Blanck Mass: From misery to blessing

Interview by Louise Jaunet

Three years after the very melodic and poignant Animated Violence Mild, Blanck Mass returns with the soundtrack to a movie that he alone has watched: his own personal experience of grief.

Additional Information

Since it’s now impossible to turn away from ourselves or get caught up in the whirlwind of distractions offered by consumer society, the isolation of quarantine forces us to draw new ideas from past experiences, be they distressing or enriching.

This cryptic search can be experienced as a descent into the hell of the depths of an internal mourning experience. In the same manner as Dante in The Divine Comedy, Blanck Mass reconstructs this inner journey in the form of a personal sonic travel log and takes us on a tour of the various echo chambers of his mind, with the help of sound recordings captured while travelling and touring. Each piece is composed of abstract emotions and cinematic memories that blend with different, sometimes heart-rending drone textures or lighter melodic lines composed on the synthesizer. PAN M 360 reached the artist at his studio in Scotland to fill in the spaces between the lines of the recordings.

PAN M 360: The main subject of In Ferneaux revolves around pain in motion and its utility through inner work. When did you start this process?

Blanck Mass: It was very internal. I was conscious of not wanting to put out a lockdown record for the sake of putting a lockdown record. For the past ten years or so, touring has involved making a lot of field recordings, even when I just travel. I wanted to use these field recordings as the basis for an actual space outside the space that I found myself in constantly whilst recording In Ferneaux and kind of use these to tell a story of what’s happening internally within me, my inner dialogue, but using these actual existing spaces outside which bring back all kind of personal memories. Trying to repurpose them into some kind of cathartic experience. Sharing it with people is pretty intimidating because this is some of the most raw that I’ve felt at all for my whole life, some of the worst periods of my life.

PAN M 360: This album is more cinematographic, abstract and minimalist compared to your previous works. There are only two tracks, Phase I and Phase II. What was the vision you had for the album?

BM: There was a first version of In Ferneaux with just the unmanipulated field recordings. It was like library music that I was thinking about doing with the raw files. That was something that I was thinking about doing for a long time because I have hundreds and hundreds of these field recordings. There was a switch, for me personally and globally, and the project morphed into something different. Although the field recordings hold a lot of weight for me emotionally, I felt I wanted to add some more contemporary synthesizer sounds and repurpose it into one continuous whole. The emotional weight found within those recordings, and with the synthesizers, obviously sent me down a road where I have been before, with regards to layering and squeezing as much emotions as I can. It was extremely cathartic. With a record like this, it’s really difficult to say when it’s done. There’s no beginning or end to each song. I found it difficult to say when the job was done. But what needs to be said has been said.

PAN M 360: When you say that the misery and the blessing are one, do you mean that the album should be experienced in a nonlinear way?

BM: I don’t really like naming tracks and asserting my perceived aesthetic, but I understand it’s a necessary tool. I’m a huge fan of film scores. Narrative is always an important part of the things that I do, the journey it takes you on throughout. I thoroughly encourage listening to it in a nonlinear way. It’s a collection of my internal dialogues without the aid of syntax. If you want to go on a journey, it’s there for you to go on. I want you to experience it in your own way.

PAN M 360: You actually produced a film score yourself for the Irish crime drama movie Calm With Horses, which was directed by Nick Rowland and released in March 2020.

BM: It is something that I’ve wanted to do for a very long time and will continue to do so. I’m really happy that when I’m not touring, I can score movies. I feel very lucky to be in this position at this point in time. I’m looking forward to the next one.

PAN M 360: You wrote that In Ferneaux was about the trauma of a personal grieving process. The result is a collage of sounds which is organized like a playlist of sounds that are linked to one another to make a story, but that you could also shuffle and would still make sense.

BM: That’s really interesting. It’s like an open-source experiment. I’m glad you get that from it, actually. It doesn’t need to follow the particular timeline which it does. These can be almost like stages of my grief but people might experience it in a different order. Sharing your experience during these difficult times is quite bold. It was super cathartic and intimidating to share this but it’s part of the growth process.

PAN M 360: At the heart of the album, you present the encounter you had with a person you call a prophetic figure that you met on the streets of San Francisco. Why was it so memorable to you?

BM: I feel this person actually presented me with this whole new perspective on my experience. I was going through a lot personally when I met this person. They told me, “you don’t know how to handle the misery on the way to the blessing.” Going away and thinking about that, I completely see what they meant. I’m within this position and there is nothing I can do apart from utilizing the pain and trying to create something from that, which would be the blessing. That’s what gave me the push over the edge to create In Ferneaux after a long reflection, to actually use this as a tool and these collections of recordings I created throughout the years, to process my misery, to present it and bring something outside of it. To me, that is the blessing and that’s what In Ferneaux is all about. I have a lot to thank this person for. They shaped the process for me. It’s the one field recording which has not been manipulated. There is maybe more weight in that than on other recordings that are heavily manipulated. That’s a particularly profound moment, like a game-changing moment.

PAN M 360: There is also a very danceable party side to your project, which can be found on your album Animated Violence Mild or the songs you produced with Kite, for example. The bright, hyperpop, holographic sounds remind me a lot to the music you hear during some openly queer-friendly parties. Where does that influence come from?

BM: I don’t feel any shame in embracing that side of thing, I do have a lot of friends who are queer as you say, that’s a big part of my social group. With Animated Violence Mild, there was a kind of political statement of intent as well. I was talking a lot about capitalism and I was using these very over-the-top melody lines in a tongue-in-cheek way. Referring to the ’80s and the explosion of capitalism, and using particular synthesizers of that kind of time, were not in a nostalgic sense but more in a kind of low blow to poke fans. I try not to take it too seriously myself as well, I like to troll myself a little. But I love that kind of music, working with Kite is something that I love, they are really close friends now. There is a real queer-friendly kind of aesthetic and mentality, I tend to gravitate towards that. There is a freer side of things that I definitely feel an affinity towards. Even though I’m a goth, I’m not scared of a little bit of colour, you know.

PAN M 360: You seem very close to the queer artistic community. What makes you sensitive to it?

BM: On my last tour, I’ve taken along some very close friends who are drag queens, Frans Gender and Purpledisgrace. It’s very easy for electronic musicians to take themselves a little bit too seriously, and to take another electronic musician that sounds similar. It doesn’t really interest me, there’s a lot more going on in the world than just your particular little space. I pay to go to drag shows myself, you know. It was a lot fun to have a drag show every night.

Latest 360 Content

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

Game ON!: the FILMharmonic conducted by a pioneer of symphonic music for video games

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

OPCM: Wallis Giunta becomes Carmen

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

All Quiet On The Western Front Composer comes to Montreal as Hauschka

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

What a time to be alive! A conversation with Sarah Rossy

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Igloofest backstage: VJs, a behind-the-scenes profession… in the spotlight

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Ducks Ltd.: Catchy jangle pop about human follies

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Barbara Hannigan: double duty with the MSO

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Jon Spencer has another new band and is ready to rock

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Cabaret Acoustique Nuits D’Afrique : Justin Adams & Mauro Durante

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Laurence-Anne: visit the endless labyrinth

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

Deli Girls: Experimental rave punk queercore to rock your world

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

India Gailey’s Non-binary Cello

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Cendrillon at McGill | Staging a Beloved Tale

Googoosh is Eternal

Googoosh is Eternal

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

On Dreams with Hank’s Dream

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

“Balivernes” with BLAMM

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca : “Searching for Goya” with Martin Santangelo

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

“Mon coeur bat la chamade” – Talking with Gabrielle Cloutier

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

Final Fantasy | Immersive and symphonic video games series

On the Record with ROM1

On the Record with ROM1

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M for Montréal | H for Hippie Hourrah!

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

M For Montreal | Winona Forever Reveals Details on Their Upcoming Album and DIY Beginnings

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Mundial Montréal | “Who Are We?” with Al-Qasar

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Behind the Self with Everly Lux

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Blanck Mass : de l’Enfer à la bénédiction

Interview réalisé par Louise Jaunet

Deux ans après le très mélodique et poignant album Animated Violence Mild, Blanck Mass choisit d’écrire la bande originale d’un film que lui seul a vécu: celui de sa propre expérience de deuil.

Genres et styles : électronique / expérimental / post-rock

renseignements supplémentaires

Puisqu’il est maintenant impossible de se détourner de soi même ou de se laisser prendre par le tourbillon de distractions qu’offre la société de consommation, l’isolement forcé par le confinement nous oblige à puiser de nouvelles idées dans les expériences du passé, qu’elles soient éprouvantes ou enrichissantes. Cette recherche cryptique peut être vécue comme une descente aux enfers dans les profondeurs d’une expérience de deuil intérieur. A la manière de Dante dans la Divine Comédie, Blanck Mass reconstruit ce chemin parcouru intérieurement sous la forme d’un carnet de route sonore personnel et nous fait visiter les différentes chambres d’échos de son esprit à l’aide d’enregistrements sonores capturés au gré de voyages et de tournées. Chaque morceau est composé d’émotions abstraites et de souvenirs cinématographiques qui se mêlent à différentes textures de drone parfois déchirantes ou à des lignes mélodiques plus légères composées au synthétiseur. PAN M 360 a rejoint l’artiste depuis son studio en Écosse pour tenter d’écrire la narration qui se cache entre les lignes des enregistrements.

PAN M 360 : Le sujet principal d’In Ferneaux tourne autour de la souffrance en action et de son utilité à travers un véritable travail intérieur. Quand avez-vous commencé ce processus ?

Blanck Mass : « C’était très intime. J’étais bien conscient de ne pas avoir envie de sortir un disque de confinement pour le plaisir de sortir un disque de confinement. Depuis une dizaine d’années, les tournées m’ont permis de faire beaucoup d’enregistrements en extérieur, même lorsque je ne fais que voyager. Je voulais utiliser ces enregistrements comme base à partir d’un espace concret, en dehors de celui dans lequel je me trouvais constamment pendant l’enregistrement de In Ferneaux, et en quelque sorte les utiliser pour raconter l’histoire de ce qui se passait à l’intérieur de moi, mon dialogue intérieur, tout en utilisant ces espaces concrets existants à l’extérieur qui me rappellent toutes sortes de souvenirs personnels. Je les réutilise pour en faire une sorte d’expérience cathartique. Le partager avec les autres est assez intimidant puisque c’est l’un des moments les plus bruts de ma vie, l’une des pires périodes de toute mon existence. »

PAN M 360 : Cet album est plus cinématographique, abstrait et minimaliste que vos réalisations précédentes. Il n’y a que deux titres, Phase I et Phase II. Quelle était votre vision pour cet album ?

Blanck Mass : « Il y avait une première version d’In Ferneaux avec seulement les enregistrements de terrain non manipulés. C’était comme une bibliothèque musicale que je pensais faire avec les fichiers bruts. C’était quelque chose que je pensais faire depuis longtemps car j’ai des centaines et des centaines de ces enregistrements extérieurs. Il y a eu un tournant pour moi personnellement mais aussi pour le monde entier, et le projet s’est transformé en quelque chose de différent. Bien que les enregistrements aient beaucoup de charge émotionnelle pour moi, j’ai senti que je voulais ajouter des sons de synthétiseurs plus contemporains et en faire un tout continu. Le poids émotionnel de ces enregistrements et des synthétiseurs m’a manifestement fait prendre un chemin similaire à celui que j’ai déjà parcouru en ce qui concerne la superposition et la compression du plus grand éventail d’émotions possible. C’était extrêmement cathartique. Avec un disque comme celui-ci, il est vraiment difficile de dire lorsque le travail est achevé. Il n’y a pas de début ni de fin à chaque chanson. J’ai trouvé cela difficile de savoir à quel moment le résultat était atteint. Mais ce qui doit être dit a été dit. »

PAN M 360 : Quand vous dites que la souffrance et la bénédiction ne font qu’un, cela signifie-t-il que l’album doit être apprécié de manière non linéaire ?

Blanck Mass : « Je n’aime pas vraiment donner un nom aux morceaux et imposer mon esthétique personnelle, je comprends que c’est un outil nécessaire. Je suis un grand fan des musiques de films. La narration est toujours une partie importante des projets que je fais, du cheminement qu’elle vous fait parcourir. J’encourage vivement à l’écouter de manière non linéaire. C’est un recueil de mes dialogues internes sans l’aide de la syntaxe. Si vous voulez faire un périple, il est là pour que vous puissiez le suivre. Je veux que vous puissiez le vivre à votre manière. »

PAN M 360 : Vous avez par ailleurs produit la musique du drame criminel irlandais Calm With Horses, réalisé par Nick Rowland et sorti en mars 2020.

Blanck Mass : « C’est quelque chose que je voulais faire depuis très longtemps et que je continuerai à faire. Je suis vraiment heureux lorsque je ne suis pas en tournée, je peux composer des musiques de films. Je me sens très chanceux d’être à ce stade. J’attends avec impatience le prochain. »

PAN M 360 : Vous avez écrit qu’In Ferneaux portait sur le traumatisme d’un processus de deuil personnel. Le résultat est un collage de sons qui est organisé comme une sélection de sons qui sont reliés les uns aux autres pour faire une histoire mais que vous pourriez également remanier et qui auraient toujours un sens. 

Blanck Mass : « C’est vraiment intéressant. C’est comme une expérience open source. Je suis content que vous en ayez fait l’expérience. Il n’est pas nécessaire de suivre un ordre chronologique particulier, comme dans le cas du projet. Cela peut ressembler à des étapes de mon deuil, mais les gens peuvent le vivre dans un ordre différent. Partager votre expérience en ces temps difficiles est assez audacieux. C’était extrêmement cathartique et intimidant de partager cela, mais cela fait partie du processus de développement. »

PAN M 360 : Au cœur de l’album, vous présentez la rencontre que vous avez eu avec une personne que vous appelez une figure prophétique rencontrée dans les rues de San Francisco. Pourquoi était-ce si mémorable pour vous ?

Blanck Mass : « Je pense que cette personne m’a donné une toute nouvelle perspective sur mon expérience. Je traversais beaucoup de choses sur le plan personnel quand j’ai rencontré cette personne. Elle me racontait : « Vous ne savez pas comment gérer la souffrance sur le chemin de la délivrance ». En partant et en réfléchissant à cela, je comprends tout à fait ce que cela signifie. Je suis dans cette position et il n’y a rien que je puisse faire à part utiliser la douleur et essayer de créer quelque chose à partir de cela, ce qui serait la bénédiction. C’est ce qui m’a poussé à créer In Ferneaux après une longue recherche, à utiliser cet outil et ces collections d’enregistrements que j’ai créés au fil des ans, à traiter ma détresse, à la présenter et à lui apporter quelque chose de plus. Pour moi, c’est une bénédiction et c’est ce qu’In Ferneaux représente. J’ai beaucoup à donner à cette personne. Elle a façonné le processus pour moi. C’est le seul enregistrement qui n’a pas été manipulé. Il a peut-être plus de poids que les autres enregistrements qui sont fortement manipulés. C’est un moment particulièrement profond, comme un moment de rupture totale avec la réalité. »

PAN M 360 : Il y a aussi un côté très dansant et festif à votre projet que l’on retrouve sur votre album Animated Violence Mild ou les chansons que vous avez produites avec Kite par exemple. Les sons holographiques hyper pop et brillants me rappellent beaucoup la musique que l’on entend lors de soirées ouvertement queer. D’où vient cette influence ?

Blanck Mass : « Je n’ai pas honte d’embrasser ce côté-là, j’ai beaucoup d’amis qui sont queer comme vous le dites, c’est une grande partie de mes groupes sociaux. Avec Animated Violence Mild, il y avait aussi une sorte de déclaration d’intention politique. Je parlais beaucoup du capitalisme et j’utilisais ces lignes mélodiques très exagérées de façon ironique. Faire référence aux années 80 et à l’explosion du capitalisme et utiliser des synthétiseurs spécifiques à cette époque n’avait rien de nostalgique mais constituait plutôt une sorte de petit coup bas pour les fans. Moi aussi, j’essaie de ne pas prendre cela trop au sérieux, j’aime bien me troller un peu. Mais j’aime ce genre de musique, travailler avec Kite est quelque chose que j’adore, ils sont des amis très proches maintenant. Il y a une véritable esthétique et une mentalité queer friendly, dans laquelle j’ai tendance à graviter. Il y a un côté plus libre des choses vers lequel je ressens une affinité certaine. Même si je suis un gothique, je n’ai pas peur d’un peu de couleur, vous savez. »

PAN M 360 : Qu’est-ce qui vous y rend sensible à la communauté artistique queer ?

Blanck Mass : « Lors de ma dernière tournée, j’ai emmené des amis très proches qui sont des drag queens, Frans Gender et Purpledisgrace. C’est très facile pour les musiciens électroniques de se prendre un peu trop au sérieux et de choisir un autre musicien électronique qui sonne pareil. Cela ne m’intéresse pas vraiment, il se passe beaucoup plus de choses dans le monde que dans votre petit univers spécifique. Je paie pour aller moi-même à des spectacles de drag queen, vous savez. C’était très agréable d’avoir un drag show tous les soirs. »

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre