×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : Bonsaï Genres and styles : Jazz Year : 2020
Rachel Therrien

VENA

· by Ralph Boncy

She’s not kidding around, the girl. Anyway, she doesn’t do jazz standards. This fifth album comes out on a French label with, once again, nothing but new material. Fifteen new tracks. And even if she’s bluffing us on her record covers, abandoning abstract illustrations in favour of polished portraits of herself, rest assured. The valiant trumpet player from Quebec City, for all that, is no lightweight. In fact, these new images are like a thumbnail or, in a way, a mischievous and hyper-glamorous wink at her music, which never lacks essence. No two-bit narcissism here.

Written in voluntary confinement in Montreal last winter, recorded in France, in Meudon, with her European quartet (a Madrilenian on double bass, a Franco-Australian pianist and the German Mareike Wiening on drums), Vena is an album that’s easy to listen to. Generous, playful and determined, Therrien shows the same leadership as with her Quebec quintet, which won the grand-prix jazz award at the Montreal Jazz Fest in 2015. After her New York break, she completed the album Why Don’t You Try? with this group, in which Benjamin Deschamps played the alto saxophone. This time, she measures herself against the excellent tenor Irving Acao, on “Bilka’s Story” and especially “This Isn’t Love”, a piece about disappointed loves where the emotion is particularly palpable, as it is in “75 Pages of Happiness”, an expression of admiration for her aging father.

From Colombia to the Ukraine, from Brooklyn to Pigalle, with in addition “Emilio”, a piece sketched in Cuba in her early twenties, Therrien accumulates experience and plays more and more to her strengths. It’s clear that she’s drawing on her own experience. For the rest, the small group has fun with ersatz bop and free, then have a blast on “Just Playing” before heading to Prospect Park to tease the blue turtles.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : Bonsaï Genres et styles : jazz Année : 2020
Rachel Therrien

VENA

· par Ralph Boncy

Elle ne niaise pas, la fille. En tout cas, elle n’enregistrera pas de standards de jazz. Ce cinquième album sort sur une étiquette française avec, encore une fois, rien que du nouveau matériel. Quinze titres neufs. Et même si elle nous bluffe désormais sur ses pochettes de disques, abandonnant les illustrations abstraites en faveur de portraits léchés d’elle-même, rassurez-vous. La vaillante trompettiste de Québec ne fait pas pour autant dans la dentelle. On dirait même plus : ces images nouvelles sont comme un pied de nez ou, en quelque sorte, un clin d’œil espiègle et hyper glamour à contresens de sa musique, qui, elle, ne manque jamais d’essence. Pas narcissique pour deux sous.

Écrit en confinement volontaire à Montréal l’hiver dernier, enregistré en France, à Meudon, avec son quartet européen (un Madrilène à la contrebasse, un pianiste franco-australien et l’Allemande Mareike Wiening à la batterie), Vena est un album qui se laisse écouter assez facilement. Généreuse, enjouée et déterminée, Rachel Therrien démontre le même leadership qu’avec son quintet québécois, auréolé du grand prix de jazz au FIJM en 2015. Après sa parenthèse new-yorkaise, elle avait complété avec cette formation l’album Why Don’t You Try? dans lequel Benjamin Deschamps lui donnait la réplique au saxophone alto. Cette fois, elle se mesure à l’excellent ténor Irving Acao dans Bilka’s Story et surtout dans This Isn’t Love, une pièce sur les amours déçues où l’émotion est particulièrement palpable, tout comme dans 75 Pages of Happiness où elle exprime toute son admiration pour son père vieillissant.

De la Colombie à l’Ukraine, de Brooklyn à Pigalle, avec en plus Emilio, une ébauche esquissée à Cuba dans sa jeune vingtaine, Rachel additionne les expériences et maîtrise de mieux en mieux son jeu de puissance. De toute évidence, elle puise à pleines mains dans son vécu. Pour le reste, le petit groupe s’amuse avec des ersatz de bop et de free, puis s’en donne à cœur joie dans Just Playing avant d’aller taquiner les tortues bleues de Prospect Park. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre