MUTEK | Nocturne 2: SAT – Twin Rising, Efe Ce Ele, Paraadiso, Animistic Belief, and more…

by Laurent Bellemare

Opening Photo By: Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

For a second night, the Société des Arts Technologiques opened its doors to Mutek 2023 for the Nocturne 2 event, showcasing a nested palette of electronic artists. With its two open performance spaces, the performances followed one another without interruption, so that it was sometimes necessary to make agonizing choices between one or other of the rooms.

Twin Rising (VJ Isotone)

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Twin Rising’s mask, adorned with chains, revealed a soft, high-pitched voice, whose vulnerability contrasted with the often rough tones of the lower register. Indeed, despite a consistently harmonic framework, the undulating low frequencies marked a slow, ponderous tempo. In the heaviest moments, it was as if we were witnessing a dubstep performance as defined in the 2000s. An attentive ear could also detect deliberately asynchronous synthetic “snare drums”, creating a highly effective effect of anticipation. A balance between catchy pulsation and rhythmic deconstruction kept the audience on its toes, as did the heterogeneous visuals projected by VJ Isotone onto the satospheric dome. Between aquatic surges and granular geometry, the multicolored palette was the only thread to hold on to. In any case, these shapes went very well with Twin Rising’s music, creating a vaguely melancholy atmosphere. An excellent way to start the evening.

Efe Ce Ele

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

Descending to the first floor, the change in atmosphere was immediately apparent. For Efe Ce Ele’s performance, the tone was decidedly darker: insistent pulsation, strobe lighting, psychedelic visuals and explicit political messages. There were echoes of techno and industrial music in this soundtrack to an anxious age. Melodically, the music evolved mainly in the low register, with occasional breakthroughs of piano, percussion and sampled vocals. More often than not, we were bathed in a complex drone of slowly modulating voices. Transitions were often articulated by superimposing sections, momentarily creating a very dense, dissonant passage.

Nadia Struiwigh

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Back in a crowded Satosphere, the atmosphere created by Nadia Struiwigh was the first of the evening to be reminiscent of a rave. The experience was necessarily more physical than the others, with the Dutch artist’s music operating with consistently catchy 4/4 rhythms. Here and there, syncopations added slight echoes of drum’n’bass and breakbeat. Harmonically, held or fading chords followed each other in a simple progression. These were coupled with short, repeated melodic cells, creating an ever-present contrast of rhythmic density. Textures added to this catchy base kept the sound interesting, while the body was easily carried along by the continuous backbeats. On the visual side, artists BunBun and Alex Vlair proposed a highly successful composition. Spiral patterns, concentric circles and circular mosaics were perfectly in tune with the SAT dome.


Paraadiso

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

Composed of artists TSVI and Seven Orbits, the Paraadiso duo delivered a much less conventional sound. The atmosphere was sometimes ethereal and consonant, and sometimes suddenly chaotic and noisy. The common denominator here was well-calculated rhythms to avoid the predictable. Strong beats were often avoided, accentuating syncopation instead. At other times, polyrhythms created highly effective phase-shifting effects. Irregular subdivisions in turn destabilized the construction of a rhythm. Overall, the duo’s sounds were abstract, closer to digital art than dance music. This experimentation was also reflected in the projections, composed of microscopic images of the natural world, which were highly processed to the point of becoming unrecognizable textures. With a rich palette of sounds, the Paraadiso duo offered a skilful performance of “music not for dancing.”

Amselysen/Racine

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

The Amselysen/Racine duo presented austere music, where everything was rhythm and timbre. No melody, no harmonic cues. What’s more, the pulse was drowned out by fast syncopations or fast bass drum mats. Resolutely industrial, the sound was reminiscent of Autechre in its less consonant moments. In keeping with the gray but no less exhilarating music, the visuals projected onto the dome by Diagraf were all black and white. Origami stalagmites layered with stardust were transformed into sooty nebulae. Amselysen and Racine skilfully captivated their audience despite the difficult, rigid music.

X/O

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

Already past midnight, x/o took to the stage to present tracks from their excellent album Chaos Butterfly. This heavy music, full of contrasts thanks to dreamy vocals, reinvested many familiar musical landmarks. From IDM to metal, from dream pop to breakbeat, the Vancouver artist gave a convincing performance. Unfortunately, the vocal performance was a little too timid, and did not stand out in the sound balance. Technical problem or lack of confidence? Whatever the case, the vocals weren’t treated in a way that did full justice to the compositions, a drawback that was somewhat corrected towards the end. Nevertheless, x/o captivated their audience with ease, creating a dark atmosphere enhanced by bluish strobe lighting and hypnotic projections. One could appreciate the almost shoegaze noise flights illustrated by Japanese-drawn characters. All in all, x/o provided a moment of catharsis as heavy as it was soothing, with a well-controlled rise in intensity from one room to the next.


Kyoka

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

From the outset, Kyoka’s music was almost entirely inharmonic, focusing on the fullness of its sound samples and the insistence of its rhythms. The beginning of the performance was colored only by the cubist projections of BunBun and Alex Vlair. Yet, in a sudden moment of weightlessness, every trace of rhythm faded away, giving way to a long, atmospheric, harmonic passage. It was a real breath of fresh air, in an evening where the continuous pulse was king. Rhythmic, but more nuanced music with new melodic elements then emerged from this lull, bringing a sequence of euphoric variations to a close.

Animistic Beliefs

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

It didn’t matter to Animistic Beliefs that their appearance on stage was scheduled for the early hours. The duo truly transformed the SAT into a nocturnal party, intoxicating the audience with a relentless pulse and psychedelic sounds stacked one on top of the other. Their experimental music is generated in real-time by modular synthesizer work that doesn’t pull any punches. The sound was dense, the sound was loud, and the high-pitched rough whistles assaulted the senses as much as the thundering low frequencies. The duo’s music was peppered with intriguing sonorities, from samples to vocal outbursts declaimed like a punk singer screaming into a megaphone. Animistic Beliefs are said to incorporate Southeast Asian influences into their sound, sampling Vietnamese poetry and totobuang, the gong chimes of Indonesia’s Moluccan Islands. However, this is not the kind of nuance that could have been perceived on the spot, since the duo’s show is such a smash hit. A discovery that makes you want to go and listen to their album MERDEKA (independence in Indonesian).

Eƨƨe Ran

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Here’s another case where tonality was in short supply. Alternating a frantic pulse with powerful syncopated rhythms, Eƨƨe Ran had the thankless task of closing a stimulating evening. The artist’s formula might have remained a little drab were it not for the numerous misbehaviors. The Montrealer didn’t hesitate to divert his rhythmic carpet by improvising a noisy passage evoking unintelligible vocoder sounds, or by momentarily stretching or compressing the tempo. It was all about working with texture. Otherwise, the music shared that industrial coldness common to many of the evening’s artists, in which white noise is more the norm than musical note. Perhaps a little randomly, pointillist images of molecular structures and spatial nebulae were interspersed with rocky desert landscapes, all creating an atmosphere of almost nihilistic abandon to dance and decibels too many. The evening ended with a rallentando and a decrescendo into nothingness.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Ibibio Sound Machine, indeed a machine!

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Ibibio Sound Machine, indeed a machine!

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Andy Rubal’s fiery salsa

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Andy Rubal’s fiery salsa

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024| Jimmy Belah Trio: beautiful afro-folk, sometimes lacking panache

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024| Jimmy Belah Trio: beautiful afro-folk, sometimes lacking panache

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Athenea, A Woman of Many Roots

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Athenea, A Woman of Many Roots

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Omar Mbaye: Take-off for Dakar!

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 – Omar Mbaye: Take-off for Dakar!

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine  Frontwoman Eno Williams

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine Frontwoman Eno Williams

Colin Fisher – Suns of the Heart

Colin Fisher – Suns of the Heart

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Afrovibes Opens the Ball

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Afrovibes Opens the Ball

EP Quintet – Le convoi des oies

EP Quintet – Le convoi des oies

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Pahua : A Latina Tornado

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Pahua : A Latina Tornado

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024: Rumba de Bodas, Italian coffee roasting

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024: Rumba de Bodas, Italian coffee roasting

Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra – Harbour

Christine Jensen Jazz Orchestra – Harbour

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 202 | All United by The Kora

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 202 | All United by The Kora

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega, From the Top of Her Throne

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Youba Adjrad, Algeria’s Great Pop Voice

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Youba Adjrad, Algeria’s Great Pop Voice

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

Subscribe to our newsletter

MUTEK 2023 | Nocturne 2: SAT – Twin Rising, Efe Ce Ele, Paraadiso, Animistic Belief, et plus…

par Laurent Bellemare

Opening Photo By: Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Pour une seconde nuit, la Société des Arts Technologiques ouvrait ses portes à MUTEK 2023 pour l’événement Nocturne 2, présentant une palette d’artistes électroniques nichés. Avec ses deux espaces de prestations ouverts, les performances se sont enchaînées sans interruption, de sorte qu’il fallait parfois faire des choix déchirants entre l’une et l’autre des salles.

Twin Rising (VJ Isotone)

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

À travers son masque orné de chaînes, Twin Rising laissait entendre une voix douce et aiguë, dont la vulnérabilité faisait contraste avec les sonorités souvent rugueuses du registre grave. En effet, malgré une trame toujours harmonique, les basses fréquences onduleuses marquaient un tempo lent et pesant. Dans les moments les plus lourds, on se serait cru devant une performance de dubstep tel que le définissaient les années 2000. Une oreille attentive pouvait également déceler des « caisses claires » synthétiques volontairement asynchrones, créant un effet d’anticipation très efficace. Un équilibre entre pulsation accrocheuse et déconstruction rythmique gardait ainsi le public en haleine, tout comme le visuel hétéroclite projeté par Isotone sur le dôme de la satosphère. Entre déferlements aquatiques et géométrie granuleuse, il n’y avait que la palette multicolore pour s’accrocher à un fil conducteur. Quoi qu’il en soit, ces formes se mariaient très bien avec la musique de Twin Rising, créant une ambiance vaguement mélancolique. Une excellente façon de démarrer la soirée.

Efe Ce Ele

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

En descendant au rez-de-chaussée, on pouvait tout de suite constater le changement d’atmosphère. Pour la performance de Efe Ce Ele, le ton s’est nettement assombri : pulsation insistante, éclairage stroboscopique, visuel psychédélique et messages politiques explicites. Il y avait des échos de techno et de musique industrielle dans cette trame sonore d’une époque anxiogène. Mélodiquement, la musique évoluait surtout dans le registre grave, avec quelques percées de piano, de percussions et de voix échantillonnées. Le plus souvent, on baignait dans un bourdon complexe où les voix modulaient lentement. Les transitions étaient souvent articulées par superpositions de sections, créant momentanément un passage très dense et dissonant.

Nadia Struiwigh

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

De retour dans une Satosphère bondée de monde, l’ambiance créée par Nadia Struiwigh était la première de la soirée à rappeler celle d’un rave. L’expérience était nécessairement plus physique que les autres, la musique de l’artiste hollandaise opérant avec des rythmes toujours en 4/4 et toujours accrocheurs. Des syncopes ajoutaient çà et là de légers échos de drum’n’bass et de breakbeat. Harmoniquement, des accords tenus ou entrants en fondu s’enchaînaient en une progression simple. Ces  dernières étaient couplées avec de courtes cellules mélodiques répétées, créant un contraste de densité rythmique toujours présent. Les textures s’ajoutant à cette base accrocheuse permettaient de maintenir l’intérêt sur le plan sonore, alors que le corps se laissait aisément entraîner par la backbeats continus. Au visuel, les artistes BunBun et Alex Vlair proposaient une composition fort réussie. Motifs spiralés, cercles concentriques et mosaïques circulaires; ces formes s’arrimaient parfaitement avec le dôme de la SAT.


Paraadiso

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

Composé des artistes TSVI et Seven Orbits, le duo Paraadiso livrait un son beaucoup moins convenu. L’atmosphère était tantôt éthérée et consonante, et tantôt soudainement chaotique et bruitiste. Le  dénominateur commun ici, c’était les rythmes bien calculés pour éviter le prévisible. Les temps forts étaient souvent évités, accentuant plutôt les syncopes. À d’autres moments, des polyrythmies créaient des effets de déphasages très efficaces. Des subdivisions irrégulières venaient à leur tour déstabiliser la construction d’un rythme. De manière générale, les sonorités du duo étaient abstraites, plus près de l’art numérique que de la musique dansante. Cette expérimentation se reflétait également dans les projections, composées d’images microscopiques du monde naturel, lesquelles étaient hautement traitées jusqu’à devenir des textures méconnaissables. Avec une palette sonore riche, le duo Paraadiso offrait une savante performance de « musique pour ne pas danser ».

Amselysen/Racine

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Le duo Amselysen/Racine présentait une musique austère, où tout était rythme et timbre. Pas de mélodie ni repères harmoniques. Qui plus est, la pulsation était noyée dans des syncopes rapides ou des tapis de bass drum rapides. Résolument industriel, ce son rappelait celui d’un Autechre dans ses moments les moins consonants. À l’image de cette musique grise, mais pas moins grisante, le visuel projeté sur le dôme par Diagraf était tout de noir et blanc vêtu. Des stalagmites en origami superposées de poussière d’étoiles se transformaient en nébuleuses de suie. Amselysen et Racine ont su habilement envoûter son public malgré une musique difficile et rigide.

X/O

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

Déjà passé minuit, x/o montait sur scène pour présenter des morceaux de son excellent album Chaos Butterfly. Cette musique pesante, tout en contraste grâce à un chant rêveur, réinvestissait de nombreux repères musicaux connus. De l’IDM au métal, du dream pop au breakbeat; l’artiste de Vancouver performait de manière convaincante. On regrettait malheureusement une interprétation vocale un peu trop timide, laquelle ne perçait pas dans l’équilibre sonore. Problème technique ou manque d’assurance? Quoi qu’il en soit, la voix n’a pas eu un traitement qui rendait pleinement justice aux compositions, bémol qui s’est quelque peu corrigé vers la fin. Néanmoins, x/o a su captiver son auditoire sans problème, créant une atmosphère sombre augmentée d’un éclairage stroboscopique bleuté et de projections hypnotisantes. On pouvait apprécier des envolées noise presque shoegaze illustrées par des personnages dessinés à la japonaise. En somme, x/o a fait vivre un moment de catharsis aussi lourd qu’apaisant, avec une montée d’intensité bien contrôlée d’une pièce à l’autre.

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

D’emblée, Kyoka proposait une musique presque entièrement inharmonique, axée sur la plénitude de ses échantillons sonores et l’insistance de ses rythmes. Le début de la performance n’était pratiquement coloré que par les projections somme toute très cubistes de BunBun et Alex Vlair. Pourtant, dans un moment d’apesanteur soudain, toute trace de rythme s’est estompée pour laisser place à un long passage atmosphérique et harmonique. Il s’agissait là d’un réel vent de fraîcheur, dans une soirée où la pulsation continue était reine. Une musique rythmée, mais plus nuancée et avec de nouveaux éléments mélodique, a ensuite émergé de cette accalmie, bouclant une séquence de variations euphorisantes.

Animistic Beliefs

// Nina-Gibelin Souchon

Que leur apparition sur scène soit programmée aux petites heures importait peu à Animistic Beliefs. Le duo a vraiment transformé la SAT en fête nocturne, enivrant le parterre d’une pulsation incessante et de sonorités psychédéliques empilées les unes sur les autres. Leur musique expérimentale est générée en temps réel par un travail de synthétiseurs modulaires qui ne fait pas dans la dentelle. Le son était dense, le son était fort, et les sifflements rugueux aigus prenaient d’assaut les sens tout autant que les basses fréquences tonitruantes. La musique du duo était parsemée de sonorités intrigantes, des échantillons aux élans vocaux déclamés comme une chanteuse punk s’époumonerait dans un porte-voix. Il est dit qu’Animistic Belief incorpore des influences sud-est asiatiques dans leur son, échantillonnant notamment de la poésie vietnamienne et du totobuang, carillon de gongs des îles Moluques en Indonésie. Ce n’est toutefois pas le genre de nuances qu’on aurait pu percevoir sur le vif tant le duo a cassé la baraque avec son spectacle. Une découverte qui donne envie d’aller écouter leur album MERDEKA (indépendance en indonésien).

Eƨƨe Ran

// Frédérique Ménard-Aubin

Voilà un autre cas où la tonalité était bien peu présente. Alternant une pulsation effrénée à des rythmes syncopés puissants, Eƨƨe Ran avait la tâche ingrate de clôturer une soirée haute en stimulations.  La formule de l’artiste aurait pu rester un peu drabe n’eut-ce été des nombreux écarts de conduite. Le montréalais n’hésitait pas à détourner son tapis rythmique en improvisant un passage bruitiste évoquant des sonorités de vocoder inintelligibles, ou en étirant ou compressant momentanément le tempo. Tout était dans le travail de texture. Autrement, la musique partageait cette froideur industrielle, commune à de nombreux artistes de la soirée, dans laquelle bruit blanc est davantage la norme que note de musique. De manière peut-être un peu aléatoire, les images pointillistes de structures moléculaires et de nébuleuses spatiales s’intercalaient avec des paysages désertiques et rocheux, le tout créant une atmosphère d’abandon presque nihiliste à la danse et aux décibels de trop. La soirée s’est finalement terminée sur un rallentando et un decrescendo vers le néant.

Tout le contenu 360

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Des filles qui rockent

Des filles qui rockent

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Aunty Rayzor – Viral Wreckage

Aunty Rayzor – Viral Wreckage

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

DES hymnes à l’amour du côté de Bohème

Festival Classica |Un heureux Meslanges pour une fin d’édition en contraste

Festival Classica |Un heureux Meslanges pour une fin d’édition en contraste

Élégie aux Francos- ouvertures romantiques et tentations punk

Élégie aux Francos- ouvertures romantiques et tentations punk

Convulsing – Perdurance

Convulsing – Perdurance

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Botanist – Paleobotany

Botanist – Paleobotany

Les Violons du Roy, Cameron Crozman, Nicolas Ellis | Haydn Cello Concertos – Hétu Rondo

Les Violons du Roy, Cameron Crozman, Nicolas Ellis | Haydn Cello Concertos – Hétu Rondo

Un 16 juin aux Francos | Pomme, Marco Ema et KNLO

Un 16 juin aux Francos | Pomme, Marco Ema et KNLO

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre