Country : Germany / Latvia / Québec Canada Label : ATMA Classique Genres and styles : Baroque / Classical / Contemporary Year : 2022

Marina Thibeault – Viola Borealis

· by Frédéric Cardin

What an original, stimulating and contrasting programme! Marina Thibeault is the leading viola soloist that Quebec and Canada have been waiting for. Of course, we have known many excellent violinists who have played the viola with panache, but a local artist who identifies specifically and with such talent with this little-known and underrated instrument? The time had come!

The programme brings together contrasting sound worlds by programming the most recent of the viola concertos, at least until proven otherwise (that of the Latvian Peteris Vasks) and the first in history, in all likelihood (that of Telemann). Added to this are two pieces for solo viola by the Canadian-born, partly Anishinabe Melody McKiver. Canada, Latvia and northern Germany (Telemann worked largely in Hamburg) incidentally make up the conceptual fabric of the album (the Borealis of the title).

The Vasks Concerto is an accessible and very attractive work. The first movement is all long, sweeping phrases, supported by an attractive tonal cushion that expresses a narrative dynamic of tenderness and melancholy. The cinematic quality of its writing induces strong dramatic impressions. The second movement is dance-like, with folk-trad accents, while the third movement takes on tragic, almost funereal colors, in a sustained back-and-forth between strong pathos and exuberant nervousness that struggles to stay under control. The final chapter of this poignant and grandiose tale first brings us back to an effusive dialogue between the viola and the orchestra’s darkly planted strings, where the shadow of Arvo Pärt appears (I am thinking here of the Estonian’s Cantus). The journey ends gently, the viola gradually and solitarily receding, leaving us emotionally satiated but ready to repeat the experience any time soon.

Marina’s fleshed-out, powerfully communicative, and adequately nuanced playing leaves its mark on us and cannot leave anyone indifferent. The Agora orchestra, conducted by Nicolas Ellis, supports her with great care. Wonderful!

McKiver’s Ningodwaaswi and Niizh for solo viola are sober, introspective, and intimate soliloquies. McKiver uses them as a vehicle to reflect on his/her (McKiver is non-binary) Anishinabe origins and on the effects, especially the wounds, of the unfortunate episode of residential schools. Marina Thibeault seems to be in perfect harmony with the character of the pieces, which are both touching and uncluttered. The repetitive minimalist language makes the two short works easy to appreciate without making them overly sentimental.

Telemann’s Concerto for G major, TWV 51: G9 has the reputation of being the first of its kind in history. The mark of the Italian Baroque is strong, with eminently Vivaldian and Corellian overtones. It is a luminous, dashing and melodically catchy work. Marina and the Agora orchestra demonstrate that the achievements of historically informed playing have indeed permeated the collective consciousness of contemporary musicians, even those who do not specialise in strict ‘baroque’ repertoire and instrumentation.

A great success.

Latest 360 Content

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Vampire Weekend – Only God Was Above Us

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

Karina Gauvin – Marie Hubert : Fille du Roy

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

P’tit Belliveau Talks About His New Album, Frogs, and Income Tax

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

At Annie-Claude Deschênes’ table: between utensils & sound experimentation

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Noah Kahan: An Emotive Performance with Goofy Banter

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

Université de Montréal | Jean-François Rivest’s Grandiose Farewell

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

OSL | Naomi Woo | Musique du Nouveau Monde

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Anderson & Roe, piano duo great innovators

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

Nadia Labrie – Flute Passion – Claude Bolling : Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

David Jalbert – Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas vol. II

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

HOMESHAKE – CD Wallet

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Hawa B or not Hawa B ? “sadder but better” EP answers the question !

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Willows and Soleil Launière: A post-eclipse luminous evening

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Kevin Johansen – Quiero Mejor

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Shades of Bowie, composed for the man behind Blackstar

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Bahar Harandi’s feminist Iran

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Sunglaciers – Regular Nature

Canicule – BOYZ

Canicule – BOYZ

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

David Jacques – 16 histoires de guitares III

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Abel Selaocoe: the wind that blows away

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Single of The Day – “everyday it rains” – Sea Shapes

Tolemn – Jango

Tolemn – Jango

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Single of the Day – “OVEROVEROVER” – OH, BERLIN

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Beyoncé – Cowboy Carter

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Allemagne / Lettonie / Québec Canada Label : ATMA Classique Genres et styles : baroque / classique / musique contemporaine Année : 2022

Marina Thibeault – Viola Borealis

· par Frédéric Cardin

Que voilà un programme à la fois original, stimulant et contrasté! Marina Thibeault est l’altiste soliste de premier plan que le Québec et le Canada attendaient depuis longtemps. Nous avons bien sûr connu de nombreux et excellents violonistes qui ont joué l’alto avec panache, mais une artiste d’ici qui s’identifie spécifiquement et avec autant de talent à cet instrument mal aimé et encore méconnu? Le temps était venu!

Le programme fait la synthèse des contrastes en programmant le plus récent des concertos pour alto, du moins jusqu’à preuve du contraire (celui du Letton Peteris Vasks) et de premier de l’histoire, selon toute vraisemblance (celui de Telemann). S’y ajoutent deux pièces pour alto solo du/de la compositeur.trice anichinabée Melody McKiver (iel se définit comme non-binaire). Le Canada, la Lettonie et l’Allemagne du Nord (Telemann a oeuvré en grande partie à Hambourg) finissent de tisser la toile conceptuelle de l’album (le Borealis du titre). 

Le Concerto de Vasks est une œuvre accessible et très séduisante. Le premier mouvement est tout en phrases longues et amples, appuyées sur un coussin harmonique tonal attrayant qui exprime une dynamique narrative faite de tendresse et de mélancolie. La qualité cinématographique de son écriture induit de fortes impressions dramatiques. Le deuxième mouvement est dansant, avec des accents folk-trad tandis que le troisième se pare de couleurs tragiques, presque funèbres, dans un va et vient soutenu entre pathos appuyé et nervosité exutoire peinant à demeurer sous contrôle. Le chapitre final de ce récit poignant et grandiose nous ramène d’abord à un dialogue épanché entre l’alto et les cordes plantureusement ténébreuses de l’orchestre, où l’ombre d’Arvo Pärt se manifeste (je pense ici à son Cantus). Le périple se termine tout en douceur, l’alto s’éloignant progressivement et solitairement et nous laissant repus d’émotions, mais prêts à répéter l’expérience de sitôt.

Le jeu étoffé, puissamment communicatif et adéquatement nuancé de Marina s’imprime en nous et ne peut laisser personne indifférent. L’orchestre de l’Agora sous la direction de Nicolas Ellis la soutient avec une grande attention. Magnifique!

Ningodwaaswi et Niizh pour alto solo de McKiver sont des soliloques sobres, introspectifs et intimistes. McKiver s’en sert comme véhicule d’une réflexion sans débordement sur ses origines anichinabées et sur les effets ressentis, les blessures surtout, suite à l’épisode malheureux des pensionnats autochtones. Marina Thibeault semble en parfaite symbiose avec le caractère des pièces, à la fois touchantes et dépouillées. Le langage de type minimaliste répétitif rend les deux courtes œuvres faciles à apprécier sans les rendre larmoyantes.

Le Concerto pour alto en sol majeur, TWV 51: G9 de Telemann a la réputation d’être le premier du genre dans l’histoire. La marque du baroque italianisant y est forte, avec des connotations éminemment vivaldiennes et corelliennes. C’est une œuvre lumineuse, pimpante et mélodiquement accrocheuse. Marina et l’orchestre de l’Agora démontrent que les acquis du jeu historiquement informé ont bel et bien perlé dans la conscience collective des musiciens contemporains, même ceux et celles qui ne se spécialisent pas dans le ‘’baroquisme’’ strict.

Une grande réussite.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre