The Pineapple Thief: Alternative facts… alternative truths… alternative prog

Interview by Alain Brunet

Versions of the Truth is the 13th album from English prog band The Pineapple Thief, which is entering its golden age after 21 years of existence. Paradoxical?

Genres and styles : Prog Rock

Additional Information

(Photo: Diana Seifert)

On September 4, 2020, The Pineapple Thief launched Versions of the Truth on the Kscope label, directed by singer and guitarist Bruce Soord, keyboardist Steve Kitch, bassist Jon Sykes, and drummer Gavin Harrison. The songs are permeated with the theme of truth in these troubled times, when alternative facts abound and daily supplant objectively demonstrable facts. Joined in England, Bruce Soord told us more.

PAN M 360: The Pineapple Thief has existed since 1999, and many prog fans hold the band in high esteem, for its songwriting qualities, and the arrival of super-drummer Gavin Harrison around 2016. In 21 years of existence, The Pineapple Thief has only performed once in Montreal, at the Corona Theatre in November 2019 – why is that?

BRUCE SOORD: For years, that was just me putting out songs and records. As time went by, we started performing in front of an audience. For years, The Pineapple Thief remained more or less confidential, but our operations grew a little bit larger with each new album release. Things really changed four years ago when drummer Gavin Harrison (King Crimson, Porcupine Tree) joined my band. Yeah, it’s been a long road, but I’m certainly not complaining.  

PAN M 360: So Harrison’s impact is considerable. How do you see his contribution to the group?

BS: When Gavin joined The Pineapple Thief, we thought we were pretty good in what we did. Then we realized we had to step up, we had to get better, so we worked really hard on our live shows. I worked hard on my voice, I got singing lessons. We just knew we had a real chance to get some success, and we just took it. When we first toured with Gavin, I observed the reaction of the audience watching him playing. I was outstaged! (laughs) Then we spent a lot of time together touring and exchanging ideas.  

Now I know Gavin Harrison as a person and as an artist, not only Gavin Harrison the world-famous drummer, bla-bla-bla. It’s quite a natural relationship we have now. On stage, Gavin is playful, he likes teasing me when I make a mistake. The Pineapple Thief has not only a great new drummer, but also a creative partner. When I write a new song, I deliberately stop and send this work to Gavin, who sends it back to me with his comments, and so on. Yeah, this relationship came to blossom.

PAN M 360: After several years of work, the levels of composition and execution have therefore been raised considerably within Pineapple Thief – can we speak of a rebirth? 

BS: Absolutely! And this Pineapple Thief revival is not just about me, but a whole group, I think it’s really important. It’s no longer the way I used to work, and it leaves less room for me as a solo artist. The new Pineapple Thief is the result of a collective work, but it’s not a committee or a democracy. You have to find the right people to associate with, and then the songs can go further if other people work on them. That’s what comes out in our new record, our performance is that of a more cohesive group.

PAN M 360: Can we even speak of a golden age for The Pineapple Thief, so long after its founding?

BS: It seems incredible to me that we are achieving worldwide success after so many years of existence. For a 21-year-old group, that’s certainly unusual. With our new album, we feel like we’re listening to a more cohesive band. It’s quite incredible that we’ve recently become a successful band all over the world. That must be pretty unusual for a 21-year-old band. I’m touching wood because it’s a great time for The Pineapple Thief. Yes, we’re taking full advantage of it, despite the pandemic. Since our North American tour is inevitably postponed, we’re going back to the studio for a project that will be released in about a year’s time. Also, I will probably record a new solo album. So we have to make the most of this situation.

PAN M 360: The Pineapple Thief is associated with prog rock style, what does that mean to you?

BS: Today, I’m more relaxed than I’ve ever been about my allegiance to progressive rock and what it represents. I’m happy to be part of a progressive rock band, but it’s such a vast territory, there are so many sub-genres, so many styles! For my part, the approach hasn’t really changed since I started: I take my guitar, a song is started. Personally, I like for a recording to hook you. For that, you need a song, you need a hook. That’s why I don’t like music that’s too technical, I don’t like to patch up songs with long instrumental sections just to call it prog.

At the same time, I don’t want to be a simple author of superficial pop songs. I want depth, I want to reveal the substance of a song. Finding the balance is a real challenge. Now I’m happy because I feel that we have found our sound. We don’t venture into progressive metal, for example, we don’t rely on shredding on the guitar. Some bands do it very well, not us. We wouldn’t be very good at it. In fact, we’re a more conventional rock band, but it’s similar to current progressive rock. That’s what I’ve been trying to perfect for 20 years of my life, creating visceral songs that connect with people.

Gavin Harrison (drums), Bruce Soord (guitar/vocals), Jon Sykes (bass/vocals), Steve Kitch (keyboards)Photo: Diana Seifert

PAN M 360: So The Pineapple Thief wouldn’t correspond to the idea of progressive rock that many fans subscribe to, would it?

BS: Progressive rock fans would see their style on top of other styles. You have to be more complex, smarter, lead the listener into more demanding areas… Personally, I’m wary of this perception of superiority, even though our style allows us to venture into any musical territory. In fact, I would remind you that we have already recorded with large string sections. I know that prog often involves crossovers with classical music, that it integrates long and complex instrumental sequences. But that’s not what we do. We have to create a good song before we package it. Of course, some of the productions on the latest album are quite atmospheric, sometimes dramatic, they also have electronic advances but… I always have to be able to play each song with an acoustic guitar. That’s the key.

PAN M 360 : Critics of prog denounce the relative immobility of the form, often bogged down in the ’70s and ’80s, how can that be escaped? What are the possible advances? 

BS: The advancement of electronic music is important to us, we’re trying to take advantage of this innovative knowledge.  As such, we can’t do much new with the forms of the ’70s, with guitar, analog keyboards, bass, drums, but that doesn’t mean we have to throw everything away. All these instruments are just tools. On this new album, in fact, I was interested in new ways of recording and treating the guitar, in the atmosphere, I wanted to make a traditional band relevant in today’s world, without falling into overproduction. 

Because we’re playing live, in the studio, I always have in mind how it’s going to work on stage. It has to be great live because Steve is going to do this on the keyboard and Gavin is going to do that on the drums, and it’s going to work. I keep adding things, trying things until everybody in the band agrees. Sometimes I’d try things that didn’t work, and then I’d come back and choose what I did originally. It’s a bit of a trial and error process to get to the song where we wanted it to be. The electronic beatmaking and the instrumental recording kind of come together.

PAN M 360 : The lyrics of Versions of the Truth were written in a troubled period for the West, to say the least, how were the themes expressed?  

BS: The title song of the album was written in October 2018. The idea for Versions of the Truth came up, a theme that seems today relevant to me given the state of the world, disinformation, social polarization, and the fragility of human relationships. It’s a very strange time, where different people’s visions of the truth confront each other. They firmly believe in their perception of reality, but this is only one version of the truth, which is why they argue, fight, break up their relationships of love or friendship. Everything is distorted, and that inspires me. There is a lot to write about.

Alternative facts… alternative truths… alternative prog.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Suoni Per Il Popolo | The Jellicle Kiki Ball

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Phi Centre | KALLITECHNIS is about sensuality and introspection

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

Montréal Baroque Fest 2024 : discover the ‘’Multiverse’’ programming

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

L’Orchestre de l’Agora, Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, Claudie Bertounesque, Richard Strauss, Élizabeth St-Gelais | Nicolas Ellis explains the Gala de la Terre

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

Bell Orchestre becomes immersive and interactive, House Music becomes Sound House at SAT

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

The Pineapple Thief : Faits alternatifs… vérités alternatives… prog alternatif

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Versions of the Truth est le 13e album du groupe prog The Pineapple Thief, qui vit son âge d’or après 21 ans d’existence. Paradoxal? Lisez notre interview !

Genres et styles : rock prog

renseignements supplémentaires

(Crédit photo : Diana Seifert)

Ce 4 septembre 2020, The Pineapple Thief lance Versions of the Truth sous étiquette Kscope, réalisé par le chanteur et guitariste Bruce Soord, le claviériste Steve Kitch, le bassiste Jon Sykes et le batteur Gavin Harrison. Les chansons sont traversées par le thème de la vérité en cette époque trouble où les faits alternatifs pullulent et supplantent quotidiennement les faits objectivement démontrables. Joint en Angleterre, Bruce Soord nous en cause.

PAN M 360 : La formation Pineapple Thief existe depuis 1999, moult fans de prog portent ce groupe en haute estime pour ses qualités chansonnières et la venue du superbatteur Gavin Harrison vers 2016. En 21 ans d’existence, le groupe britannique ne s’est produit qu’une seule fois à Montréal, soit au Théâtre Corona en novembre 2019, pourquoi donc ?

BRUCE SOORD : « Pendant des années, j’étais seul à créer les chansons et les albums du groupe. Au fil du temps, nous avons commencé à nous produire devant public. Pendant des années, The Pineapple Thief est resté plus ou moins confidentiel mais nos opérations ont pris un peu plus d’ampleur à chaque nouvelle sortie d’album. Les choses ont vraiment changé il y a quatre ans, lorsque le batteur Gavin Harrison (King Crimson, Porcupine Tree) s’est joint au groupe. Oui, la route a été longue, mais je ne m’en plains pas. »  

PAN M 360 : L’impact de Gavin Harrison est donc considérable, comment voyez-vous son apport au sein du groupe ?

BS : « Quand Gavin a joint The Pineapple Thief, nous pensions que nous étions plutôt bons dans ce que nous faisions… puis nous avons réalisé qu’il fallait vraiment nous améliorer. Nous avons dû travailler très dur sur nos spectacles. J’ai cherché à améliorer ma voix, j’ai pris des cours de chant. Nous savions que nous avions une vraie chance de réussir et nous l’avons saisie. Quand nous avons fait notre première tournée avec Gavin, j’ai observé la réaction du public qui le regardait jouer. Il m’éclipsait complètement ! (rires) Par la suite, nous avons passé beaucoup de temps ensemble en tourner à échanger des idées. 

« Maintenant, je connais Gavin Harrison en tant que personne et en tant qu’artiste, pas seulement Gavin Harrison le célèbre batteur blablabla. Nous avons une relation tout à fait naturelle maintenant. Sur scène, il est enjoué, il aime même me taquiner quand je me trompe… The Pineapple Thief peut non seulement compter sur un nouveau et formidable batteur mais aussi sur un partenaire de création. Lorsque j’écris une nouvelle chanson, je m’arrête délibérément pour en faire part à Gavin, qui me transmet alors ses commentaires et ainsi de suite. C’est une relation qui a vraiment porté fruit. »

PAN M 360 : Après plusieurs années de travail, les niveaux de composition et d’exécution ont donc été rehaussés considérablement au sein de Pineapple Thief, peut-on parler d’une renaissance ? 

BS : « Absolument ! Cette renaissance de Pineapple Thief ne concerne pas que moi, mais tout le groupe, et je crois que c’est vraiment important. On ne travaille plus de la même façon qu’auparavant et cela me laisse moins de place pour moi en tant qu’artiste solo. Le nouveau Pineapple Thief est le résultat d’un travail collectif, mais ce n’est pas un comité ou une démocratie pour autant. Il faut trouver les bonnes personnes avec qui s’associer, les chansons peuvent alors être poussées plus loin si d’autres personnes y travaillent. C’est ce qui ressort de notre nouveau disque, notre performance est celle d’un groupe plus cohérent. »

PAN M 360 : Peut-on même parler d’un âge d’or pour The Pineapple Thief, aussi longtemps après sa fondation ?

BS : « Ça me semble incroyable que nous obtenions un succès international après tant d’années d’existence. Pour un groupe de 21 ans, c’est assurément inhabituel. Avec ce nouvel album, on sent que le groupe est plus homogène. C’est assez incroyable que nous soyons devenus tout récemment un groupe à succès dans le monde entier. Cela doit être assez inhabituel pour un groupe de 21 ans. Je touche du bois car c’est une grande période pour The Pineapple Thief. Oui, nous en profitons pleinement, malgré la pandémie. Puisque notre tournée nord-américaine a forcément été reportée, nous retournons en studio pour un projet qui sortira dans un an environ. Je vais probablement enregistrer un nouvel album solo également. Il faut profiter au maximum de la situation. » 

PAN M 360 : The Pineapple Thief est associé au style prog rock, qu’est-ce que ça signifie pour vous ?

BS : « Aujourd’hui, je suis plus relax en ce qui concerne mon allégeance au rock progressif et ce que ce genre représente. Je suis heureux de faire partie d’un groupe de rock progressif, mais c’est un territoire tellement vaste, il y a tant de sous-genres et de styles ! Pour ma part, l’approche n’a pas vraiment changé depuis mes débuts : je prends ma guitare, je mets une chanson en chantier. Personnellement, j’aime qu’un enregistrement me mobilise. Ça prend une chanson, une accroche. C’est pourquoi je n’aime pas les musiques trop techniques, je n’aime pas ajouter aux chansons de longues sections instrumentales juste pour que ça fasse prog. 

« En même temps, je ne veux pas être un simple auteur de chansons pop superficielles. Je veux de la profondeur, je veux qu’il y ait de la substance dans les chansons. Trouver l’équilibre est un vrai défi. Maintenant, je suis heureux parce que je sens que nous avons trouvé notre son; nous ne nous aventurons pas dans le métal progressif, par exemple, nous ne misons pas sur le shredding à la guitare. Certains groupes le font très bien, pas nous. Nous ne serions pas très doués pour cela. En fait, nous sommes un groupe rock plus conventionnel, mais qui s’apparente au rock progressif actuel. C’est ce que j’essaie de perfectionner depuis 20 ans, en concevant des chansons qui créent un lien viscéral avec les gens. »

Gavin Harrison (batterie), Bruce Soord (guitare/voix), Jon Sykes (basse/voix), Steve Kitch (claviers). Crédit photo : Diana Seifert

PAN M 360 : The Pineapple Thief ne correspondrait donc pas à l’idée d’un rock progressif auquel plusieurs fans souscrivent, n’est-ce pas ?

BRUCE SOORD : « Les fans de rock progressif verraient leur style comme supérieur aux autres. Il faut être plus complexe, plus intelligent, amener l’auditeur dans des territoires plus exigeants. Personnellement, je me méfie de cette perception de supériorité, même si notre style nous permet de nous aventurer dans n’importe quel territoire musical. Je rappelle d’ailleurs que nous avons déjà enregistré avec d’importantes sections de cordes. Je sais que le prog implique souvent des croisements avec la musique classique, qu’il intègre des séquences instrumentales longues et complexes. Or, ce n’est pas ce que nous faisons. Nous devons créer une bonne chanson avant de l’emballer. Bien sûr, certaines des productions du dernier album sont assez atmosphériques, parfois dramatiques, elles comportent aussi des avancées électroniques mais…  Il faut que je puisse toujours jouer toutes les chansons avec une guitare acoustique. C’est la clé. »

PAN M 360 : Les détracteurs du prog dénoncent l’immobilisme relatif de la forme prog, souvent enlisée dans les années 70 et 80, comment y échapper ? Quelles sont les avancées possibles ? 

BS : « L’avancement de la musique électronique est important pour nous, nous essayons de tirer parti de ces innovations. À ce titre, nous ne pouvons pas faire grand-chose de neuf avec les formes des années 70, avec guitare, claviers analogiques, basse et batterie, mais cela ne veut pas dire qu’il faille tout jeter. Tous ces instruments ne sont que des outils. Dans ce nouvel album, en fait, je me suis intéressé à de nouvelles façons d’enregistrer et de traiter la guitare, à l’atmosphère, j’ai voulu faire en sorte qu’un groupe « traditionnel » soit pertinent dans le monde d’aujourd’hui, sans succomber à la surproduction. 

« Parce qu’en studio nous enregistrons live, je me demande toujours de quelle façon nous allons nous y prendre sur scène. Ça doit aussi être super en live parce que Steve va faire ceci au clavier et Gavin va faire cela à la batterie, et ça va marcher. Je continue à ajouter, à essayer des choses, jusqu’à ce que tout le monde soit d’accord dans le groupe. Parfois, quand j’essayais des choses qui ne fonctionnaient pas, je revenais à ce que j’avais fait au départ. C’est un peu un processus d’essais et erreurs pour arriver au résultat escompté. Le beatmaking électronique et l’enregistrement instrumental se rejoignent en quelque sorte. »

PAN M 360 : Les textes de Versions Of The Truth ont été écrits dans une période pour le moins trouble de l’Occident, comment les thèmes ont-ils été déclinés ? 

BS : « La chanson-titre de l’album a été écrite en octobre 2018. C’est alors qu’est venue cette idée de Versions of The Truth, une thématique qui me semble très pertinente aujourd’hui en raison de l’état du monde, de la désinformation, de la polarisation sociale, de la fragilité des relations humaines. C’est une époque très étrange, s’y affrontent différentes visions que les gens se font de la vérité. Ils croient fermement en leur perception de la réalité, mais il ne s’agit que d’une des versions de la vérité, c’est pourquoi ils se disputent, se chamaillent, se brouillent avec leur amoureux ou leur amoureuse, leurs amis. Tout est déformé et cela m’inspire. Il y a beaucoup à écrire sur ce sujet. »

Faits alternatifs… vérités alternatives… prog alternatif.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre