×
Country : United Kingdom Label : One Little Indian Genres and styles : Alternative Rock / Folk / Psych-Folk Year : 2020
Liar, flower

Geiger Counter

· by Michel Rondeau

Her name is Katie Jane Garside. Singer and lyricist, she made her name with punk band Daisy Chainsaw, then in the 2000s with high-octane rock band QueenAdreena, with whom her stage performances were explosive to say the least (check out one of the live versions of “Pretty Like Drugs” on YouTube). Spotted by Hector Zazou, she participated in the astonishing album Corps Électriques, one of the late French musician’s last projects, before moving on to more intimate music, which she describes as black folk, in the duo Ruby Throat . And now, under the banner of Liar, flower, she has returned to rock, without denying her more recent folk streak.

Katie Jane Garside is a voice, sometimes high-pitched, that at times reminds us of Kate Bush or Björk. She has the same kind of smoky veil as Björk, with the same kind of high-pitched misfiring, as if, for a fraction of a second, the tape slipped or was demagnetised. Its mixture of expressive fragility and strength is immediately seductive. It’s no coincidence that Zazou – who knew a lot about women’s voices — made use of it.

The first track is all delicacy and vulnerability, something almost diaphanous, and at the same time gripping. On the next one, “My Brain is Lit Like an Airport”, Garside and her sidekick, multi-instrumentalist Chris Wittingham, go into a muscular mode. It may not rock with as much abandon as it did in the heyday of QueenAdreena, but the whole is as abrasive as one could wish for. On the third, we find ourselves immersed in a trip hop ambience that reminds us of the oppressive and haunting atmosphere of Portishead’s third album. Slow pieces and uptempo alternate until the climax, on the very bare title track, where her repeated invocations of the heavens reach a poignant intensity.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Royaume-Uni Label : One Little Indian Genres et styles : folk / folk psychédélique / rock alternatif Année : 2020
Liar, flower

Geiger Counter

· par Michel Rondeau

Elle s’appelle Katie Jane Garside. Chanteuse et parolière, elle s’est fait connaître avec le groupe punk Daisy Chainsaw, puis dans les années 2000 au sein du groupe rock à indice d’octane élevé QueenAdreena avec lequel ses performances scéniques étaient pour le moins explosives (jetez un œil à l’une des versions devant public de Pretty Like Drugs sur YouTube). Repérée par Hector Zazou, elle participe à l’étonnant disque Corps Électriques, l’un des derniers projets du regretté musicien français, pour ensuite se mettre à une musique plus intimiste, qu’elle qualifie de folk noir, dans le tandem Ruby Throat. Et voilà que sous la bannière Liar, flower, elle renoue avec le rock, sans pour autant renier sa plus récente veine folk.

Katie Jane Garside, c’est une voix, parfois haut perchée, qui rappelle par moments celle de Kate Bush ou de Björk. Elle possède en effet le même genre de voile enfumé que cette dernière, avec ces mêmes espèces de ratés dans l’aigu, comme si, une fraction de seconde, la bande glissait ou était démagnétisée. Son mélange de fragilité expressive et de force est immédiatement séduisant. Ce n’est pas un hasard si Zazou – qui s’y connaissait en voix féminines – y a fait appel.

La première pièce est tout en délicatesse et en vulnérabilité, quelque chose de presque diaphane et en même temps très prenant. Sur la suivante, My Brain is Lit Like an Airport, Garside et son comparse, le multi-instrumentiste Chris Wittingham, passent en mode musclé. Elle n’y rocke peut-être pas avec autant d’abandon qu’aux beaux jours de QueenAdreena, mais l’ensemble est abrasif à souhait. À la troisième, on se trouve plongé dans une ambiance trip-hop qui n’est pas sans rappeler celle, oppressante et lancinante du troisième album de Portishead. Alterneront ainsi plus ou moins pièces lentes et uptempo jusqu’au moment culminant, sur la pièce-titre, très dépouillée, où ses invocations répétées du ciel atteignent une poignante intensité.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre