×
Country : United Kingdom Label : Dubmission Genres and styles : Dub Reggae / Reggae Year : 2020
Gaudi

100 Years of Theremin (The Dub Chapter)

· by Rupert Bottenberg

2020 marks the centenary of the Leon Theremin’s intriguing electrophonic instrument, an authentically “ethereal” side-product of Soviet research into proximity sensors. An obscurity to this day, associated mostly with old science fiction movies, it does still have its determined devotees.

2020 also marks four decades, minus a year, since the young Bolognese Daniele Gaudi took his first steps in music production, staking out territory somewhere between dub reggae, the nascent electronic dance-music movement, and what was then called worldbeat. It’s served him well – living in London since the mid-’90s, he’s a ubiquitous figure, having worked with most everyone who’s anyone in U.K. club music and beyond. 

It’s five of the biggest names in modern dub who join Gaudi for this celebration of his beloved Theremin – Mad Professor, Adrian Sherwood, The Scientist, Dennis Bovell, and Prince Fatty. The basic dub-reggae protocols aren’t challenged, only observed with competence and cleanliness. That said, the melodies are strong and memorable, notably “Dub out of Theremin”, with Adrian Sherwood, and the giddy “Smokin Dub” with Scientist.

Obviously, the Theremin is the preeminent element in each track, and Gaudi handles his with love and care, coaxing out not only the otherworldly weirdness it affords, but also the sentimental and melancholic flavours it can provide. A note of sadness for what the mechanical marvel might have been had history not swept it aside, and a note of wonder for what magic it might yet generate between two loving hands.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Royaume-Uni Label : Dubmission Genres et styles : dub reggae / reggae Année : 2020
Gaudi

100 Years of Theremin (The Dub Chapter)

· par Rupert Bottenberg

L’année 2020 marque le centenaire de l’intrigant instrument électrophonique de Léon Thérémine, produit « éthéré » de la recherche soviétique sur les capteurs de proximité. Demeuré obscur et surtout associé à de vieux films de science-fiction, cet instrument a toujours ses ardents défenseurs.

L’année 2020 marque également les quarante ans de carrière, moins un an, du Bolognais Daniele Gaudi depuis qu’il a fait ses premières armes dans l’univers de la production musicale, se situant à la croisée du dub reggae, du mouvement naissant de la musique de danse électronique et de ce qu’on appelait alors le worldbeat, ce qui lui a bien servi. Installé à Londres depuis le milieu des années 90, il y est une figure très active, qui a travaillé avec à peu près tout le monde de la scène musicale des clubs britanniques.

Cinq des plus grands noms du dub moderne se joignent à Gaudi pour célébrer son thérémine bien-aimé : Mad Professor, Adrian Sherwood, The Scientist, Dennis Bovell et Prince Fatty. Rien des fondements du dub-reggae n’est remis en question ici, ceux-ci sont au contraire observés de façon scrupuleuse et compétente. Cela dit, les mélodies sont fortes et mémorables, notamment Dub out of Theremin, avec Adrian Sherwood, et le vertigineux Smokin Dub avec The Scientist.

Bien entendu, le thérémine est l’élément dominant dans chaque morceau, et Gaudi en joue avec amour et application, en en tirant les sonorités d’un autre monde caractéristiques, mais aussi diverses ambiances sentimentales et mélancoliques. Avec une note de tristesse pour ce que cette merveille électronique aurait pu être si elle n’avait pas été écartée par l’histoire, et une note d’émerveillement pour la magie qu’elle peut encore produire entre des mains expertes et aimantes.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre