×
Country : Porto Rico Label : Ribbon Genres and styles : latino / Pop Year : 2020
Buscabulla

Regresa

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Puerto Rico’s Raquel Berríos and Luis Alfredo Del Valle – partners at home as well as in the studio – relocated to New York some years ago, growing their sexy song-and-dance duo act there. Post-Hurricane Maria, however, their island called them home, and so this new album was created there, and bears a title that translates to “return”. The homecoming was bittersweet – Regresa’s songs burst with bright colours, but there’s a heavy streak of blue throughout.

A hint of the frivolous reggaetón-meets-vaporwave that defined the duo’s early days on the New York dive-bar circuit remains, subtly psychedelic effects abound, and the lilting Latin groove adds a nice palm-trees-at-sunset vibe. There’s far more than empty calories here, though.

The music harkens back not to Tito Puente or Willie Colón, or even Ricky Martin for that matter, but rather to the refined and stylish “adult” pop of the ’80s, acts like Sade (strikingly, on “Mío”) and Talk Talk (“Nydia”, dedicated to the celebrated Puerto Rican cinema star who’d followed a similar round-trip career path in her day). The mighty Helado Negro helps out with some rich arrangements on “Club Tú y Yo”. 

Lyrically, moreover, the pair address the recent hardships facing the home they once knew, alongside more intimate domestic reflections. In short, heartbreak and hope coexist here, as does a whole lotta love.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Porto Rico Label : Ribbon Genres et styles : latino / pop Année : 2020
Buscabulla

Regresa

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Les Portoricains Raquel Berríos et Luis Alfredo Del Valle – partenaires à la scène comme à la ville – se sont installés à New York il y a quelques années, où ils ont mis au point leur numéro de chansons et de danse sexy. Mais après l’ouragan Maria, leur île les a rappelés à la maison. C’est donc là qu’a été fait ce nouvel album, dont le titre se traduit par « retour ». Le retour à la maison a été doux-amer; les chansons de Regresa débordent de couleurs vives, mais portent une grosse égratignure.

La touche de reggaetón frivole et de vaporwave qui a marqué les débuts du duo dans le circuit des bars miteux de New York demeure, s’y ajoutent des effets subtilement psychédéliques et un groove latin qui donne envie de se déhancher sous les palmiers. Mais il y a bien plus que ça.

La musique ne rappelle ni Tito Puente ni Willie Colón, ni même Ricky Martin, mais plutôt la pop stylée et raffinée dite « adulte » des années 80 d’artistes comme Sade (de façon frappante, sur Mío) et Talk Talk (Nydia, chanson dédiée à la célèbre star de cinéma portoricain qui avait suivi un parcours similaire à l’époque). Les somptueux arrangements de Club Tú y Yo sont signés Helado Negro.

Les paroles portent autant sur les épreuves qu’ont connues l’île et ses habitants que sur des aspects intimes de la vie de couple. Bref, le chagrin et l’espoir vont ici main dans la main, accompagnés de beaucoup d’amour.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre