×
Country : United States Label : Temporary Residence Ltd. Genres and styles : Ambient / Avant-Garde Year : 2020
William Basinski

Lamentations

· by Steve Naud

In 2004, the Canadian film The Saddest Music in the World featured musicians from around the world competing in a contest to crown the creator of the saddest work. There is no doubt that if such a competition really existed, American composer William Basinski would be the one to beat. Although the Houston-born artist is known for his impersonal and decorative music, he has succeeded in creating ambient music that can bring tears to your eyes. 

More than just an atmosphere designer, Basinski knows how to give his music its own signature sound. Fans will find themselves on charted ground with these Lamentations. Especially since their author uses the same process that made him famous with his 2002 release Disintegration Loops, once again using analog tapes on which are engraved works he recorded in the past – the oldest dating back to 1979. Basinski manipulates these old tapes as he sees fit, drawing elements from them which he plays in loops and superimposes, generating an auditory palimpsest in which fuzzy melodic forms move beneath layers of drones and reverberation.

With Lamentations, Basinski demonstrates that he’s far from having exhausted the resources of his art and gives birth to one of the most touching albums of his career. The black waves that roll over “For Whom the Bell Tolls”, the opening track of the record, break into foam on the heart of the listener, who risks being swept away by so much melancholy. Fortunately, a human song emerges from the waves on three of the pieces on the programme. These siren voices rising above the dark tide will offer comfort to the souls who venture into these dismal waters. In this world of ours, which is losing its bearings, this record is a buoy to hold on to. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Temporary Residence Ltd. Genres et styles : ambient / avant-garde Année : 2020
William Basinski

Lamentations

· par Steve Naud

En 2004, le film canadien The Saddest Music in the World mettait en scène des musiciens venus des quatre coins du globe qui s’affrontaient dans le cadre d’un concours afin de couronner le créateur de l’œuvre la plus triste qui soit. Il ne fait aucun doute que si une telle compétition existait réellement, le compositeur américain William Basinski serait le concurrent à battre. Même s’il pratique un genre musical réputé impersonnel et décoratif, l’artiste originaire de Houston réussit l’exploit de créer une musique ambient pouvant susciter les larmes. 

Plus qu’un simple designer d’atmosphères, Basinski sait imprimer à sa musique une signature sonore qui lui est propre. Les amateurs se retrouveront donc en terrain balisé avec ces Lamentations. Surtout que leur auteur reprend le procédé qui l’a fait connaître avec ses incontournables Disintegration Loops de 2002 en ayant de nouveau recours à des bandes analogiques sur lesquelles sont gravées des œuvres qu’il a enregistrées par le passé – les plus anciennes remontant à 1979. Basinski manipule ces vieux rubans à sa guise, y puisant des éléments qu’il fait jouer en boucles et qu’il superpose, générant ainsi un palimpseste auditif où des formes mélodiques floues se meuvent sous des couches de drones et de réverbération.

Avec Lamentations, l’artiste démontre qu’il est loin d’avoir épuisé les ressources de son art et accouche d’un des albums les plus touchants de sa carrière. Les vagues noires qui roulent sur For Whom the Bell Tolls – morceau d’ouverture du disque – se brisent en écume sur le cœur de l’auditeur qui risque d’être emporté par tant de mélancolie. Heureusement, un chant humain surgit des flots sur trois des pièces au programme. Ces voix de sirènes s’élevant au-dessus de la sombre marée offriront leur réconfort aux âmes qui s’aventureront dans ces eaux lugubres. En ce monde en perte de repères qui est le nôtre, ce disque est une bouée à laquelle s’accrocher. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre