Mauvey: Gotta Keep Mauving

Interview by Elsa Fortant
Genres and styles : Soul/R&B

Additional Information

Whether through literature, music, or images, Mauvay is a storyteller of universal stories about love. Usually accompanied by his musicians, he will be alone on stage for his Montreal premiere as part of M for Montreal. The creator proposes a cinematic experience, mixing music, light, and image. In addition to the songs that made him popular, he will perform live exclusives and a selection of pieces from his next album to be released next year.

PAN M 360: You were born in Ghana and you grew up between the UK and Canada; How did those places shape you as a person, an artist and how did it shape your music?

Mauvey: That’s a really good question, I mean firstly it has really founded my music taste because I was exposed to afrobeat, 90’s R&B, soul music… just being able to experience different kinds of music is really valuable. Also just trying to figure out my place was the most difficult part, because other than Ghana, everywhere I’ve been I’m so different. I went to England being the only black person when I went to Canada just feeling different because you’re English, on top of that you are black. The journey of trying to fit in is why now my music stands out, at a certain point I was tired of trying to fit in and I just went to be me.


PAN M 360: Before writing music, you were writing novels and short stories, how did your creative process evolve from writing literature to music?

Mauvay: For me, they are all stories, whether it’s a novel, a feature film, or a song. The difference is a story that takes three minutes, a novel is longer, I approach the story the same. When you need to get to the top and descend to the end, how far is the distance? I started writing poems and then short stories and then essays, novels… so it was an easy transition to songwriting because I have got the accompaniment of melody which makes telling a story easier. When you have a melody that it’s compelling it makes writing the words easier.

PAN M 360: Music clips are also another way to tell stories, are you involved in some way in the creation of your music videos?

Mauvay: I actually directed the short films that will be released on Friday, I wrote the story, co-directed the film with a company called Amazing Factory based in Vancouver. It’s very much the same thing, being able to tell a visual story is really fun and the most exciting thing to me right now.

PAN M 360: On YouTube I saw you launched “9 days of flower”, an initiative to connect to members of your audiences, can you tell me more about it?

Mauvay: I just wanted to say thank you and celebrate the people who celebrated me. People who helped me, the first single that was released was “9” so it’s nine days of flower. I went to people’s houses, said thank you and give them flowers. My purpose in doing this is to distribute love. One of the easiest ways is to distribute flowers, you get a smile, you get happiness.

PAN M 360: Can you tell me more about the Florist Film Series you created, did the “9 days of flowers” inspire you in any way?

Mauvey: Actually I wrote the Florist Film Series a couple of years ago. The character I created years ago and was the inspiration to go deliver flowers. Inspiration came for me that if in another life if we got paid the same for every job and I could just pick what I wanted to do, I would probably be a delivery man, it’s a really easy way to make people happy. That was my initial thought and I wrote the story of the Florist and I turned it into a film series.

PAN M 360: The character you created, the Florist, seems inspired by silent movies, comedy especially, I feel a bit of a Buster Keaton vibe… a mix of sadness, funny, and uplifting.

Mauvey: I love and I’m very inspired by silent films. This is something that maybe has nothing really to do with the Florist but there is a silent film called The Snowman and it plays every Christmas, it’s like a cartoon but the idea of trying to convey emotions without words, really inspires me, it’s actually more emotional. Of course, you listen to the music but if you are really looking at the images, the stories are quite heartbreaking, trying to explain different avenues of love and it’s quite emotional. I have got a lot of inspiration just in my life in general but there’s a few references to the Neverland world in the films. Other than that truly, all the characters are me in different ways and that’s why I play them, they reflect my real life.

PAN M 360: When we look at your EP covers, we can easily see the color mauve grew on you, going from details to full-on, does it reflect growing confidence in your music or in your personality as an artist?

Mauvey: The color mauve, obviously it’s my name Mauvey. I love all shades of purple and when I found this shade of mauve, it was the hardest for me to define. It’s a bit purple, a bit blue, a bit silver, a bit pink, a bit grey and when you would look at my music, it’s a bit pop, cinematic, hip-hop… that’s kind of why I connected to that color. I made a commitment, whenever I perform, it’s all mauve, I want people to see that color in a store, in nature and they think of me.

PAN M 360: What can you tell us about the music scene in Vancouver?

Mauvey: There is an incredible amount of talent here. It’s a phenomenal place for creation with the mountains, the water, the forest. The scene is very competitive but at the same time, I can say that I found some of my peers and we are working to support each other.

PAN M 360: What about your musicians, are they from here?

Mauvay: If I’m in Europe I will tour with the same band and when I’m here I will play with the same band. When I come to Montreal or even Toronto, I’m actually be playing by myself. With help from my producer we created a cinematic show, it’s just me performing. It’s a bit scarier to be on stage by yourself but I’m really excited to explore that as well. It’s a different type of energy when you are by yourself. I have included unreleased songs, sneak peeks of my album that will be out next year, songs that only play live and may never be recorded. It’s an occasion to showcase the different genres I explore.

Mauvey will play M pour Montréal on Friday, November 19th, from 8 to 11 p.m., with Jaywood and Naya Ali at La SAT.

Photo credit: Bree Ross Laryea



Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Mauvey : la couleur des sentiments

Interview réalisé par Elsa Fortant
Genres et styles : soul/R&B

renseignements supplémentaires

Que ce soit par le biais de la littérature, de la musique ou de l’image, Mauvay est un conteur d’histoires universelles ayant pour objet l’amour. Habituellement accompagné de ses musiciens, il sera, pour sa première montréalaise dans le cadre de M pour Montréal, seul sur scène. Le créateur propose une expérience cinématique, mêlant musique, lumière et image. En plus des morceaux qui l’ont fait connaître, il interprétera des exclusivités live et une sélection de pièces issues de son prochain album à sortir l’an prochain.

PAN M 360 : Vous êtes né au Ghana et vous avez grandi entre le Royaume-Uni et le Canada; comment ces endroits vous ont-ils façonné en tant que personne et artiste, et comment ont-ils façonné votre musique?

Mauvey : C’est une très bonne question, je veux dire d’abord que cela a vraiment fondé mes goûts musicaux parce que j’ai été exposé à l’afrobeat, au R&B des années 90, à la soul music… le fait de pouvoir expérimenter différents types de musique est vraiment précieux. La partie la plus difficile a été d’essayer de trouver ma place, parce qu’à part le Ghana, partout où je suis allée, j’étais si différente. En Angleterre, j’étais la seule personne noire, au Canada, je me sentais différente parce que j’étais anglaise et que j’étais noire en plus. Le voyage pour essayer de s’intégrer est la raison pour laquelle ma musique se démarque maintenant, à un certain moment j’étais fatigué d’essayer de m’intégrer et j’ai juste été pour être moi.

PAN M 360 : Avant d’écrire de la musique, vous écriviez des romans et des nouvelles, comment votre processus créatif a-t-il évolué de l’écriture littéraire à la musique?

Mauvay : Pour moi, ce sont toutes des histoires, que ce soit un roman, un long métrage ou une chanson. La différence est qu’une histoire dure trois minutes, un roman est plus long, mais j’aborde l’histoire de la même manière. Quand vous devez arriver au sommet et descendre jusqu’à la fin, quelle est la distance? J’ai commencé à écrire des poèmes, puis des nouvelles, puis des essais, des romans… La transition vers l’écriture de chansons a donc été facile, car j’ai l’accompagnement d’une mélodie qui facilite le récit d’une histoire. Lorsque vous avez une mélodie qui est convaincante, il est plus facile d’écrire les mots.

PAN M 360 : Les clips musicaux sont aussi un autre moyen de raconter des histoires, êtes-vous impliqué d’une manière ou d’une autre dans la création de vos vidéos musicales?

Mauvay : J’ai réalisé les courts métrages qui sortiront vendredi, j’ai écrit l’histoire, codirigé le film avec une société appelée Amazing Factory basée à Vancouver. C’est à peu près la même chose, être capable de raconter une histoire visuelle est vraiment amusant et la chose la plus excitante pour moi en ce moment.

PAN M 360 : Sur YouTube, j’ai vu que vous aviez lancé 9 days of flower, une initiative pour vous connecter aux membres de votre public, pouvez-vous m’en dire plus?

Mauvay : Je voulais juste dire merci et célébrer les gens qui m’ont célébré. Les gens qui m’ont aidé, le premier simple qui est sorti était 9 donc c’est neuf jours de fleur. Je suis allé chez les gens, je leur ai dit merci et je leur ai donné des fleurs. Mon but en faisant ça est de distribuer de l’amour. L’un des moyens les plus faciles est de distribuer des fleurs, vous obtenez un sourire, vous obtenez du bonheur.

PAN M 360 : Pouvez-vous m’en dire plus sur The Florist Film Series que vous avez créée, les 9 jours des fleurs vous ont-ils inspiré?

En fait, j’ai écrit la série de films sur les fleuristes il y a quelques années. Le personnage que j’ai créé il y a des années a été l’inspiration pour aller livrer des fleurs. L’inspiration m’est venue du fait que si, dans une autre vie, nous étions payés de la même façon pour chaque travail et que je pouvais choisir ce que je voulais faire, je serais probablement livreur, c’est un moyen très facile de rendre les gens heureux. C’était ma pensée initiale et j’ai écrit l’histoire du Fleuriste et je l’ai transformée en série de films.

PAN M 360 : Le personnage que vous avez créé, The Florist, semble inspiré des films muets, de la comédie en particulier, je sens un peu la vibe de Buster Keaton… un mélange de tristesse, de drôlerie et d’élévation.

Mauvey : J’aime et je suis très inspiré par les films muets. C’est quelque chose qui n’a peut-être rien à voir avec le Florist, mais il y a un film muet qui s’appelle The Snowman et qui passe tous les ans à Noël, c’est comme un dessin animé, mais l’idée d’essayer de transmettre des émotions sans mots m’inspire vraiment, c’est en fait plus émotionnel. Bien sûr, vous écoutez la musique, mais si vous regardez vraiment les images, les histoires sont assez déchirantes, elles tentent d’expliquer les différentes voies de l’amour et c’est assez émouvant. Je m’inspire beaucoup de ma vie en général, mais il y a quelques références au monde de Neverland dans les films. En dehors de cela, tous les personnages sont moi à différents égards et c’est pourquoi je les joue, ils reflètent ma vie réelle.


PAN M 360 : Quand on regarde les pochettes de vos EP, on peut facilement voir que la couleur mauve s’est développée sur vous, passant du détail à l’ensemble, cela reflète-t-il une confiance croissante dans votre musique ou dans votre personnalité en tant qu’artiste?

Mauvey : La couleur mauve, évidemment c’est mon nom Mauvey. J’aime toutes les nuances de violet et quand j’ai trouvé cette nuance de mauve, c’était la plus difficile à définir pour moi. C’est un peu violet, un peu bleu, un peu argenté, un peu rose, un peu gris et quand vous regardez ma musique, c’est un peu pop, cinématographique, hip-hop… c’est un peu pour ça que je me suis connecté à cette couleur. J’ai pris un engagement, chaque fois que je me produis, tout est mauve, je veux que les gens voient cette couleur dans un magasin, dans la nature et qu’ils pensent à moi.

PAN M 360 : Que pouvez-vous nous dire sur la scène musicale de Vancouver?

Il y a une quantité incroyable de talents ici. C’est un endroit phénoménal pour la création avec les montagnes, l’eau, la forêt. La scène est très compétitive, mais en même temps je peux dire que j’ai trouvé certains de mes pairs et nous travaillons pour nous soutenir mutuellement.

PAN M 360 : Et vos musiciens, sont-ils d’ici?

Mauvay : Si je suis en Europe, je tourne avec le même groupe et quand je suis ici, je joue avec le même groupe. Quand je viens à Montréal ou même à Toronto, je joue tout seul. Avec l’aide de mon producteur, nous avons créé un spectacle cinématographique, il n’y a que moi qui joue. C’est un peu plus effrayant d’être seul sur scène, mais j’ai vraiment envie d’explorer cette possibilité. C’est un type d’énergie différent lorsque vous êtes seul. J’ai inclus des chansons inédites, des avant-goûts de mon album qui sortira l’année prochaine, des chansons qui ne sont jouées que sur scène et qui ne seront peut-être jamais enregistrées. C’est l’occasion de montrer les différents genres que j’explore.

Mauvey sera à M pour Montréal le vendredi 19 novembre, de 20 h à 23 h, avec Jaywood et Naya Ali, à la SAT.

Photo : Bree Ross Laryea



Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre