×
Pays : United States Label : Stones Throw Records Genres et styles : Electronic / R&B Année : 2022

Sudan Archives – Natural Brown Prom Queen

· par Thomas Moultrie

Every now and then, I appreciate the opportunity to hear something new and out of my comfort zone. And so, with Natural Brown Prom Queen, I was formally introduced to Sudan Archives. 

Brittney Parks, a.k.a Sudan Archives, is a self-taught, multi-instrumentalist and her music brings together styles from different cultures and genres. Natural Brown Prom Queen is her fourth record. Before this album came across my desk, I watched some videos of her performances online. I saw an NPR Tiny Desk Concert where she played with a string quartet. I saw some soft gentle performances, with her voice beautifully floating above the most minimal of instrumentation. And then came this new album, with its electronic beats, and bigger production. 

Natural Brown Prom Queen has a lot going on. It’s an 18-track Double LP, and the songs fit and flow together in a cohesive package. And the musical shift from what I had come upon beforehand to this, was impressive. You’ve got to respect an artist doing artistic things.

In fact, the album is full of interesting artistic choices made by Sudan Archives, who composed and performed all its many layers and parts. Like the transition from “It’s Already Done” to “FLUE.” The former, a track with a thumping bassline, hip-hop beat, and an MC reciting some lyrics, slides into the soft string intro of the latter.  The track “Loyal (EDD)” feels much for ambient and electronic. And then on “Yellow Brick Road,” the penultimate song on the album, Sudan Archives softly raps, while the rhythm of a bright piano plays, and birds chirp in the background.  

It seems, as stated in one of the interstitial tracks on the album, that Sudan Archives will continue to do her thing. And out of that, I’m sure we’ll have many more opportunities to hear new and interesting music.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Stones Throw Records Genres et styles : électronique / R&B Année : 2022

Sudan Archives – Natural Brown Prom Queen

· par Thomas Moultrie

De temps en temps, j’aime entendre quelque chose de nouveau et de déstabilisant. J’ai donc fait connaissance avec Sudan Archives par l’entremise de son album Natural Brown Prom Queen.

Brittney Parks, alias Sudan Archives, est une multi-instrumentiste autodidacte dont la musique rassemble des styles issus de cultures et de genres différents. Natural Brown Prom Queen est son quatrième album. Avant que celui-ci n’aboutisse sur mon bureau, j’ai regardé quelques vidéos de ses performances en ligne. J’ai vu un concert « Tiny Desk » de NPR Concert où elle se produit avec un quatuor à cordes. J’ai vu des prestations calmes, où la voix de Sudan Archives planait magnifiquement au-dessus d’une instrumentation minimale. Et puis est arrivé ce nouvel album, avec ses rythmes électroniques et sa réalisation plus complexe.

Natural Brown Prom Queen a beaucoup à offrir : c’est un album double de 18 titres qui s’emboîtent et s’enchaînent pour former un ensemble cohérent. Puis, l’évolution musicale de Sudan Archives a de quoi impressionner. On doit respecter les artistes qui font des choses… artistiques.

En fait, Sudan Archives a truffé son album de choix intéressants. Elle a composé et interprété les nombreux éléments et strates de Natural Brown Prom Queen. Un exemple : la transition entre It’s Already Done et FLUE. À la fin de la première pièce comporte une ligne de basse percutante, un rythme hip-hop et un MC qui récite quelques paroles, on nous amène doucement à l’intro de cordes de la seconde.  Loyal (EDD) tient beaucoup de l’ambient et de l’électronique. Et sur Yellow Brick Road, l’avant-dernière chanson de l’album, Sudan Archives rappe doucement tandis que résonnent des notes lumineuses de piano et que gazouillent des oiseaux, en arrière-plan.

Il semble, comme on l’entend dans l’une des pistes-interludes de l’album, que Sudan Archives va continuer à faire son truc. Par conséquent, je suis persuadé que nous aurons de nombreuses autres occasions d’entendre des propositions novatrices et stimulantes.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre