×
Pays : United States Label : Neurot Recordings Genres et styles : Americana / Country Blues Année : 2022

Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III – Amenra, Cave In, Marissa Nadler

· par administrateur

Review Written By: Levi Gogerla

Birthed in 2012; Songs of Townes Van Zandt – a musical collaboration between Neurot recordings and My Proud Mountain has given underground artists a platform to feature the works of the world-renowned and legendary songwriter: the late, great, Townes Van Zandt.  Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III features nine new renditions of the western troubadour’s American songbook as interpreted by Amenra, Cave In, and Marissa Nadler.

This ongoing series highlights, strangely enough, the heavy metal genre of music above all others.  From the initial compositional outing featuring Scott Kelly, (Neurosis) and the melancholy crooning of Scott “Wino” Weinrich, (Saint Vitus, Spirit Caravan), Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III continues to explore those same dark recesses of the great American storybook while offering heavier artists the chance to explore their interpersonal creative foundations.

Within these nine tracks, the artists offer picturesque glimpses into the inner workings of an artist’s longing, regret, and life in a story. These tracks are distorted, and often dissonant but still retain Towne’s fundamental gospel truths about the human condition.  Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III is a record that is enhanced by the dissonance of its underground artists but might be off-putting to country music purists.  The subtle nuances of extreme music mesh uniquely with the lush stark deliveries of Towne’s prose. This is a tribute series that flourishes, despite genre purists. It’s a record that amplifies the pungent expression and innermost dietary works of the poet in question.

Listeners are transported not only to the forefront of American roots storytelling but are simultaneously transposed to the quant and captivating imagination of an artist’s innermost lonesomeness, love, and spirit, immaculately cherished. The small recollections of the human condition underline each individual track and stand as a testament to Townes genre-defying lyrical delivery.  This series of tribute to a long-lost figure in country music storytelling help elevate one’s appreciation for roots music as a whole and helps one see the similarities one can express within the constraints of genre.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Neurot Recordings Genres et styles : americana / country-blues Année : 2022

Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III – Amenra, Cave In, Marissa Nadler

· par Levi Gogerla

Le projet Songs of Townes Van Zandt a vu le jour en 2012. C’est une collaboration entre les étiquettes Neurot Recordings et My Proud Mountain. Des artistes peuvent ainsi profiter d’une plateforme pour présenter les œuvres d’un auteur-compositeur légendaire, le regretté Townes Van Zandt.  Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III propose neuf nouvelles chansons du répertoire de ce troubadour de l’Ouest, interprétées par Amenra, Cave In et Marissa Nadler.

Étrangement, cette série met l’accent sur le métal. Sur les volumes précédents, on avait notamment entendu Scott Kelly (Neurosis) et Scott « Wino » Weinrich (Saint Vitus, Spirit Caravan). Vol. III continue d’explorer les mêmes recoins sombres du répertoire country-folk américain, tout en offrant aux artistes plus « pesants » la possibilité d’y intégrer leur touche personnelle.

Au fil de ces neuf pièces, les artistes exposent les rouages intérieurs de la nostalgie, du regret et de la vie. Ces morceaux sont souvent distordus, mais ils préservent les vérités fondamentales de Van Zandt sur la condition humaine. Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol. III est un album qui mise sur la dissonance de ses artistes, mais qui pourrait rebuter les puristes de la musique country.  Les nuances subtiles de la musique extrême se marient de manière unique avec les interprétations à la fois luxuriantes et austères de la prose de Townes Van Zandt. Cette série d’hommages d’albums-hommages se déploie donc malgré les réticences des « normatifs ». Vol. III amplifie la douleur et la sobriété des éléments les plus intimes de l’œuvre.

Les auditeurs sont non seulement transportés à l’avant-garde des récits americana, mais aussi dans l’imaginaire captivant de solitude, d’amour et d’intimité d’un artiste martyr et sanctifié. Chacune des chansons est imprégnée de réminiscences de la condition humaine; il s’agit d’un testament au don de parolier de Van Zandt, qui transcende les genres musicaux. Ces albums-hommages à un grand disparu de la musique country contribuent donc à faire aimer la musique de racines dans son ensemble, puis à souligner les similitudes que l’on peut exprimer sans contraintes de genres.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre