Black Country, New Road: Collective ideal

Interview by Alain Brunet

Among the emerging bands in the U.K., Black Country, New Road arouse the greatest interest among those keen on new rock expressions with their stylistic blend and power of interpretation.

Genres and styles : Free Jazz / Post-Punk / Post-Rock / Prog Rock / Rock

Additional Information

The young London-based band is made up of seven musicians from a variety of backgrounds: singer, lyricist and guitarist Isaac Wood, bassist Tyler Hyde, saxophonist Lewis Evans, violinist Georgia Ellery, keyboardist May Kershaw, drummer Charlie Wayne and guitarist Luke Mark harbour a sincere ideal of creative democracy.

Ninja Tune’s recent release of the album For the First Time confirms the septet’s reputation for intense, theatrical, fiery performances in front of a live audience. But… for obvious reasons, we’ll have to be patient before we have the proof in the flesh. 

In the meantime, PAN M 360 connected with Hyde and Wayne in London.

PAN M 360: Black Country, New Road proposes a very particular expression and a mix of genres: post-punk, post-rock, Crimsonian prog, noise, polka rock, but also contemporary chamber music, american minimalism and free jazz. How do you see this wide eclecticism?

TYLER HYDE: First of all, I would say that it is not the result of planning. All we wanted to do was make music with friends. It’s really hard for us to list our influences because we are 7 people with very different tastes. We share some similar references but also so many different ones. The only way for us to illustrate them was to articulate them in our music and our playing. So this mix is not the result of a spoken conversation but of a musical conversation. This music is based on very strong friendships and an equally strong passion for music.

PAN M 360: Of course, mixing influences cannot be a plan or a recipe when it comes to artistic creation. Rather, it is an expression of the unconscious, the dynamics of artistic interaction and emotional relationships between the artists involved in the creative process. But… once the unconscious has expressed itself, can we get a glimpse of what has been achieved?

TYLER HYDE: Yes, we can express it now. Accidentally, we had created the music for For the First Time. We hadn’t thought about a planned and consistent collection of these songs, several random elements successfully came together. For our second album in the making, we thought more about what we wanted to do at the beginning, what would be appropriate for us. We thus implemented a concept album, totally distinct from the first one.

PAN M 360: What’s also very interesting about Black Country, New Road is the mix between pop culture references and more complex music. Where does that interest come from?
TYLER HYDE: The group is made up of self-taught musicians and others educated in music schools. The educated musicians don’t put pressure on the self-taught musicians to reach an ideal technical level, we prefer to find common ground, everyone should feel comfortable. So we don’t make any separation between the two groups, rather we try to create a common language.

PAN M 360: To be more precise, how do you see the group’s progress since its beginnings?

CHARLIE WAYNE: We are still aware of the good things that have been accomplished, but we want to make important changes to our work. We need to move on. Structurally we’re the same band, but we’re trying to write more concise songs now. We want songs sculpted from the same material rather than building piece by piece, section by section. That’s very important to us. For the first album, seven musicians assembled eclectic concepts while for the second one, this time we wanted to be less random, to propose better defined and perennial structures, more succinct, more dense. This next album may be less dissonant, it may be as strange for some people, but not for the same reasons.

TH: We’re now trying to generate intensity without betting on a post-punk aesthetic, without exaggerating on the distortion pedal, without playing all at the same time. Intensity can also come out with reduced sound information, with gradual introductions, with different tensions produced by each instrument involved. So we have been thinking about these new creative strategies since our beginnings. Not playing in front of a crowd during the pandemic also led us to this reflection because we could no longer test our hypotheses on stage, there was no longer this guinea pig allowing us to better understand our sound. This is why the composition process this time was much more meticulous. Thus, we learned how to generate intensity and emotions without the feedback of the live performance. This is why our sound is already very different from what it was before the pandemic. We are almost finished with the songs for this second album, we want to record and release it as soon as possible.

PAN M 360: Could you provide an example of a creative session in your band? 

CW: Okay. Somebody can submit to the band some fragments of a song or a basic structure. It can come from Isaac, but it can also come from any member of the group. From this skeleton, it’s up to each of us to make this first vision come true by giving it additional parts. The intention is therefore very different from a group in which there is a central composer, it is excluded to tell anyone what to do. Once the structure is accepted, each member of the group can blossom and bring the song to life.

TH: It’s possible to do this because we know each other well, because we know how we play, because we now know what we’re good at and what we’re not good at, musical conversations are possible and can multiply. For the performances we are in a way co-pilots. We all have partial information that naturally overlaps. I may know, for example, what Charlie and Luke are doing by my side, but I may not know what Lewis is doing or can propose so that my playing can be in symbiosis with his. This then has an impact on our writing process. So we have to try to improve our listening to each other, we have to constantly evolve this conversation.

CW: I could listen more to Tyler, Tyler could listen more to Luke and I, Luke could listen more to Isaac and so on and so forth, so it all flows together, we become listening to each other, we can then move forward. 

PAN M 360: So it’s a real collective work and ideal. Is it always like that?

CW: As much as possible, we try to avoid giving the composition to only one leader. We don’t think that would be particularly useful for this group. We think everyone’s idea is valid. We all know each other’s instruments, so everyone can come up with something very creative, based on their own talent, knowledge and sensibility.  

PAN M 360: It’s a great ideal to want to achieve the perfect balance of creativity within a collective. But how do you maintain this balance?

TH: It’s difficult, but we try to make it work. If someone in the room has been silent for a while, we ask, ‘hey, what do you think?’ We do that knowing that everyone decides to express themselves or not in certain contexts. 

CW: And don’t hesitate to use this interview as an example in the case of lawsuits between creators (laughs).

PAN M 360: What about the lyrical aspect?

TH: The lyrics of our pieces come 100% from Isaac, it’s a separate dimension of the music. I think Isaac’s goal is to write lyrics that anyone, at any given moment, can understand and relate to.

CW: Tyler and I are not perfectly comfortable talking about what Isaac writes. It’s not really our area. But we like this mix of inspiration from great lyricists like Leonard Cohen and allusions to pop culture, which we think is a powerful evocation tool because pop culture belongs to the collective imagination. It unites us.  

PAN M 360: How will the new material be adapted on stage after the pandemic?

CW: We’re really looking forward to it! Having said that, it was a luxury for us not to do a show and to focus on ourselves, our sound, our compositions, our university studies for some. So we took this year to finish this life before starting our new life. And there’s nothing like playing live. We’re really looking forward to coming back with our new music and playing the music from our first album as well.

TH: If at the first return concert we hear our fans singing songs from the first album after this break and this transformation, it might be weird, but it might also be overwhelming.

Latest 360 Content

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Club Sagacité at the Festival, San Farafina explains

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Piknic Elektronic | Jordan Gardner, from TO to MTL “for the artistry”

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

Domaine Forget 2024 | American Landscape at the Domaine, Nicholas Walker tells us about it

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Yoav Levanon, prodigy in recital or with orchestra

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine  Frontwoman Eno Williams

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | A Chat With Ibibio Sound Machine Frontwoman Eno Williams

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

Valérie Ekoumè on tour in Canada : mutual love and jubilant rhythms

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

Festival de Lanaudière 2024 | Quatuor Diotima in Quebec: musical dialogues from past and present

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Pahua, New Under the Mexican Sun

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

The Festival d’Art Vocal de Montréal Opens to the General Public

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique – Luiz Salgado and his “caipira” guitar

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Bombino: human warmth with the beat of the desert

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Queen Omega Extends Her Kingdom to MTL

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

Domaine Forget 2024 | Cape Verdean breezes in Charlevoix with Lucibela

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

PAN M 360 at Nuits d’Afrique | Def Mama Def, Women’s Karma

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | ALBERTO SALGADO: Embracing Brazilian Traditions and Modernity 

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

Truck Violence Burns It Down and Starts Again

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

PAN M 360 aux Nuits d’Afrique 2024 | Plus qu’un “fils de”… voici Kirá!

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Jowee Omicil invites the liberating spirits of Bwa Kayman

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Dobet Gnahoré: an angel comes and stays

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Baltra at Piknic Electronik | From lo-fi house to now

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Jaeden Izik-Dzurko: A look back at the CMIM and a glance forward

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Love Heart Cheat Code, new push from Hiatus Kaiyote

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Subscribe to our newsletter

×

Black Country, New Road / Idéal collectif

Interview réalisé par Alain Brunet

Parmi les formations émergentes au Royaume-Uni, Black Country, New Road a suscité le plus grand intérêt auprès du public féru de nouvelles expressions rock pour son brassage stylistique et sa puissance d’exécution.

Genres et styles : free jazz / post-punk / post-rock / rock / rock prog

renseignements supplémentaires

Le jeune groupe londonien est constitué de sept musiciens d’horizons multiples : le chanteur, parolier et guitariste Isaac Wood, la bassiste Tyler Hyde, le saxophoniste Lewis Evans, la violoniste Georgia Ellery, la claviériste May Kershaw, le batteur Charlie Wayne et le guitariste Luke Mark chérissent un idéal sincère de démocratie créative.

Chez Ninja Tune, la sortie récente de l’album For the First Time confirme cette réputation du septuor acquise devant public pour ses exécutions intenses, théâtrales, enflammées. Mais… pour des raisons évidentes, il faudra demeurer patients avant que nous en ayons la preuve en chair et en os. 

D’ici là, PAN M 360 fait connaissance avec Tyler Hyde et Charlie Wayne, joints à Londres.

PAN M 360 : Black Country, New Road propose une expression très particulière et un mélange des genres : post-punk,  post-rock, prog crimsonien, bruitisme, polka rock, mais aussi musique de chambre contemporaine, minimalisme américain et free-jazz. De votre côté, comment voyez-vous cet éclectisme?

 TYLER HYDE : Je dirais d’abord que ce n’est pas le résultat d’une planification. Tout ce que nous voulions, c’était faire de la musique entre amis. C’est pour nous vraiment difficile de dresser la liste de nos influences, car nous sommes 7 personnes aux goûts distincts. Nous partageons quelques références similaires mais aussi tant d’autres différentes. Le seul moyen pour nous de les illustrer  était de les articuler dans notre musique et notre jeu. Ce mélange ne résulte donc pas d’une conversation parlée mais bien d’une conversation musicale. Cette musique se fonde sur des amitiés très fortes et une passion musicale tout aussi forte.

PAN M 360 : Bien sûr, le brassage des influences ne peut être un plan ou une recette lorsqu’il est question de création artistique. Ce brassage est plutôt une expression de l’inconscient, de la dynamique de l’interaction artistique et des relations affectives entre les artistes impliqués dans le processus de création. Mais… une fois que l’inconscient s’est exprimé, peut-on avoir un aperçu de ce qui a été réalisé ?

TYLER HYDE : Oui, nous pouvons l’exprimer maintenant. « Accidentellement », nous avions créé la musique de For the First Time. Nous n’avions pas pensé à une collecte planifiée et cohérente de ces chansons, plusieurs éléments aléatoires ont été réunis avec succès. Pour notre deuxième album en cours de création, nous avons plutôt pensé à concrétiser ce que nous souhaitions au départ, à ce qui serait approprié pour nous. Nous avons ainsi mis en œuvre un album concept, totalement différent du premier.

PAN M 360 : Ce qui est également très intéressant chez Black Country, New Road, c’est le mélange entre les références de la culture pop et une musique plus complexe.  D’où provient cet intérêt?

TYLER HYDE : Le groupe est constitué de musiciens autodidactes et d’autres éduqués dans les conservatoires ou facultés de musique. Les musiciens éduqués n’y exercent pas de pression sur les autodidactes afin qu’ils atteignent un niveau technique idéal, nous préférons trouver un terrain d’entente, tous et toutes doivent se sentir à l’aise. Nous ne faisons donc pas de distinction entre les deux groupes, nous essayons plutôt de créer un langage commun. 

PAN M 360 : Pour être plus précis, comment voyez-vous la progression du groupe depuis ses débuts?

CHARLIE WAYNE : Nous restons conscients des bonnes choses accomplies mais nous tenons à  apporter des changements importants à notre travail. Il nous faut passer à autre chose. Structurellement nous c’est le même groupe mais nous essayons désormais  d’écrire des chansons plus concises. Nous voulons des chansons sculptées dans une même matière plutôt que construire pièce sur pièce, section sur section. C’est très important pour nous. Pour le premier album, 7 musiciens assemblaient des concepts éclectiques alors que pour le deuxième, nous voulions être moins aléatoires, proposer des structures mieux définies et pérennes, plus succinctes, plus denses. Ce prochain album sera peut-être moins dissonant, il sera peut-être  bizarre pour certains mais pas pour les mêmes raisons.

TYLER HYDE : Nous essayons maintenant de générer de l’intensité sans pour autant miser sur une esthétique post-punk, sans exagérer sur la pédale de distorsion, sans jouer tous en même temps. L’intensité peut aussi ressortir avec des informations sonores réduites, avec des introductions graduelles, avec différentes tensions produites par chaque instrument impliqué. Nous avons donc réfléchi à ces nouvelles stratégies de création depuis nos débuts. Ne plus jouer devant une foule pendant la pandémie nous a aussi conduits à cette réflexion car nous ne pouvions plus tester nos hypothèses sur scène, il n’y avait plus ce cobaye nous permettant de mieux comprendre notre son. C’est pourquoi le processus de composition a, cette fois, été beaucoup plus méticuleux. Ainsi, nous avons appris à générer de l’intensité et des émotions sans les retours de la performance en direct. C’est pourquoi notre son est déjà très différent de ce qu’il fut avant la pandémie. Nous avons presque terminé les chansons de ce deuxième album, nous voulons l’enregistrer et le sortir dès que possible.

PAN M 360 : Pourriez-vous fournir un exemple de séance créative au sein de votre groupe ? 

CHARLIE WAYNE : D’accord. Quelqu’un peut soumettre au groupe quelques fragments d’une chanson ou encore une structure de base. Cela peut venir d’Isaac (le chanteur) mais aussi de n’importe quel membre du groupe. A partir de ce squelette, c’est à chacun d’entre nous de faire en sorte que cette  première vision se réalise en y conférant des parties supplémentaires. L’intention est donc très différente d’un groupe au sein duquel il y a un compositeur central, il est exclu de dire à quiconque ce qu’il doit faire. Une fois la structure admise,  chaque membre du groupe peut s’y épanouir et donner vie à la chanson.

TYLER HYDE : C’est possible d’y parvenir parce que nous nous connaissons bien, parce que nous savons comment nous jouons, parce que nous savons désormais dans quoi nous sommes bons et  dans quoi nous ne le sommes pas, les conversations musicales sont possibles et peuvent se multiplier. Pour les exécutions nous sommes en quelque sorte copilotes. Nous avons tous des informations partielles qui s’imbriquent naturellement. Je peux savoir, par exemple, que ce que font Charlie et Luke à mes côtés, mais je ne sais peut-être pas ce que fait Lewis ou peut proposer afin que mon jeu puisse être en symbiose avec le sien. Cela a alors un impact sur notre processus d’écriture. Nous devons donc nous efforcer à améliorer notre écoute mutuelle, nous devons sans cesse faire évoluer cette conversation.

CHARLIE WAYNE :  Je pourrais écouter davantage Tyler, Tyler pourrait écouter davantage Luke et moi, Luke pourrait écouter davantage Isaac et ainsi de suite, alors tout s’enchaîne, nous devenons à l’écoute les uns des autres, nous pouvons alors aller de l’avant. 

PAN M 360 : C’est donc une véritable œuvre collective. Est-ce toujours ainsi ?

CHARLIE WAYNE : Autant que possible, je pense que nous essayons d’éviter de confier la composition à un seul leader. Nous croyons que ce ne serait pas particulièrement utile pour ce groupe. Nous croyons que l’idée de chacun est valable. Nous connaissons tous nos instruments respectifs, et donc chacun peut proposer quelque chose de très créatif, se fondant sur sa propre expertise.  

PAN M 360 : C’est un grand idéal que de vouloir atteindre l’équilibre parfait de la créativité au sein d’un collectif. Mais comment maintenir cet équilibre ?

TYLER HYDE : C’est difficile mais nous essayons de faire en sorte que cela fonctionne. Si quelqu’un dans la pièce est silencieux depuis un moment, on l’interpelle : « Hey, qu’en penses-tu ? On le fait tout en sachant que chacun décide de s’exprimer ou de ne pas s’exprimer dans certains contextes. 

CHARLIE WAYNE : Et n’hésitez pas à utiliser cette interview afin dans le cas de poursuites judiciaires entre créateurs (rires).


PAN M 360 : Et le texte, qu’en est-il ?

TYLER HYDE : Les paroles de nos pièces viennent à 100% d’Isaac, c’est une dimension séparée de la musique. Je pense qu’Isaac a pour objectif d’écrire des paroles que n’importe qui, à un moment donné, puisse comprendre et auxquelles il puisse s’identifier.

CHARLIE WAYNE : Tyler et moi ne sommes pas parfaitement à l’aise pour parler de ce qu’Isaac écrit. Ce n’est pas vraiment notre domaine. Mais nous aimons ce mélange d’inspiration des grands paroliers  comme Leonard Cohen et d’allusions à la culture pop, qui selon nous est un puissant outil d’évocation car la culture pop appartient à l’imaginaire collectif. Cela nous unit.  

PAN M 360 : Quelle sera l’adaptation du nouveau matériel  sur scène après la pandémie ?

CHARLIE WAYNE : Nous sommes vraiment impatients ! Cela dit, ce fut pour nous  un luxe de ne pas faire de spectacle et de mettre l’accent sur nous-mêmes, notre son, nos compositions, nos études universitaires pour certains. Nous avons donc pris cette année pour terminer cette vie avant de commencer notre nouvelle vie. Et il n’y a rien de comparable au fait de jouer en direct. Nous avons vraiment hâte de revenir avec notre nouvelle musique et de jouer aussi la musique de notre premier album.

TYLER HYDE : Si au premier concert de retour, nous entendons nos fans chanter des extraits du premier album après cette pause et cette transformation, ça sera peut-être  bizarre mais aussi bouleversant.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre