A June 30 at FIJM: Buddy Guy, Avishai Cohen Trio, Mark Guiliana Quartet, Snarky Puppy…

par Rédaction PAN M 360

At the Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, PAN M 360’s experts attend all the concerts that shake up music lovers. Follow our team!

Buddy Guy Keeps The Blues Alive at FIJM

Buddy Guy at FIJM / Benoit Rousseau


At 86-years-old, Buddy Guy conveyed to a sold-out crowd at the Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier why he is a revered OG blues legend, during the FIJM. After an hour of the young opener, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram—who is taking up the mantle left by guys like Buddy Guy—the legend himself walked slowly onto the stage in jean overalls and a polka dot shirt. His voice still sounds as pure and soulful as the day he started—as if he’s leading the crowd through a religious sermon. But instead of god, he’s preaching the blues, the very thing he is somewhat responsible for popularizing and really keeping alive in the last few years. “They’ve stopped playing this kind of blues music in the States and I’m not sure why,” Buddy Guy said in a hushed tone to the crowd. “And those hip-hoppers get to swear on the radio so, now I’m like, well shit, I gotta start swearing at my shows.”

On the stage, Buddy Guy is part comedian, gyrating and thrusting into his guitar, perfectly making his guitar sound like it’s crying or laughing. He’s still got the same charisma you’d expect from Buddy Guy. He could have easily sat in a chair and no one could fault him, but no, he moved across the stage, cracked jokes at the expense of the crowd—a real showman. And he’s still got the chops, soloing like a bored god with an in-the-red guitar tone and sound. During the blues standard “How Blue Can You Get,” he stopped halfway saying “I don’t want anyone saying ‘Oh I came to the show and it was good, but he didn’t play this or that.'” He then busted out a one-minute version John Lee Hooker’s “Boom Boom,” and followed it up with Jimi Hendrix’s “Voodoo Child (Slight Return),” perfectly parroting the distinctive guitar styles. The night ended on a high when he brought out the Kingfish for a jam, but Buddy Guy let the young 24-year-old take the spotlight as he sang “Cheaper to Keep Her.”

“Ladies and gentlemen I remember being in Mississippi and hearing this young man play and thinking ‘Hmm I gotta do something bout that,'” Buddy said to the crowd. This is indeed the farewell tour of Buddy Guy, but I get the sense that he will never stop playing, never stop preaching the blues, or finding the next crop of young talent. “Bye Montreal, I’ll see y’all next time.” Sure Buddy. See you then.

Stephan Boissonneault

The Avishai Cohen trio // Benoit Rousseau

Avishai Cohen Brings The Shifting Sands

For fans of Avishai Cohen, the last two years of the festival have been a special two years. Avishai was scheduled to perform with his trio last year but, at the last minute, his pianist was unable to make the show. To his credit, Avishai made the best of the situation and performed an intimate set of Israeli folk songs with him singing and playing piano, as well as playing some duo with the phenomenal drummer Roni Kaspi. This year, Avishai returned to the Théâtre Maisonneuve and delivered what was first promised and more.

The night was brimming with anticipation, and the band played through a setlist of crowd favorites like “Seven Seas,” “Dreaming,” and “Beyond.” The trio featured some material from their latest album, Shifting Sands, but catered the show as a showcase that everyone could enjoy. The sound and lighting team did a really wonderful job creating a sense of atmosphere.

At times it felt like the group may as well be the Roni Kaspi Trio since she seemed to take much of the limelight. Her solos were consistently thrilling and had everyone at the edge of their seats, and during one particular solo, there was a standing ovation while she was playing!

Varun Swarup

Mark Guiliana ,The sound of Listening and more Mischief

photo credit : Benoît Rousseau

The Gesù was sold out for Mark Guiliana’s quartet, an excellent choice in FIJM’s 2023 program.

Relocated to the West Coast with his partner Gretchen Parlato and their son, Guiliana continues the journey across an acoustic plateau begun in the middle of the previous decade. Important was this impression of a musical language freed from its founding evidences.

Having dazzled us in the days of Beat Music, an electro-jazz ensemble with which he allowed himself brief returns, Mark Guiliana chose acoustic instrumentation several years ago.

The line-up here was highly cohesive, comprising tenor saxophonist Jason Rigby (also an excellent clarinettist, but not on this evening), bassist Chris Morrissey and pianist Jason Lindner. One might have expected to hear Shai Maestro, who plays in the same band on the superb recordings The Sound of Listening and Mischief, but it was Lindner who offered up his circumspect, refined playing.

Based on Guiliana’s very particular playing style and tastes, this acoustic quartet has acquired a maturity of expression that few ensembles of this type achieve. The whole spectrum of emotions is soberly covered, but there is room for more testosterone and adventure. 

We find ourselves in movements comparable to the acoustic ensembles of David Binney or Brian Blade, that is to say, formations that are clearly jazz for their swing augmented by very contemporary rhythmic cells. The same is true for melody and harmony, i.e., there are enough consonant lines for us to be willing to admit certain more learned passages.

A pure delight.

Alain Brunet

Snarky Puppy, as expected…

For over fifteen years, bassist and composer Michael League has been building his career through the web and other means once considered parallel or indies when he starded. Today, it’s said to have become an inescapable way of building a career. Today, Michael League’s main vehicle, Snarky Puppy, is a must-see, filling 2000+ capacity venues wherever it lands.

MTELUS was obviously packed on Friday night, and it was an evening of full-on groove fusion, with wind section, two sets of keyboards including a Hammond B3, guitar, violin, bass and percussion. In short, a lot of restless people on a restless stage.

Snarky Puppy is renowned for its jazzy groove crossovers, its unifying melodic themes and its ample shapes with relatively demanding bridges for its performers. Generally speaking, this music is good for partying, lifting elbows while “czech la passe”, and offers just enough virtuoso pretension to delight some more seasoned music lovers.

That’s about it… as expected.

Alain Brunet

Tout le contenu 360

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Sarah Rossy – Seemingly Insatiable Waves

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Cyrille Dubois/Tristan Raës – Louis Beydts (1895-1953) : Melodies and Songs

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Ruth Saphir – Accolades of Time

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Gabriel Genest – As It Is

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Karma Glider – Sugarcane

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

Shannon & The Clams – The Moon Is In The Wrong Place

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

FIMAV 2024 | Sélébéyone, or cultural intersections according to Steve Lehman

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

Kaia Kater Talks About Her New Album Strange Medicine

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

FIMAV | Natural Information Society informs you of its great sounds !

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Catherine Major – La mémoire du corps

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

Myriam Gendron – Mayday

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Jaeden Izik-Dzurko, first Canadian pianist ever to win

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The finalists’ penultimate stretch (Part 2)

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

Empress Of – For Your Consideration

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

CMIM – Piano 2024: The penultimate round of finalists (Part 1)

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Musical Chairs, a chamber music festival at the Schulich School of Music

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Swing the Mass at Cinquième salle : Will Todd’s Mass in Blue for a rare occasion in Quebec

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

Meet Uuriintuya Khalivan: the woman who brings Mongolia to Canada

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

CMIM – Piano 2024 | Finalists announced

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Women’s Silk Roads at the Centre des Musiciens du Monde Festival 2024

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

Random Access Memories, 11 years later: HI FI document at PHI Center

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

The Messthetics – And James Brandon Lewis

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Job For A Cowboy – Moon Healer

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Spectral Voice – Sparagmos

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

Un 30 juin au FIJM: Buddy Guy, Avishai Cohen, Snarky Puppy, Mark Guiliana …

par Rédaction PAN M 360

Au Festival International de Jazz de Montréal, les experts de PAN M 360 assistent aux concerts qui secouent les mélomanes. Suivez notre équipe !

Buddy Guy, increvable malgré les adieux

Buddy Guy au FIJM / Benoit Rousseau


À 86 ans, Buddy Guy a fait comprendre à la salle Wilfrid-Pelletier, qui affichait complet, pourquoi il est une légende vénérée du blues. Après une heure du jeune ouvreur, Christone « Kingfish » Ingram – qui prend la relève de gars comme Buddy Guy – la légende elle-même est entrée lentement sur scène en salopette de jean et chemise à pois. Sa voix est toujours aussi pure et pleine d’âme que le jour où il a commencé, comme s’il guidait la foule à travers un sermon religieux. Mais au lieu de Dieu, il prêche le blues, la chose même qu’il est en quelque sorte responsable d’avoir popularisée et vraiment maintenue en vie ces dernières années. « Ils ont arrêté de jouer ce genre de blues aux États-Unis et je ne sais pas trop pourquoi », a déclaré Buddy Guy à voix basse à la foule. « Et ces hip-hoppers commencent à jurer à la radio, alors maintenant je me dis, merde, il faut que je commence à jurer à mes concerts ».

Sur scène, Buddy Guy est en partie comédien, il se trémousse et s’enfonce dans sa guitare, donnant parfaitement l’impression qu’elle pleure ou qu’elle rit. Il a toujours le même charisme que l’on attend de Buddy Guy. Il aurait pu s’asseoir sur une chaise et personne n’aurait pu lui reprocher quoi que ce soit, mais non, il se déplaçait sur la scène, faisait des blagues en s’inspirant de la foule – un vrai showman. Et il est toujours aussi doué, jouant des solos comme un dieu ennuyé, avec un son et une sonorité de guitare à couper le souffle. Pendant le standard du blues « How Blue Can You Get », il s’est arrêté à mi-chemin en disant : « Je ne veux pas que quelqu’un dise : ‘Oh, je suis venu au concert et c’était bien, mais il n’a pas joué ceci ou cela' ». Il s’est ensuite lancé dans une version d’une minute de « Boom Boom » de John Lee Hooker et a enchaîné avec « Voodoo Child (Slight Return) » de Jimi Hendrix, reprenant parfaitement les différents styles de guitare. La soirée s’est terminée en beauté lorsqu’il a fait venir les Kingfish pour un jam, mais Buddy Guy a laissé le jeune homme de 24 ans prendre la vedette en chantant « Cheaper to Keep Her ».

Mesdames et messieurs, je me souviens d’avoir entendu ce jeune homme jouer au Mississippi et de m’être dit : « Hmm, il faut que je fasse quelque chose pour ça » », a déclaré Buddy à la foule. C’est en effet la tournée d’adieu de Buddy Guy, mais j’ai l’impression qu’il ne cessera jamais de jouer, de prêcher le blues ou de trouver la prochaine génération de jeunes talents. « Bye Montreal, I’ll see y’all next time ». Bien sûr, Buddy. À la prochaine fois.

Stephan Boissonneault

The Avishai Cohen trio // Benoit Rousseau

Avishai Cohen ne s’enfonce jamais dans les sables mouvants

Pour les fans d’Avishai Cohen, les deux dernières années du festival ont été particulières. L’année dernière, Avishai devait se produire avec son trio mais, à la dernière minute, son pianiste n’a pas pu venir. Avishai a su tirer le meilleur parti de la situation et a interprété un ensemble intime de chansons folkloriques israéliennes en chantant et en jouant du piano, ainsi qu’en jouant en duo avec la batteure Roni Kaspi. Cette année, Avishai est revenu au Théâtre Maisonneuve et a tenu ses promesses, et plus encore.

La soirée était débordante d’énergie et le groupe a joué une liste de chansons préférées du public comme  » Seven Seas « ,  » Dreaming  » et  » Beyond « . Le trio a présenté quelques morceaux de leur dernier album, Shifting Sands, mais a conçu le spectacle comme une vitrine que tout le monde peut apprécier. L’équipe chargée du son et de l’éclairage a fait un travail remarquable pour créer une atmosphère.

À certains moments, on avait l’impression que le groupe pouvait tout aussi bien s’appeler le Roni Kaspi Trio, tant elle semblait occuper le devant de la scène. Ses solos ont toujours été passionnants et ont tenu tout le monde en haleine ; lors d’un solo en particulier, il y a eu une ovation !



Varun Swarup

Snarky Puppy comme prévu…

Depuis plus d’une quinzaine d’années, le bassiste et compositeur Michael League érige son édifice via le web et autres moyens autrefois considérés comme parallèles ou indies. Aujourd’hui, on affirme que c’est devenu un façon incontournable de construire une carrière. Aujourd’hui, le véhicule principal de Michael League, Snarky Puppy est un incontournable et remplit des salles de 2000 places et plus partout où il accoste.

Vendredi soir, c’était évidemment archi plein et ce fut une soirée de groove fusion à grand déploiement, avec section de vents, deux assortiments de claviers dont un Hammond B3, guitare, violon, basse, percussions. Bref, beaucoup de monde agité sur une scène agitée.

Snarky Puppy est renommé pour ses croisements jazzy groove, ses thèmes mélodiques fédérateurs et ses formes amples assorties de bridges relativement exigeants pour ses interprètes. Généralement, cette musique est propice à la fête, à la levée des coudes pendant qu’on « tchèque la passe », et offre juste assez de prétentions virtuoses pour réjouir certains mélomanes plus aguerris. C’est pas mal ça… comme prévu.

Alain Brunet

Mark Guiliana , pur délice

crédit : Benoît Rousseau

Le Gesù était rempli à pleine capacité pour le quartette de Mark Guiliana, un excellent choix dans la programmation 2023 du FIJM.

Transplanté sur la Côte Ouest avec sa compagne Gretchen Parlato et leur fils, Guiliana poursuit la traversée d’un plateau acoustique, amorcée au milieu de la décennie précédente. Importante était cette impression d’une langue musicale affranchie de ses évidences fondatrices.

Après nous avoir ébloui à l’époque où prévalait son groupe Beat Music, ensemble électro-jazz avec lequel il s’est permis de brefs retours, Mark Guiliana a fait le choix d’une instrumentation acoustique depuis plusieurs années déjà.

La formation ici réunie était d’une grande cohésion, composée du saxophoniste ténor Jason Rigby (aussi excellent clarinettiste, mais pas ce soir-là) , du contrebassiste Chris Morrissey et du pianiste Jason Lindner. On aurait pu s’attendre à entendre Shai Maestro, qui joue au sein de la même formation dans le superbe enregistrement The Sound of Listening, c’était plutôt Lindner qui a offert un jeu circonspect et raffiné.

Fondé sur le jeu très particulier et les goûts de Guiliana, ce quartette acoustique a acquis une maturité d’expression à laquelle peu d’ensembles de ce type parviennent. Tout le spectre des émotions est sobrement ratissé de manière générale, mais peut laisser place à plus de testostérone et d’aventure.

On se trouve dans des mouvances comparables aux ensembles acoustiques de David Binney ou de Brian Blade, soit des formations clairement jazz pour son swing augmenté de cellules rythmiques très contemporaines. Il en est de même pour la mélodie et l’harmonie, c’est-à-dire y a bien assez de lignes consonantes pour qu’on soit prêt à admettre certains passages plus savants.

Pur délice.

Alain Brunet

Tout le contenu 360

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

Totalement Sublime| Totalement Immersif | L’univers ambient d’Albédo et Parhélie à la SAT

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

À la table d’Annie-Claude Deschênes : entre ustensiles et expérimentation sonore

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

Université de Montréal | L’au revoir grandiose de Jean-François Rivest

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Anderson & Roe, grands innovateurs du duo pianistique

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Jeannot Bournival – Confiture Printemps Comète Moustache Molle

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flûte passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? L’EP « sadder but better » y répond !

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Willows et Soleil Launière : Une soirée post-éclipse lumineuse

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, pièce composée pour l’homme derrière Blackstar

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

L’Iran féministe de Bahar Harandi

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Abel Selaocoe : le vent qui emporte

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Orkestar Kriminal – Originali

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Simon Denizart – Piece of Mind

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

Jean Jean Roosevelt – Libres ensemble

ARC – ARC

ARC – ARC

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Isabella D’Éloize Perron – à la conquête de l’Amérique avec Vivaldi et Piazzolla

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre