×
Country : South Korea Label : Zanpar Inc. Genres and styles : New Wave / North East Asian / Post-Punk Year : 2020
LeeNalchi

Sugungga

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Considered an intangible treasure of Korean national history, pansori is the centuries-old tradition of epic storytelling performance, one of exaggerated sprechgesang, ritualized gestures, and sparse drum accompaniment. Of the five canon works still performed today, the allegorical beast fable Sugungga is the lightest and most irreverent. Its tale of a dying Dragon King, a dutiful turtle, and a duplicitous rabbit reflects the plebian roots of the artform.

Though they’re named after a Joseon-era master of the craft, Seoul’s LeeNalchi aren’t preservationists overly precious about the past. Numerous modern Korean artists have sought to reboot pansori in recent years by fusing it with rap, jazz, and of course K-pop; LeeNalchi set off their vocal fireworks against an instrumental backdrop informed by post-punk, new wave, krautrock, and space disco, with kosmische synths and two bass guitars (two, that’s good, I like that). It’s a concept that could have come from the conclusion of rigorous cultural research, or the bottom of a bottle of soju. Either way, it’s astoundingly successful, as the eccentric art-funk of opener “Tiger is Coming” makes immediately clear.

Sometimes haunting (“You Know Who I Am?”), often hilarious (“Tiger’s Third Leg”), always highly expressive, LeeNalchi’s radical arrangements for voice, and the inspired deliveries of the band’s five sorriggun (traditional singers), turn pansori’s rather startling characteristics, something of an acquired taste, to their advantage. The results captured here amount to one of the most impressive episodes of collective vocal music-making this reviewer has heard in years. Most importantly, it’s incredibly fun, and catchy enough to ensnare even the sneakiest trickster bunny.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Corée du Sud Label : Zanpar Inc. Genres et styles : asiatique du Nord-Est / new wave / post-punk Année : 2020
LeeNalchi

Sugungga

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Considéré comme un trésor du patrimoine coréen, le panori est la tradition séculaire des récits épiques où la prononciation est exagérée, les gestes ritualisés et l’accompagnement des tambours clairsemé. Des cinq œuvres canoniques encore jouées aujourd’hui, la fable allégorique de la bête Sugungga est la plus légère et la plus irrévérencieuse. Ce conte mettant en scène un roi dragon mourant, une tortue soumise et un lapin hypocrite reflète bien les racines plébéiennes de cet art. 

Bien qu’elle porte le nom d’un maître de l’ère Joseon, la formation LeeNalchi de Séoul n’est pas une bande de traditionalistes accrochés au passé. Ces dernières années, de nombreux artistes coréens modernes ont cherché à relancer le panori en le fusionnant avec le rap, le jazz et, bien sûr, la K-pop ; LeeNalchi juxtapose ses feux d’artifice vocaux à une toile de fond instrumentale mêlant post-punk, new wave, krautrock et space-disco à des synthés kosmische et deux guitares basses (deux, c’est encore mieux). C’est un concept qui pourrait autant être le résultat d’une recherche culturelle rigoureuse que d’un flash après un fond d’une bouteille de soju. Quoi qu’il en soit, comme en témoigne l’art-funk excentrique de la première pièce, Tiger is Coming, il s’agit d’une réussite étonnante.

Parfois envoûtants (You Know Who I Am ?), souvent hilarants (Tiger’s Third Leg), toujours très expressifs, les arrangements radicaux de LeeNalchi pour la voix et le débit rythmiquement inspiré des cinq sorriggun (chanteurs traditionnels) du groupe, utilisent à leur avantage les caractéristiques plutôt surprenantes du panori. Les résultats présentés ici constituent l’un des exemples les plus saisissants de musique vocale collective que l’auteur de ces lignes ait entendu ces dernières années. Mais surtout, c’est formidablement divertissant et assez accrocheur pour piéger même le lapin le plus malin.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre