×
Country : Canada / United States Label : Transgressive Genres and styles : Electronic / Folk / Gospel / new age Year : 2020
Beverly Glenn-Copeland

Transmissions

· by Steve Naud

For decades, the music of Beverly Glenn-Copeland has flown under the radar of the music press. It took a Japanese collector getting his hands on the album Keyboard Fantasies for it to be discovered some 30 years after its release in 1986. Audiences could finally get to know an artist with a unique and warm voice. Perhaps the late-stage success that Glenn-Copeland finally enjoyed can be explained by the fact that in these troubled times, we need the comfort that this voice can give us more than ever. 

The Transmissions compilation provides a comprehensive overview of the career of the Philadelphia-born trans musician, who has been living in Canada for several years. In no chronological order, the disc features folk songs from his first two albums released in 1970, a funkier track from the 1980 mini-album At Last!, two excerpts from the now classic Keyboard Fantasies – the work with which the artist discovered electronic music – a few more uptempo pieces from Primal Prayer (2004) and a beautiful new song, the sweet but profound “River Dreams”.

One constant emerges from such an eclectic corpus: the healing power emanating from Glenn-Copeland’s beautiful voice. From the excellent jazzy folk tunes released in 1970, to the singular minimalist compositions of new-age character found on Keyboard Fantasies, to the more rhythmic gospel pieces created more recently, the songs created by Glenn-Copeland all bear the imprint of that vocal timbre recognizable between a thousand and one, and of that humanity capable of soothing even the most bruised hearts.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada / États-Unis Label : Transgressive Genres et styles : électronique / folk / gospel / new age Année : 2020
Beverly Glenn-Copeland

Transmissions

· par Steve Naud

Pendant des décennies, la musique de Beverly Glenn-Copeland est passée sous le radar de la presse musicale. Il a fallu qu’un collectionneur japonais mette la main sur l’album Keyboard Fantasies pour que celui-ci soit découvert une trentaine d’années après sa sortie en 1986. Nous pouvions alors enfin faire connaissance avec un artiste doté d’une voix unique et chaleureuse. Le succès tardif que connaît finalement Glenn-Copeland s’explique peut-être par le fait qu’à l’époque trouble dans laquelle nous vivons, nous avons plus que jamais besoin du réconfort que cette voix peut nous apporter. 

La compilation Transmissions nous propose un tour d’horizon très complet de la carrière du musicien trans né à Philadelphie et qui habite au Canada depuis plusieurs années. Dans un ordre qui n’a rien de chronologique, le disque présente des morceaux folk issus de ses deux premiers albums parus en 1970, un titre plus funky tiré du mini-album At Last! datant de 1980, deux extraits du désormais classique Keyboard Fantasies – opus avec lequel l’artiste découvrait la musique électronique – quelques pièces plus up tempo provenant de Primal Prayer publié en 2004 ainsi qu’une très belle nouvelle chanson, la toute douce mais profonde River Dreams.

Une constante se dégage d’un corpus aussi éclectique : le pouvoir de guérison émanant de la très belle voix de Glenn-Copeland. Que ce soit les excellents morceaux de folk jazzy parus en 1970, les singulières compositions minimalistes d’ascendance new age que l’on retrouve sur Keyboard Fantasies ou les pièces gospel davantage rythmées crées plus récemment, les chansons créées par Beverly Glenn-Copeland portent toutes l’empreinte de ce timbre vocal reconnaissable entre mille et de cette humanité capable de rasséréner les coeurs les plus meurtris.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre