×

Dakka Dembélé: A small boat doesn’t take on water

Interview by Alain Brunet

Following in the footsteps of Alpha Blondy and Tiken Jah Fakoly, Ivorian reggaeman Dakka Dembélé invites us aboard his “Petit bateau”, docked in Montreal, with the launch of his first album and a performance of the material at the Nuits d’Afrique.

Additional Information

Last March, Dakka Dembélé was due to launch his album Petit bateau on the Nuits d’Afrique label, but COVID 19 decided otherwise. Here we are, nine months later and in the red zone, and the launch show finally takes place without an audience, though an audiovisual recording allows us to attend remotely. On Petit bateau, the singer fully plays his role of reggaeman and decries the very risky journeys of migrants on overloaded boats, which can lead them to drowning rather than to the promised land. On the other hand, Dakka Dembélé offers us a most convivial roots reggae cruise, with a mix of West African colours, a worldly sound system imagined in Montreal. 

PAN M 360: How do you explain the importance of reggae in Ivory Coast, where you were born? After Alpha Blondy and Tiken Jah Fakoly, other reggae is emerging in West Africa, as it is also the case in Mali, where your parents come from. We could also mention the late South African Lucky Dube among your influences… Explanations?

Dakka Dembélé: Alpha went to Jamaica, where he met Bob Marley and was inspired by reggae music. He then returned to his country, Ivory Coast, where he made a first album, very inspired by his Jamaican experience, and he was the precursor of this style in Ivory Coast. Ivory Coast is also a country that is very open to the world, unlike other, more conservative African countries, so it was a fertile breeding ground for becoming a hub of African reggae. My main influences in African reggae are definitely Lucky Dube, Alpha Blondy, Ismael Isaac, and Koko Dembélé. These are the reggae artists that rocked me throughout my childhood and adolescence. Tiken Jah arrived a little later, and he’s also a source of inspiration.

PAN M 360: How do you place yourself in relation to Jamaican legends? Who are your favourite reggae artists from Jamaica or the Jamaican diaspora?

DD: My favourite artists from Jamaica are Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, Culture, Burning Spear, Gregory Isaac, etc. They are music that I listened to as much during my childhood and adolescence. For me, they are really the founding fathers of reggae, and I have a lot of respect for them. 

PAN M 360: Before migrating to North America, how did you learn the profession of musician, author, composer and singer?

DD: Although I was born into a family that was opposed to my musical career, music has always been present in my life. At the age of nine, my family was struck by poverty; I continued school, but I went to shine shoes at the train station. The songs of Bob Marley and Alpha Blondy accompanied me during this period, and I felt the need to denounce injustice and discrimination. I started to compose and write in secret. As a young adult, I founded my first successful group, DakkaGounga, in Abidjan. But in 2003, I was forced into exile in Mali because of the civil war. Thirteen years after my arrival in Quebec in 2007, the release of the album Petit bateau marks a major milestone in my journey as an artist.

PAN M 360: How would you describe the African touch in your reggae? Is there a link with your more specific cultural origins? What ethnic communities do your parents come from?

DD: My parents are Dioulas, so I sing in French and in Dioula. The Dioulas are descendants of Mali. They are generally traders and have always travelled throughout West Africa. My reggae is definitely part of my African history. For the most part, I deal with themes related to Africa, but also to my experience as an immigrant here in Quebec. I make reggae with West African sounds and mixed influences. 

PAN M 360: How do you distinguish yourself from your predecessors and contemporaries? 

DD: I’m part of the tradition of francophone and Mandingo reggae. I want to offer a voice to the marginalized and the most disadvantaged, wherever they live. I deal with issues related to inequalities, I sing about peace, hope, and the contrasts between my Africa and my Quebec. My Canadian reality has profoundly transformed my identity, and it also colours my current compositions. I distinguish myself from other African reggaemen by a very personal touch to my compositions, that comes from my own history and my personal rhythm. 

PAN M 360: How would you describe your creative process?

DD: My creative process is unique in itself. I always start as a solo artist; I begin by working on the lyrics and melodies. As mentioned, I write in French and Dioula, and as Dioula is a tonal language in which the pronunciation of the syllables of a word is subject to a precise tone (at a specific pitch or a characteristic melody), when I compose, I base myself on the melody and the word inseparably. Once the skeleton of the song has been built, I play it back to my collaborators, who work on the composition and arrangements. 

PAN M 360: When you arrived in Quebec in 2007, you were working as a shoemaker. Where did you receive your training, and do you still work as a shoemaker, to make ends meet? 

DD: I started shining shoes in Abidjan train stations and then I became an apprentice to a master shoemaker in Trechville, Abidjan’s red-light district. One thing leading to another, I mastered the trade. I have always practised the trades of shoemaker and singer at the same time. I opened my own shoemaking shop in Montreal in 2011 (Cordonnerie Dakissa). I’m located in Plaza St-Hubert. 

PAN M 360: Since 2013, you’ve played with Abdoulaye Koné, the Rootsteppers, David Mobio, Namori, Ons Barnat and Solid Ground. How has the Montreal scene changed your musical approach?

DD: When I arrived in Montreal, I discovered a musical scene of such richness as I’d never imagined, where cultures and styles mix and mingle. The Montreal scene and its diversity have always inspired me. This scene has helped me to further perfect my stage presence and my composition work. I have collaborated with all these artists at different levels and they have all brought me new learning and a fresh look at my compositions.

PAN M 360: Is the musical direction of your concert the same as that of your album? What about the contribution of guitarist and producer Guy Kaye, the contribution of bassist and producer Apotcho Strong? Can you describe the musicians in your team?

DD: The musical direction of the concert is provided by the Ivorian arranger and producer Apotcho Strong. It was he who set the guidelines for the interpretations. Guy Kaye only worked on the album, in collaboration with Apotcho Strong; Apotcho brought all his expertise in the sounds of African reggae, while Guy Kaye brought all his experience and expertise in world music and funk. Guy was also the mastermind of the mixing. For the band, I went looking for musicians with extensive reggae experience: Ons Barnat (keyboards), Botty Pottinger (guitar), Sylvain Plante (drums), and David Sergeti (guitar), as well as Apotcho (bass). The backup singers, Mélissa Pacifico and Mélanie Charrier, also worked on the album. 

PAN M 360: Your team is multicultural and Montreal-based, how has that changed your music?

DD: Yes, indeed, I have a mixed team (Quebec, France, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, etc.). Everyone really brings a very special touch to the interpretation, which creates a unique overall sound.

PAN M 360: What is your link with Montreal, Quebec, North America, the West? Has living in Montreal transformed you? And if so, in what way?

DD: Yes, living in Montreal has completely transformed me. It gave me a different view of the world. Especially multicultural Montreal: I’ve gotten to know other cultures and I feel really good about it. 

PAN M 360: What do you plan to play at the Nuits d’Afrique on Thursday, November 5?

DD: Thursday’s show is also the launch show for my album. I was supposed to do this launch at the Ministry on March 13, but history has dictated otherwise. So this show gives all the space to Petit bateau’s compositions with three compositions from my repertoire that are not on the album. There are also several guest artists: King Shadrock, Emde, Slim Samba, and John Kerkhoven. 

PAN M 360: What are your plans for the future?

DD: I’m working on an acoustic video project that will be launched on social media in the autumn. I’m already working on a second album. I will enter research and development in the winter of 2021, with the goal of releasing the next album in the fall of 2021. Of course, I’d like to plan tours, but it’s rather difficult in the current context. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Dakka Dembélé : Petit bateau ne prend pas l’eau

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Dans le sillon d’Alpha Blondy et Tiken Jah Fakoly, un reggaeman ivoirien nous invite à bord de son Petit bateau, accosté à Montréal : Dakka Dembélé lance son premier album et nous en joue la matière aux Nuits d’Afrique.

renseignements supplémentaires

En mars dernier, Dakka Dembélé devait lancer son album Petit bateau sous étiquette Nuits d’Afrique, la COVID 19 en a décidé autrement. Nous voilà neuf mois plus tard en zone rouge, le spectacle de lancement a finalement lieu sans public, une captation audiovisuelle nous permet d’y assister. Au programme de Petit bateau, le chanteur campe pleinement son rôle de reggaeman et dénonce notamment les périples très risqués des migrants sur ces rafiots surchargés qui peuvent les mener à la noyade plutôt qu’à la terre promise. En revanche, Dakka Dembélé nous propose une croisière roots reggae des plus conviviales, mâtinée de couleurs africaines de l’Ouest, sono mondiale imaginée à Montréal. 

PAN M 360 : Comment expliquer l’importance du reggae en Côte d’Ivoire, où vous êtes né ? Après Alpha Blondy et Tiken Jah Fakoly, d’autres reggaemen émergent d’Afrique de l’Ouest comme c’est aussi le cas au Mali, d’où viennent vos parents. On peut aussi citer le regretté Sud-Africain Lucky Dube parmi vos influences… Explications ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Alpha est allé en Jamaïque où il a rencontré Bob Marley et s’est inspiré de la musique reggae. Il est ensuite rentré au pays, en Côte d’Ivoire, où il a fait un premier album très inspiré de son expérience jamaïcaine et il a été le précurseur de ce style en Côte d’Ivoire. La Côte d’Ivoire est aussi un pays très ouvert sur le monde contrairement à d’autres pays africains plus conservateurs, c’était donc un terreau fertile pour devenir une plaque tournante du reggae africain. Moi, mes influences principales des reggaemen africains, ce sont définitivement Lucky Dube, Alpha Blondy, Ismael Isaac et Koko Dembélé. Ce sont ces reggaemen qui m’ont  bercé pendant toute mon enfance et adolescence. Tiken Jah est arrivé un peu plus tard et il est aussi une source d’inspiration.

PAN M 360 : Comment vous situez-vous par rapport aux légendes jamaïcaines ? Qui sont vos artistes reggae préférés de Jamaïque ou de la diaspora jamaïcaine ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Mes artistes préférés de la Jamaïque sont Peter Tosh, Bob Marley, Culture, Burning Spear, Gregory Isaac, etc. Ce sont des musiques que j’ai tout autant écoutées pendant mon enfance et mon adolescence. Pour moi, ce sont vraiment les pères fondateurs du reggae et j’ai beaucoup de respect pour eux. 

PAN M 360 : Avant de migrer vers l’Amérique du Nord, comment avez-vous appris le métier de musicien, auteur, compositeur et chanteur ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Bien que je sois né dans une famille qui s’opposait à ma carrière musicale, la musique a toujours été présente dans ma vie. À l’âge de 9 ans, ma famille a été frappée par la pauvreté; j’ai continué l’école, mais j’allais cirer des chaussures à la gare. Les chants de Bob Marley et d’Alpha Blondy m’ont accompagné durant cette période, et j’ai ressenti le besoin de dénoncer les injustices et les discriminations. Je me suis mis à composer et à écrire en cachette. Jeune adulte, j’ai fondé à Abidjan mon premier groupe avec succès, DakkaGounga. Mais en 2003, j’ai été forcé de m’exiler au Mali à cause de la guerre civile. Treize ans après mon arrivée au Québec en 2007, la sortie de l’album Petit Bateau marque une étape majeure dans mon cheminement d’artiste.

PAN M 360 : Comment décrire la touche africaine dans votre reggae ? Y a-t-il un lien avec vos origines culturelles plus spécifiques ? De quelles communautés ethniques vos parents sont-ils issus ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Mes parents sont Dioulas, je chante donc en français et en Dioula. Les Dioulas sont des descendants du Mali. Ils sont généralement des commerçants et se sont toujours déplacés dans toute l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Mon reggae est définitivement campé dans mon histoire africaine. Je traite en grande partie de thèmes liés à l’Afrique, mais aussi à mon expérience d’immigrant ici au Québec. Je fais un reggae aux sonorités ouest-africaines, aux influences métissées. 

PAN M 360 : Comment vous distinguez-vous de vos prédécesseurs et de vos contemporains ? 

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Je m’inscris dans la tradition du reggae francophone et mandingue. Je veux offrir une voix aux marginaux et aux plus démunis, où qu’ils vivent. Je traite d’enjeux liés aux inégalités, je chante la paix, l’espoir et les contrastes entre mon Afrique et mon Québec. Ma réalité canadienne a profondément transformé mon identité et elle teinte aussi mes compositions actuelles. Je me distingue des autres reggaemen africains par une touche toute personnelle à mes compositions qui vient de mon histoire à moi et de ma rythmique personnelle. 

PAN M 360 : Comment décrivez-vous votre processus de création ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Mon processus de création est unique en soi. Je débute toujours en solo; je commence par travailler les textes et les mélodies. Comme mentionné, j’écris en français et en dioula, et comme le dioula est une langue tonale dans laquelle la prononciation des syllabes d’un mot est soumise à un ton précis (à une hauteur déterminée ou une mélodie caractéristique), lorsque je compose, je me base sur la mélodie et le mot de manière indissociable. Une fois le squelette de la chanson construit, je la fais écouter à mes collaborateurs qui interviennent sur la composition et les arrangements. 

PAN M 360 : À votre arrivée au Québec en 2007, vous pratiquiez le métier de cordonnier, où avez-vous été formé et pratiquez-vous encore ce métier pour arrondir les fins de mois ? 

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : J’ai commencé à cirer les chaussures dans les gares d’Abidjan et ensuite je suis devenu apprenti d’un maître cordonnier à Trechville, quartier chaud d’Abidjan. De fil en aiguille, j’ai maîtrisé le métier. J’ai toujours exercé les métiers de cordonnier et de chanteur en parallèle. J’ai ouvert ma propre cordonnerie à Montréal en 2011 (Cordonnerie Dakissa). J’ai pignon sur la Plaza St-Hubert. 

PAN M 360 : Depuis 2013, vous avez joué avec Abdoulaye Koné, les Rootsteppers, David Mobio, Namori, Ons Barnat et autres Solid Ground, comment la scène montréalaise a-t-elle modifié votre approche musicale ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : En arrivant à Montréal, j’ai découvert une scène musicale d’une richesse telle que je n’avais pu l’imaginer, où les cultures et les styles se côtoient et se mêlent. La scène montréalaise et sa diversité m’ont toujours inspiré. Cette scène m’a aidé à perfectionner davantage ma présence sur scène et mon travail de composition. J’ai collaboré avec tous ces artistes à différents niveaux et ils m’ont tous apporté de nouveaux apprentissages et un regard neuf sur mes compositions. 

PAN M 360 : La direction musicale de votre concert est-elle la même de votre album ? Que dire de l’apport du guitariste et réalisateur Guy Kaye, de l’apport du bassiste et réalisateur Apotcho Strong ? Pouvez-vous nous décrire les musiciens de votre équipe ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : La direction musicale du concert, c’est l’arrangeur et réalisateur ivoirien Apotcho Strong qui l’assure. C’est lui qui a guidé la ligne directrice des interprétations. Guy Kaye a travaillé uniquement sur l’album en collaboration avec Apotcho Strong; Apotcho a apporté toute son expertise des sonorités du reggae africain alors que Guy Kaye a apporté toute son expérience et son expertise en lien avec les musiques du monde et le funk. Guy a aussi été le maître d’œuvre du mixage. Pour le groupe, je suis allé chercher des musiciens qui ont une expérience approfondie du reggae : Ons Barnat (claviers), Botty Pottinger (guitare), Sylvain Plante (batterie) et David Sergeti (guitare), de même qu’Apotcho (basse). Les choristes, Mélissa Pacifico et Mélanie Charrier, ont également travaillé sur l’album. 

PAN M 360 : Votre équipe est multiculturelle et montréalaise, comment cela a-t-il changé votre musique ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Oui, en effet, j’ai une équipe métissée (Québec, France, Côte d’Ivoire, Jamaïque, etc.). Chacun apporte vraiment une touche toute particulière dans l’interprétation, ce qui crée une sonorité d’ensemble tout à fait unique.

PAN M 360 : Quel est votre lien avec Montréal, le Québec, l’Amérique du Nord, l’Occident ? Vivre à Montréal vous a-t-il transformé ? Et si oui, de quelle façon ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Oui, vivre à Montréal m’a complètement transformé. Ça m’a donné un autre regard sur le monde. Surtout le Montréal multiculturel : j’ai appris à connaître d’autres cultures et je m’y sens réellement bien. 

PAN M 360 : Que comptez-vous jouer aux Nuits d’Afrique, ce jeudi 5 novembre ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Le spectacle de jeudi est aussi le spectacle de lancement de mon album. Je devais faire ce lancement au Ministère le 13 mars dernier, mais l’histoire en a voulu autrement. Ce spectacle donne donc toute la place aux compositions de Petit Bateau avec trois compositions de mon répertoire qui ne se trouvent pas sur l’album. Il y a aussi plusieurs artistes invités : King Shadrock, Emde, Slim Samba et John Kerkhoven. 

PAN M 360 : Quels sont vos projets pour la suite des choses ?

DAKKA DEMBÉLÉ : Je travaille sur un projet de vidéo acoustique qui sera lancé sur les réseaux sociaux au courant de l’automne. Je mijote déjà un second album. Je vais entrer en recherche et développement à l’hiver 2021 avec l’objectif de sortir le prochain album à l’automne 2021. C’est sûr que j’aimerais planifier des tournées, mais c’est plutôt difficile dans le contexte actuel. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre