Fanny: Knocking Over Cock Rock

Interview by Patrick Baillargeon
Genres and styles : Hard Rock / Rock

Additional Information

Fanny is the unique story of sisters June and Jean Millington, born in Manila to a Filipina mother and an American military father, who ended up in California where they embraced their passion for music, forming small bands with girlfriends and eventually founding Fanny in 1969. The first all-female rock band to release a full-length album on a major label, Fanny was also the first such band to compete musically with their male peers, proving that girls could rock as well as, if not better than, boys—a major influence on bands such as the Runaways, the Bangles and many others. 

Between 1970 and 1974, Fanny released five albums before dropping off the radar, just after scoring their biggest hit, “Butter Boy”, a song about David Bowie that peaked at #29 on the Billboard Hot 100 rock chart in 1975. As the Thin White Duke, with whom Jean Millington had a brief affair before marrying his guitarist Earl Slick, put it, “They were extraordinary: they wrote everything, they played like motherfuckers, they were just colossal and wonderful, and nobody’s ever mentioned them. They’re as important as anybody else who’s ever been, ever. It just wasn’t their time.”

But in recent years, it seems that their time has finally come, a rehabilitation and recognition due in large part to all those old concert clips circulating on YouTube, and the digital accessibility of their material, not so easy to find on wax.

The documentary The Right to Rock, which tells the story of the band’s unfinished dream, will be presented at the 20th edition of Pop Montreal. Montreal director Bobbi Jo Hart’s film should help to further build the band’s reputation, and shed light on their little-known journey. “Revivify Fanny. And my work is done,” added Bowie…

As a complement to the screening, the guitarist and co-founder of Fanny, June Millington, will be on hand to present the film, and then join incandescent rockers  NOBRO on stage to play some of the key songs of the mythical Californian band, recently reunited under the name Fanny Walked The Earth but unfortunately hindered by the health problems of the Millington sisters.  

Recovering well from a battle with cancer, guitarist June Millington recently gave PAN M 360 an interview in which she talks about Fanny’s journey and her involvement with young women musicians through the Institute for the Musical Arts, which she co-founded with her partner in 1986.

PAN M 360: Fanny recently returned to the fold, releasing the album Fanny Walked The Earth in 2018. Following this reunion, to which all former members were invited, there was a notable absence of keyboardist and vocalist Nickey Barclay, who was an important musician in the band at the time. 

June Millington: She doesn’t want to be in public. I never really knew her real well, I must say. She doesn’t want to be involved in anything we do so, that’s it. You know, when we played at the Outfest in L.A. a few weeks ago, I didn’t miss her at all. The core part of the music really stands, whether or not Nickey plays. We proved that to my satisfaction. We proved it in LA, just feeling the music as it is. And I really like that. It’s just as powerful, because the songs are really good. The way we play them, there is a certain attack, a certain power. 

PAN M 360: Actually, the core of the band was originally Brie Howard [also known as Brie Brandt, Brie Darling and Brie Berry, and also a Filipina-American), Jean and you. Then Brie left and was replaced on the drums by Alice De Buhr. Then Nickey Barclay was added on keyboards and vocals for the release of your first album, Fanny, in 1970. So Nickey wasn’t around when you started.

June Millington: Jean and I started our first band when we were in high school in late ’64, called The Svelts, and both Alice and Brie were in it at different times. Essentially, we learned how to play and we learned how to manage our own equipment before we got to L.A. I always tell people that if you want to understand Fanny, you have to understand The Svelts. The Svelts had it all essentially, no matter who was in it. The Svelts had the core of how we attacked the music. We were really fierce, but we developped that before we got to L.A. and played the Troubadour where we were spotted by producer Richard Perry’s secretary. That’s why we got signed with Richard Perry; you could feel that fierceness, you could feel it getting ready to explode in another way. Then Richard taught us how to record and write songs, and he taught us well. You could hear everything on our records, all our parts. Before that we didn’t know how to record and that’s why there aren’t any real good recordings of The Svelts. Before we got to L.A., our sound was very contained, we were learning the music, we were playing at dances. We weren’t trying to blow people’s minds because it wasn’t the right time for that. But after a while, here I was, jamming with Lowell George and Skunk Baxter and all these masters of sound. We would all play together and develop what is now known as classic rock. Of course others were developing that sound as well, but we were all part of a big piece. By the time 1970 came and we released our own music, a little bit of people opened up to what we were doing, little bit by little bit.

PAN M 360: You mentioned the word fierceness… Would you say that part of that strength comes from the fact that you and your sister, being Filipina-American, had to fight to fit in and be respected when you came to live in the U.S. and had to deal with racism? Perhaps your sexual orientation also gave you that willingness to fight for acceptance at that time?

June Millington: I became aware of my sexual orientation a little bit later, at around 20 years old, I would say. Before that I was way too young and shy to do anything with another woman. That strength, I developed it later, after The Svelts. But I think you can say that this strength that Jean and I have is perhaps unique to all Filipinos; they have an incredible sense of music and they are very talented. But most of all, I think that this strength we had in us, Jean and me, we felt it, it was very strong. We decided to form a band because her boyfriend was playing in a surf band. I let you imagine how far back we go. So we met two other girls who played guitar and we started a band. We must have been 15 or 16 years old. We got gigs but the boys wouldn’t let us play on their instruments, so we managed to get our own gear. Then we had to get shows. The Vietnam war wasn’t so bad for us because it allowed us to play at several Army bases. We played for the soldiers, it was pretty amazing. And then the teen clubs came along. We played a lot of shows there, around 1967. And then shows in junior high schools, high schools, clubs. That’s what made us strong, that was our training, the hard way. And you know what else gives me some of that energy? The smell of Fender tube amps. When I smell that, I get excited, I know it’s gonna happen and it’s going to be loud. I think Jean and I were born to do this. 

PAN M 360: You’ve said that after your concerts, girls often came to you to ask you how to form a band. What did you tell them?

June Millington: First, to be very disciplined. If it doesn’t work out one night, if you mess up in a show, you have to have the strength to get back up and keep going. It takes guts and the strength to persevere. You can have a lot of talent but no courage. You have to know how to pick yourself up and keep going and keep learning. You have to rehearse a lot and do a lot of shows. You have to do that. It takes a lot of time and effort. It takes dedication. 

PAN M 360: You are very involved with the women’s music movement, you have produced many albums for female musicians, with your partner you operate the Institute for the Musical Arts, a rock camp for young girls and teenagers… In short, you have long been at the forefront of women’s struggles in the music world. Would you say that the situation has evolved a lot for women in the rock and pop genres?

June Millington: Women are much more visible than they used to be, that’s for sure. They are free to create whatever they want, in many different styles. It’s not unusual for a group of women to get visibility. It’s not unusual for a women’s band to be visible. But a women’s band having a string of successes as big as those of men’s bands like the Stones, the Beatles, Led Zeppelin and so many others, that still hasn’t happened as far as I know, and that’s what I’m waiting for. I’m not talking about solo singers like all those R&B divas or pop stars, I’m talking about groups. There have been bands, but they’ve had limited success, there’s been no real consistency, nothing like the giants of rock. Who will make it? I don’t know… 

Film POP and Rock Camp present Fanny: The Right To Rock With a performance by NOBRO and Fanny L’Entrepôt 77  $12 in advance only

(photo principale: Michael Putland)

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Fanny choque le cock rock

Interview réalisé par Patrick Baillargeon
Genres et styles : hard rock / rock

renseignements supplémentaires

Fanny, c’est l’histoire assez unique des sœurs June et Jean Millington, nées à Manille d’une mère philippine et d’un père militaire américain, qui se sont retrouvées en Californie où elles ont embrassé leur passion pour la musique, montant des petits groupes avec des copines pour ultimement fonder Fanny en 1969. Premier groupe rock féminin à avoir fait paraître un album complet sur un major, Fanny est surtout le premier groupe féminin capable de rivaliser musicalement avec ses pairs masculins, démontrant que les filles pouvaient aussi bien, sinon mieux, rocker que les garçons; une influence majeure pour des groupes tels que les Runaways, les Bangles et plusieurs autres.

Entre 1970 et 1974, Fanny a fait paraître 5 albums avant de se saborder et disparaître des écrans radar, juste après avoir pondu son plus grand succès, Butter Boy, une chanson à propos de David Bowie qui a atteint la 29e place du palmarès rock de Billboard Hot 100 en 1975. Comme l’a dit le Thin White Duke, avec qui d’ailleurs Jean Millington a eu une brève liaison avant de marier son guitariste Earl Slick, « They were extraordinary: they wrote everything, they played like motherfuckers, they were just colossal and wonderful, and nobody’s ever mentioned them. They’re as important as anybody else who’s ever been, ever; it just wasn’t their time. ».

Mais, depuis quelques années, il semble que leur temps soit enfin venu, une réhabilitation et une reconnaissance dû en grande partie à tous ces anciens extraits de concerts circulant sur Youtube (une visite du très complet site du groupe au www.fannyrocks.com est aussi suggérée) et à l’accessibilité de leur matériel numérique, autrement plus difficile à trouver sur disque.

Le documentaire The Right to Rock, qui relate l’aventure de la bande et de son rêve inachevé, sera présenté à la 20e édition de Pop Montréal. Le film de la réalisatrice montréalaise Bobbi Jo Hart devrait aider à mousser davantage la réputation du groupe et jeter un regard plus éclairé sur son parcours méconnu. « Revivify Fanny. And my work is done », de rajouter Bowie…

En complément à la projection, la guitariste et co-fondatrice de Fanny, June Millington, viendra présenter le film pour ensuite accompagner sur scène les incandescentes rockeuses de NOBRO et interpréter quelques uns des morceaux phares de la mythique formation californienne, réunie depuis peu sous le nom Fanny Walked The Earth mais malheureusement freinée dans son élan par les soucis de santé des soeurs Millington.

Semblant bien remise d’une bagarre contre le cancer, la guitariste June Millington nous a accordé récemment une entrevue dans laquelle elle revient sur le parcours de Fanny ainsi que sur son implication auprès des jeunes musiciennes par le biais de l’Institute for the Musical Arts, qu’elle a co-fondé avec sa conjointe en 1986.

PAN M 360 : Fanny a récemment repris du service, faisant paraître l’album Fanny Walked The Earth en 2018. Suite à cette réunion, à laquelle toutes les anciennes membres ont été conviées, on a pu noter l’absence notable de la claviériste et chanteuse Nickey Barclay, qui était une musicienne tout de même importante dans le groupe à l’époque.

June Millington : Elle ne veut pas être en public. Je ne l’ai jamais vraiment bien connue, je dois dire. Elle ne veut pas être impliquée dans ce que nous faisons, alors c’est comme ça. Tu sais quand on a joué à l’Outfest de L.A. il y a quelques semaines, elle ne m’a pas manqué du tout. Notre musique se tient vraiment, que Nickey joue ou non. Nous l’avons prouvé, à ma grande satisfaction. On l’a prouvé à Los Angeles, en ressentant la musique telle qu’elle est. Et j’aime vraiment ça. C’est tout aussi puissant, parce que les chansons sont vraiment bonnes. La façon dont on les joue, il y a une certaine attaque, une certaine force.

PAN M 360 : En fait le coeur du groupe était à la base Brie Howard (aussi connue sous les noms de Brie Brandt, Brie Darling et Brie Berry et également philippino-américaine), Jean à la basse et vous à la guitare. Puis Brie a quitté (pour revenir, repartir et revenir encore) et a été remplacée à la batterie par Alice De Buhr. Ensuite Nickey Barclay a été ajoutée aux claviers et au chant pour la sortie de votre premier album, Fanny, en 1970. Donc Nickey n’était pas là à vos débuts…

June Millington : Jean et moi avons monté notre premier groupe quand nous étions au lycée, fin 1964, appelé The Svelts, et Alice et Brie en ont fait partie à différentes périodes. Nous avons essentiellement appris à jouer et à gérer notre propre matériel avant d’arriver à Los Angeles. Je dis toujours aux gens que si vous voulez comprendre Fanny, vous devez comprendre The Svelts. Essentiellement les Svelts avaient tout, peu importe qui en faisait partie. Les Svelts étaient à l’origine de notre façon d’attaquer la musique avec Fanny. Nous étions vraiment féroces, mais on a développé ça avant d’arriver à L.A. et de jouer au Troubadour où on a été repérées par la secrétaire du réalisateur Richard Perry. C’est pour ça qu’on a signé avec lui; on pouvait sentir cette férocité, on la sentait prête à exploser d’une autre manière. Puis Richard nous a appris à enregistrer et à écrire des chansons, et il nous a bien appris. On pouvait tout entendre sur nos disques, tout ce que chacune d’entre nous jouait. Avant ça, on ne savait pas comment enregistrer et c’est pour ça qu’il n’y a pas de bons enregistrements des Svelts. Avant d’arriver à L.A., notre son était très contenu, on apprenait la musique, on jouait dans des danses d’école. On n’essayait pas d’époustoufler les gens parce que ce n’était pas le bon moment pour ça. Mais après un certain temps, je me suis retrouvé à jammer avec Lowell George, Skunk Baxter et tous ces maîtres du son. On jouait tous ensemble et on développait ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui le classic rock. Bien sûr, d’autres développaient aussi ce son, mais nous faisions tous partie d’un grand ensemble. Lorsque 1970 est arrivé et que nous avons sorti notre propre musique, quelques personnes se sont ouvertes à ce que nous faisions, petit à petit.

PAN M 360 : Vous avez mentionné le mot férocité… Diriez-vous que cette force vient en partie du fait que vous et votre sœur, étant philippino-américaines, avez eu à vous battre pour vous faire une place et vous faire respecter quand vous êtes venues vivre aux États-Unis et avez eu à faire face au racisme ? Peut-être aussi que votre orientation sexuelle vous a donné cette volonté de vous battre pour vous faire accepter à cette époque ?

June Millington : Pour mon orientation sexuelle, c’est venu un peu plus tard, vers 20 ans je dirais. Avant j’étais bien trop jeune et timide pour entreprendre quoi que ce soit avec une autre femme. Cette force je l’ai développée plus tard, après The Svelts. Je crois qu’on peut dire que cette force que Jean et moi avons est peut-être propre à tous les Philippins; ils ont un incroyable sens de la musique et ils sont très talentueux. Mais surtout, je crois que cette force nous l’avions en nous Jean et moi. On la sentait, c’était très fort. On a décidé de faire un groupe elle est moi parce que son petit ami jouait dans un groupe de surf. Je te laisse imaginer jusqu’à quelle époque on remonte là. Donc on a rencontré deux autres filles qui jouaient de la guitare et on s’est monté un groupe. On devait avoir 15 ou 16 ans. On s’est trouvé des concerts mais les garçons ne nous laissaient pas jouer sur leurs instruments, alors on s’est débrouillées pour avoir notre propre matériel. Ensuite on devait se trouver des shows. La guerre du Vietnam n’a pas été si mauvaise pour nous car elle nous a permis de jouer dans plusieurs bases de l’armée. On jouait pour les soldats, c’était assez incroyable. Et ensuite les teen clubs sont apparus. On y a donné pas mal de concerts, autour de 1967. Puis des shows dans les collèges, les lycées, les clubs. C’est ça qui nous a rendues fortes, ce fut notre entraînement, à la dure. Et tu sais aussi ce qui me donne une partie de cette énergie ? L’odeur des amplis Fender à lampes. Quand je sens ça, ça m’excite, je sais que ça va être fort. Je pense que Jean et moi sommes nées pour faire ça.

PAN M 360 : Vous avez déjà dit qu’après vos concerts, des filles venaient souvent vous voir pour vous demander comment former un groupe. Que leur répondiez-vous ?

June Millington : D’abord, d’être très disciplinée. Si ça ne fonctionne pas un soir, si vous vous plantez en concert, vous devez avoir la force de vous relever et poursuivre. Ça prend du cran et la force de persévérer. Tu peux avoir beaucoup de talent mais pas de courage. Il faut savoir se relever et continuer à avancer et à apprendre. Il faut répéter beaucoup et faire beaucoup de spectacles. C’est ce qu’il faut faire. Cela demande beaucoup de temps et d’efforts. Il faut être dévouée.

PAN M 360 : Vous êtes très impliquée auprès du Women’s Music Movement, vous avez réalisé de nombreux albums pour plusieurs musiciennes, vous opérez avec votre conjointe le Institute for the Musical Arts, un camp de rock pour les jeunes filles et les adolescentes… Bref, vous êtes depuis longtemps aux premiers rangs des combats des femmes dans le milieu de la musique. Diriez-vous que la situation a beaucoup évoluée pour les femmes dans les registres « rock » ou « pop » ?

June Millington : Les femmes sont beaucoup plus visibles qu’avant ça c’est certain. Elles sont libres de créer ce qu’elles veulent, dans plein de styles différents. Il n’est pas rare qu’un groupe de femmes obtienne de la visibilité. Mais un groupe de femmes ayant une série de succès aussi importants que ceux de groupes d’hommes tels que les Stones, les Beatles, Led Zeppelin et tant d’autres, ça ce n’est toujours pas arrivé à ce que je sache, et c’est ce que j’attends. Je ne parle pas de chanteuses solos comme toutes ces divas R&B ou vedettes pop, je parle de groupes. Il y en a eu, mais ces groupes n’ont eu qu’un succès limité, il n’y a pas eu de réelle constance, rien de comparable aux géants du rock. Qui va y arriver ? Je ne sais pas…

Film POP et Rock Camp Présentent Fanny: The Right To Rock + Performance de NOBRO et Fanny, L’Entrepôt77, mercredi 22 septembre, 20h

(photo principale: Michael Putland)

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre