×
Country : Brazil Label : Tratore Genres and styles : Art Pop / Electronic / Música Popular Brasileira Year : 2020
Semper Volt

Cristal

· by Rupert Bottenberg

São Paulo’s João Tenório enjoyed a former life as drum & bass producer Telefunken, back in the early oughts, but the comparisons to what’s been up to in recent years, cultivating this Semper Volt project, would be tenuous at best. Following two EPs in recent years, Tenório now presents his first full album under the name.

Barefoot folk-pop in a Brazilian vernacular is intimately and inextricably tangled up here in a rich tapestry of electronic beats and sounds, strange but benign electro-funk mutations, lurching, leftfield, raw, and rather organic. Substantial stuff, but never too weighty or unwieldy. The production help of Ivan “Boi” Gomes likely went a long way in this respect. He’s got a decent resume in this field of “nova MPB”, the next generation in música popular brasileira, taking greater liberties than ever with the rooted yet cosmopolitan hybrid sound that followed bossa nova. 

Tenório’s personality comes through in his affable and easygoing delivery, and the simple but effective poetry of his lyrics. A good example is the memorable third single “Se Juntou”, appealingly pluralist in its perspective. “Massa Crítica”, meanwhile, is a reflection in the aftermath of Bolsonaro’s election. The spirit is deflated, but not broken. “Quando forma multidão é força mística”, guest singer São Yantó earnestly intones – “When forming a crowd is a mystical force”.

It’s also just nice to note that Tenório’s father Carlos Balla, a drummer who’s worked with Djavan and Gal Costa, plays on two tracks here… keeping an eye on the boy, one assumes.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Brésil Label : Tratore Genres et styles : art-pop / électronique / música popular brasileira Année : 2020
Semper Volt

Cristal

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Le Pauliste João Tenório a connu une vie antérieure comme producteur de drum & bass sous le nom de Telefunken au début des années 2000, mais cette période n’a pas grand-chose à voir avec ce qu’il fait ces dernières années sous la bannière Semper Volt. Après deux EP, Tenório présente son premier album sous ce nom.

Sa folk-pop aux pieds nus dans une langue vernaculaire brésilienne est ici intimement et inextricablement mêlée à une riche tapisserie de beats et de sons électroniques, et d’étranges mais charmantes mutations électro-funk, à la fois brutes et organiques. Quelque chose d’assez substantiel, mais jamais trop lourd ni compliqué. Le coup de main d’Ivan « Boi » Gomes à la réalisation y est d’ailleurs sans doute pour beaucoup. Gomes a un CV respectable dans le domaine de la « nova MPB », la nouvelle génération de la música popular brasileira, prenant plus de libertés que jamais avec cette musique hybride, enracinée mais cosmopolite, qui a suivi la bossa nova.

La personnalité de Tenório transparaît dans sa prestation sympathique et décontractée et dans la poésie simple mais efficace de ses paroles. Un bon exemple est le troisième extrait accrocheur Se Juntou, agréablement foisonnant. Massa Crítica de son côté rend compte des contrecoups de l’élection de Bolsonaro. Le moral est à plat, mais pas brisé. « Quando forma multidão é força mística » (Quand la formation d’une foule est une force mystique) répète avec sérieux le chanteur invité São Yantó.

À noter que le père de Tenório, Carlos Balla, un batteur qui a travaillé avec Djavan et Gal Costa, joue ici sur deux morceaux… tout en gardant un œil sur son fiston.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre