×
Country : United States Label : Nonesuch Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz Year : 2020
Redman, Mehldau, McBride, Blade

RoundAgain

· by Steve Naud

Joshua Redman (saxophone), Brad Mehldau (piano), Christian McBride (double bass) and Brian Blade (drums). A lineup to make any normally constituted contemporary jazz lover salivate. The new supergroup of the moment? Not quite. The four giants recorded the album MoodSwing together in 1994 under the banner of the Joshua Redman Quartet. Twenty-six years later, the fruit of their reunion, entitled RoundAgain, bears four equal signatures.

The quartet pick up where they left off last century. The compositions that these four old pals put forth are still at the very centre of the jazz spectrum. They can’t be categorized at the avant-garde fringe of the genre, but their propensity for putting themselves at risk means they can’t be called mainstream musicians either. 

RoundAgain benefits from the experience that each of its protagonists has acquired on their own in the last decades. Moreover, the programme, which includes pieces composed by each of the players, allows an appreciation of the personal colours that each brings to the picture. Thus, while the cerebral polyrhythms of a piece such as “Moe Honk” bear the recognizable signature of Mehldau, Redman’s softer compositions place greater emphasis on melody. The more traditional “Floppy Diss”, on the other hand, is a blues the way McBride likes them so much. Blade, for his part, wraps up RoundAgain on a more atmospheric note with the splendid “Your Part To Play”, one of the highlights of the record.

Between the spiralling notes emitted by Mehldau on Redman’s efficient “Undertow” as an opening, and this sublime conclusion, these four luminaries of today’s jazz take us somewhere in a very pleasant way!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Nonesuch Genres et styles : jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Redman, Mehldau, McBride, Blade

RoundAgain

· par Steve Naud

Joshua Redman (saxophone), Brad Mehldau (piano), Christian McBride (contrebasse) et Brian Blade (batterie). Une affiche à faire saliver tout amateur de jazz contemporain normalement constitué. Le nouveau supergroupe de l’heure? Pas tout à fait. Les quatre géants ont enregistré ensemble l’album MoodSwing en 1994 sous la bannière du Joshua Redman Quartet. Vingt-six ans plus tard, le fruit de leurs retrouvailles intitulé RoundAgain porte, à titre égalitaire, quatre signatures.

Le quatuor reprend les choses où il les avait laissées le siècle dernier. Les compositions que ces quatre vieux potes défendent se situent toujours en plein centre du spectre musical jazzistique. On ne peut les catégoriser dans la frange avant-gardiste du genre, mais leur propension à se mettre en danger fait qu’on ne peut les taxer de musiciens mainstream non plus. 

RoundAgain bénéficie de l’expérience que chacun de ses protagonistes a acquise de son côté au cours des dernières décennies. D’ailleurs, le programme qui compte des pièces composées par chacun des instrumentistes permettra à l’auditeur d’apprécier les couleurs personnelles que chacun apporte au tableau. Ainsi, alors que les polyrythmies cérébrales d’un morceau tel que Moe Honk portent la griffe reconnaissable de Mehldau, les compositions plus souples de Redman mettent davantage l’accent sur la mélodie. La plus traditionnelle Floppy Diss, de son côté, est un blues comme McBride les apprécie tant. Blade, quant à lui, clôt l’aventure RoundAgain sur une note plus atmosphérique avec la splendide Your Part To Play, un des moments forts du disque.

Entre les notes spiralées envoyées par Mehldau sur l’efficace Undertow que signe Redman en guise d’ouverture et cette sublime conclusion, ces quatre sommités du jazz actuel nous auront fait voyager de très agréable façon!

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre