×
Country : Canada Label : Indépendant Genres and styles : Classical / Contemporary / Persian Year : 2020
Farhad Khosravi

Mosafèr

· by Michel Rondeau

Portishead’s “Sour Times”, from their 1994 debut album (yes, it’s been over 25 years!), with its sample from Lalo Schifrin’s soundtrack to an episode of Mission: Impossible, was the first time many people discovered the santur, an Iranian instrument with a unique sound, its 72 strings played with two small hammers. One of its sonic peculiarities is that it has a “sustain”, a very long hold which makes it suitable for modal music and improvisation. Thanks to its polyphonic effect, it sometimes sounds as if several instruments are being played at the same time.

Mosàfer is the second album from Farhad Khosravi, an Iranian-born santurist who’s been living in Alberta since 2012. The fruit of a long journey, it’s inspired by the life of his mother and the writings of the Iranian poet Sohrab Sepehri, and focuses on the stages of life, its challenges and torments.

Of the seven pieces on the programme, Khosravi is accompanied only by a lone percussionist, so he has all the latitude he needs to display the timbral possibilities of his instrument in a dense, sometimes poignant framework, as in the two-part piece “Day of War”. 

With its long notes that stretch and rise in the night like sparks from a campfire, Mosafèr makes an excellent soundtrack for contemplating the Perseids, and watching for shooting stars.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada Label : Indépendant Genres et styles : classique / musique contemporaine / perse Année : 2020
Farhad Khosravi

Mosafèr

· par Michel Rondeau

C’est avec la pièce Sour Times du premier album de Portishead, de 1994 (eh oui ! déjà plus de 25 ans !), et son échantillon tiré de la bande-son d’un épisode de Mission Impossible signée par l’Argentin Lalo Schifrin, que bien des gens ont découvert le santour, cet instrument de musique iranien au timbre si particulier constitué de 72 cordes dont on joue avec deux petits marteaux. L’une de ses particularités phoniques est qu’il possède un « sustain », une tenue très longue qui le rend apte à la musique et l’improvisation modales. Grâce à son effet polyphonique on a parfois l’impression d’entendre plusieurs instruments en même temps.

Mosàfer est le second album de Farhad Khosravi, santouriste d’origine iranienne installé en Alberta depuis 2012. Fruit d’un long cheminement, il est inspiré de la vie de sa mère et de textes du poète iranien Sohrab Sepehri, et porte sur les étapes de la vie, ses défis et ses tourments.

Sur les sept pièces au programme, Khosravi n’est accompagné que d’un percussioniste, il a donc toute la latitude nécessaire pour faire étalage des possibilités timbrales de son instrument, dans une trame dense, parfois poignante, comme sur la pièce en deux parties Day of War

Avec ses longues notes qui s’étirent et montent dans la nuit comme les étincelles d’un feu de camp, Mosafèr constitue une excellente bande-son pour contempler les Perséides et guetter les étoiles filantes.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre