie les instrumentistes d’un tel niveau se délecte à coup sûr, même avec les problèmes techniques auxquels ils ont dû faire face devant le public de Herbie Hancock. 

Alain Brunet

Nate Smith et l’esprit du groove

Au deuxième soir de sa virée de trois concerts, le super-batteur Nate Smith a produit l’effet escompté : ravir les fans de groove en leur balançant la matière d’une obscure « beat tape » qu’il avait enregistrée pour ses 40 ans, « il y a de ça quelques années » comme il l’a souligné en pouffant de rire. Aux côtés de spécialistes de cet exercice, soit le claviériste Kiefer et le bassiste CARRTOONS, Nate Smith a mis de l’avant ce minimalisme soul-funk.

L’approche consiste à répéter pendant une dizaine de minutes ou plus une progression harmonique très simple, inspirée de la soul/R&B. Simpliste? Redondant? Nenni. Nate Smith et ses collègues chevronnés ont tôt fait de faire apprécier les micro-variations de ces grooves et d’ainsi en faire sortir toute la suavité. Cette facture existe depuis les belles années de CTI dans les années 70, un label enclin à la jazzification de la soul.

Le retour en force de la soul/R&B instrumentale via le hip hop dans le monde du jazz s’accompagne de phénomènes connexes dont celui-ci, revigoré par des instrumentistes doublés de beatmakers, forts d’une vaste culture de musiques populaires afro-américaines à l’ère numérique. Qui s’en plaindra?

Alain Brunet

Emmet Cohen, réincarnation du swing

Je mentirais si je devais écrire une critique complète du concert du Emmet Cohen Trio, lundi soir au Studio TD. Pour un artiste si profondément enraciné dans la tradition désormais presque centenaire du swing, ce fut une belle surprise, mais peut-être pas vraiment une surprise.

Avec ses performances électrisantes et sa forte présence en ligne, Emmet est maintenant une sorte d’icône du piano dont la mission est de maintenir vivant l’esprit du swing – et stride par moments.

En arrivant à mi-chemin de leur set, il y avait une sensation particulière dans l’air. Quelque part, l’esprit d’Ahmad Jamal était présent, alors que le groupe canalisait l’élégance et la théâtralité des arrangements du trio minimaliste-maximaliste de Jamal. Le dévouement du trio à engager le public était également louable. Cohen s’est fait un devoir de faire en sorte que la foule se sente partie prenante du spectacle, partageant des anecdotes et des idées sur la musique qu’ils étaient sur le point de jouer. Pour terminer la soirée, leur troisième rappel, ils ont absolument secoué le classique d’Ellington, Satin Doll, et à la fin du concert, nous savions tous que nous faisions partie de quelque chose de spécial.

Varun Swarup

.

Focus and Elements : Cynic et Atheist enfin réunis

En marge du Festival de Jazz, Montréal accueillait hier soir deux sommités du métal progressif infusé de jazz fusion. Tous deux fort de 35 ans d’activité, Cynic et Atheist présentaient respectivement l’intégralité de Focus (1993) ainsi qu’une sélection de Piece of Time (1990), Unquestionable Presence (1991) et Elements (1993). Devant un Théâtre Fairmount bien rempli, les deux groupes ont livré une exécution irréprochable de leur répertoire.

Atheist impressionnait par son énergie inépuisable, laquelle s’arrimait par ailleurs sans problème avec la complexité des morceaux interprétés. Effectivement, il est rare de voir une combinaison aussi réussie de technicité instrumentale et de présence scénique si forcenée. Le chanteur Kelly Schaeffer, seul membre original de la formation, s’est entouré jeunes musiciens faisant la moitié de son âge pour composer sa dernière mouture. Cependant, la fougue de ses camarades n’avait d’égale que la sienne puisque Schaeffer n’a visiblement rien perdu de son charisme et de sa folie. Si rejouer des classiques aurait pu amplement satisfaire, surtout pour un lundi soir tranquille, Atheist a de loin dépassé les attentes.


Ensuite, Cynic a démarré son spectacle avec un rendu chronologique de son premier album, devenu un culte incontournable du death metal. Plus angulaires et agressives que les pièces récentes du groupe, ces compositions étaient interprétées avec toutes les nuances souhaitables. Notamment, l’interaction entre voix chantée au vocoder et voix criée était fidèle à l’album. Quant aux timbres de guitares, ceux-ci étaient soigneusement travaillés et adaptés à chaque section musicale via processeurs numériques. Après un bref hommage à l’encens aux défunts Sein Reinert (batterie) et Sean Malone (basse), Cynic a enchaîné avec quatre morceaux traversant leur discographie plus récente. Ces pièces parfois sereines, parfois intenses, mais toujours très dynamiques ont bien clôturé la soirée même si on en aurait pris davantage.

Laurent Bellemare

Tout le contenu 360

Les Violons du Roy, Cameron Crozman, Nicolas Ellis | Haydn Cello Concertos – Hétu Rondo

Les Violons du Roy, Cameron Crozman, Nicolas Ellis | Haydn Cello Concertos – Hétu Rondo

Un 16 juin aux Francos | Pomme, Marco Ema et KNLO

Un 16 juin aux Francos | Pomme, Marco Ema et KNLO

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Nino Carlos &  Friends – Placenta

Nino Carlos & Friends – Placenta

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | Le jazz incendiaire et engagé de Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | On pique un jasette avec une légende de la musique contemporaine : Howard Skempton

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Tali Rose partage son Piknic Electronik

Un 13 juin aux Suoni Per Il Popolo : No Hay Banda avec Sarah Davachi et Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

Un 13 juin aux Suoni Per Il Popolo : No Hay Banda avec Sarah Davachi et Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Festival Classica pour enfants | Denis Gougeon et Julie Daoust nous causent « biscuits, tempêtes et mélodies »

Une soirée de clôture riche en émotions

Une soirée de clôture riche en émotions

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Festival Classica – Fauré et Dubois au siècle dernier

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Habitat Sonore au Centre Phi| Playlist estivale et lieu idéal pour l’écoute active et immersive

Qiik – Demo

Qiik – Demo

HABITAT SONORE :  la musique qui fait vibrer Montréal… et le Centre Phi !

HABITAT SONORE :  la musique qui fait vibrer Montréal… et le Centre Phi !

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité,  joie, insolence

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege, transidentité, joie, insolence

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi et l’enjeu d’être jouée par No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Centre PHI | KALLITECHNIS incarne sensualité et introspection.

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Festival Classica – Hommage à Queen

Dumai Dunai – Sometime Between Now and Never

Dumai Dunai – Sometime Between Now and Never

The Nausea – Requiem

The Nausea – Requiem

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Vincent Lauzer parle de la programmation de Montréal baroque 2024

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre