×
Country : United States Label : Blue Note Genres and styles : Americana / Contemporary Jazz Year : 2020
Bill Frisell

Valentine

· by Steve Naud

The ECM label recently released two excellent albums featuring veteran guitarist Bill Frisell and double bassist Thomas Morgan, Small Town (2017) and Epistrophy (2019). With the release of the over-fresh Valentine on Blue Note, a third player joins the party in the person of drummer Rudy Royston, a frequent collaborator with Frisell since the adventure of Beautiful Dreamers in 2010. However, the trio is not new to the game, having played live two years before the recording of this new album.

The program contains a few new pieces, but mostly rereadings of works that Frisell has performed at one time or another in his successful career, whether it be his own compositions or covers of pieces by Boubacar Traoré, Billy Strayhorn, or Burt Bacharach. All this recycled material may suggest that the guitarist has his eyes on the rearview mirror, and wouldn’t dare venture outside his comfort zone. That would be overlooking that in Bill Frisell’s case, the zone in question encompasses many territories: jazz, country, folk, avant-garde, gospel, tin pan alley, atmospheric, delta blues, desert blues… Our man is at ease on many terrains and on Valentine, he chooses not to choose. Supported by his two faithful companions, he introduces them all.

This admirable eclecticism is only one of the reasons we’re ecstatic about this very successful album. Also to be applauded are the cohesion of the trio, the crystal-clear guitar sound and Royston’s playing, which brings a new dimension to the work previously started with Morgan. We can also add the big heart of the guitarist who chose to conclude things with a rendition of “We Shall Overcome”, an old protest song sung many times during the African-American civil rights movement. A most relevant choice!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Blue Note Genres et styles : americana / jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Bill Frisell

Valentine

· par Steve Naud

Récemment, l’étiquette ECM publiait deux excellents albums mettant en vedette le vétéran guitariste Bill Frisell et le contrebassiste Thomas Morgan, soit Small Town (2017) et Epistrophy (2019). Avec la parution du tout chaud Valentine chez Blue Note, un troisième joueur se joint à la partie en la personne du batteur Rudy Royston, collaborateur fréquent de Frisell depuis l’aventure de Beautiful Dreamers en 2010. Toutefois, le trio n’en est pas à ses premières armes puisqu’il a joué devant public deux bonnes années avant l’enregistrement de ce nouvel opus.

Le programme contient quelques nouvelles pièces, mais surtout des relectures d’œuvres que Frisell a interprétées à un moment ou à un autre de sa fructueuse carrière, qu’il s’agisse de ses propres compositions ou de reprises de morceaux signés Boubacar Traoré, Billy Strayhorn ou Burt Bacharach. Tout ce matériel recyclé peut donner à penser que le guitariste a les yeux braqués sur son passé et qu’il n’osera guère s’aventurer hors de sa zone de confort. Ce serait oublier que chez Bill Frisell, ladite zone englobe de nombreux territoires : jazz, country, folk, avant-garde, gospel, tin pan alley, atmosphérique, blues du delta, blues du désert… Notre homme est à l’aise sur plusieurs terrains et sur Valentine, il choisit de ne pas choisir. Épaulé par ses deux fidèles compères, il nous les présente tous.

Cet éclectisme admirable n’est qu’une des raisons qu’on a de s’extasier devant cet album fort réussi. Sont également à applaudir la cohésion du trio, ce son de guitare toujours aussi cristallin ainsi que le jeu de Royston qui apporte une nouvelle dimension au travail amorcé précédemment avec Morgan. On pourra également ajouter le grand cœur du guitariste qui a choisi de conclure les choses avec une interprétation de We Shall Overcome, vieux protest song maintes fois entonné pendant le mouvement afro-américain des droits civiques. Un choix des plus pertinents !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre