×
Country : Estonia Label : Gramola Genres and styles : Contemporary Year : 2022

Gunter Herbig – Arvo Pärt : Wherever I Go…

· by Frédéric Cardin

Arvo Pärt on electric guitar? Oh yes! Of course, we are far from the traditional guitar hero here, but in my opinion, there is something heroic in wanting to interpret such bare music, so pure in its economy and its search for the essential sound, on an instrument so associated with spectacular virtuosity and expressionist thunder.

In any case, the gamble is entirely successful! Guitarist Günter Herbig, who made the arrangements himself, has brilliantly transferred the mystical minimalism of the Estonian composer to the reverberating sound world of the electric guitar. Played with angelic sweetness, Herbig’s Gretsch White Falcon captures the essence of Pärt’s sonic purity while offering a little extra soul in the form of an unusually inhabited and embraced sound space. The sound of the electric instrument, gently caressed rather than pinched by its master, thus becomes a kind of original synthesis between the organic and the electromagnetic. We enter a sound dimension adapted to one thing only: beneficial contemplation, a refuge from the horrors of the world.

Wherever I Go… is a real lesson in “zenitude” by one of the great poets of the contemporary electric guitar. Wherever you go, the music on this album, and especially its spirit, will stay with you for a long time.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Estonie Label : Gramola Genres et styles : musique contemporaine Année : 2022

Gunter Herbig – Arvo Pärt : Wherever I Go…

· par Frédéric Cardin

Arvo Pärt à la guitare électrique? Oh que oui! On est bien entendu très loin du guitar hero traditionnel ici, mais il y a à mon avis quelque chose d’héroïque à vouloir interpréter une musique aussi dénudée, aussi pure dans son économie et sa recherche de l’essentiel sonore, sur un instrument tellement associé à la virtuosité spectaculaire et à la tonitruance expressionniste.

Quoi qu’il en soit, le pari est entièrement réussi! Le guitariste Günter Herbig, qui a réalisé les arrangements lui-même, a brillamment transposé le minimalisme mystique du compositeur estonien vers le monde sonore réverbérant de la guitare électrique. Joué avec une douceur angélique, la Gretsch White Falcon de Herbig capture l’essence de la pureté sonore de Pärt tout en lui offrant un petit supplément d’âme sous forme d’un espace sonore habité et embrassé de façon inusitée. Le son de l’instrument électrique, effleuré plutôt que pincé par son maître, devient ainsi une sorte de synthèse originale entre l’organique et l’électromagnétique. On entre dans une dimension sonore adaptée à une seule chose : la contemplation bienfaisante, refuge face aux horreurs du monde.

Wherever I Go… est une véritable leçon de zénitude par l’un des grands poètes de la guitare électrique contemporaine. Peu importe où vous irez (wherever you go…), la musique et l’esprit de cet album vous habiteront longtemps.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre