×
Country : United States Label : Thrill Jockey Genres and styles : Ambient / Electronic Year : 2020
Sam Prekop

Comma

· by Steve Naud

One of the key players in Chicago’s music scene, Sam Prekop is one of three members of the post-rock band The Sea and Cake. With Old Punch Card, his third solo album released about ten years ago, his own music took a decidedly electronic turn. Always giving pride of place to the modular synthesizers that he seems so fond of, Comma doesn’t see him branching off from this direction.

As the instruments Prekop uses are mainly good old analog keyboards, comparisons with the pioneers of electro come to mind. One thinks – obviously – of Kraftwerk, but also of Cluster and Yellow Magic Orchestra. The more atmospheric passages remind us of Brian Eno. Especially the beautiful “September Remember”. The exquisite synthetic vignettes that follow one another on Comma have very little to do with what’s going on in the electro vein at the moment. In fact, like the Scottish band Boards of Canada before him, the magician Prekop manages to touch on something more timeless.

With Comma, the veteran doesn’t just go back over the ideas he put forward on his previous albums. The addition of a drum machine and Roland SH-101 keyboard to his hardware allows him to take a new approach that focuses more on rhythm and melody. As a result, the album is less abstract than his previous works. The journey he takes us on is no less captivating.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Thrill Jockey Genres et styles : ambient / électronique Année : 2020
Sam Prekop

Comma

· par Steve Naud

Un des joueurs clés de la scène musicale de Chicago, Sam Prekop est un des trois membres de la formation post-rock The Sea and Cake. Avec Old Punch Card, son troisième album en solo publié il y a une dizaine d’années, sa musique en cavalier seul avait pris un tournant résolument électronique. Faisant toujours la part belle aux synthétiseurs modulaires qu’il semble tant affectionner, Comma ne le voit pas bifurquer de cette voie.

Comme les instruments auxquels Prekop a recours sont principalement de bons vieux claviers analogues, des comparaisons avec les pionniers de l’électro nous viennent à l’esprit. On pense – évidemment – à Kraftwerk, mais aussi à Cluster et à Yellow Magic Orchestra.  Les passages plus atmosphériques nous rappellent, quant à eux, Brian Eno. Surtout la très belle September Remember. Les exquises vignettes synthétiques qui se succèdent sur Comma ont bien peu à voir avec ce qui se fait dans la veine électro en ce moment. En fait, comme les Écossais de Boards of Canada avant lui, le magicien Prekop réussi à toucher à quelque chose de plus intemporel.

Avec Comma, le vieux routier ne se contente pas de ressasser les idées qu’il avait mises de l’avant sur ses opus précédents. L’ajout d’une boîte à rythme et d’un clavier Roland SH-101 à sa quincaillerie lui permet d’adopter une nouvelle approche plus axée sur le rythme et les mélodies. L’album est conséquemment moins abstrait que ses précédents. Le voyage qu’il nous fait faire n’en est pas moins captivant.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre