×
Country : India Label : Death Disco Disaster Genres and styles : Filmi Year : 2020
Artistes variés

Lost Tapes From India

· by Rupert Bottenberg

To clarify for the reader, the tapes from which this compilation was assembled weren’t lost. A buddy of the compiler found them in a box on the sidewalk on garbage day in Lisbon. One stranger’s trash, however, proved to be a treasure chest for Portuguese DJ, documentarian and digger of crates Eduardo Morais, aka Death Disco Disaster.

The rescued cassettes were a randomized review of Bollywood in the early ’90s – an interesting period for filmi, India’s cinematic pop music. The cheesy disco had been discarded, the anarchic invention and appropriation of the ’80s firmed up into a more formal code, and production quality was on an upswing. 

Synths were ubiquitous by that point, and they’re all over Abhijeet’s robo-calypso “Pum Pum Pum”, Anu Malik’s two fluorescent electro-funk items, and several also from Bappi Lahiri, a Bollywood synth pioneer. These include the sly “O Lal Dupatte Wali”, the hilarious “Kisi Ko Daulat Ki Tension Tension”, and in a more “classic” Bollywood vein, the bouncy “Chhan Chhan Baje Ghungroo”. On a similar tip is the fraternal duo Anand-Milind’s spellbinding “Meri Tirchi Nazar Mein”, sung by Alka Yagnik.

Morais has done a solid job of selecting the best tracks from the box, fortifying the mixes, and dicing and splicing just enough to make the material work well in an awesome-mix-tape context.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Inde Label : Death Disco Disaster Genres et styles : filmi Année : 2020
Artistes variés

Lost Tapes From India

· par Rupert Bottenberg

Précisons d’abord que les bandes à partir desquelles cette compil a été assemblée n’ont pas été perdues. Un copain du compilateur les a trouvées dans une boîte sur le trottoir un jour de cueillette des ordures à Lisbonne. Les poubelles d’un inconnu se sont révélées un véritable coffre au trésor pour le DJ, documentariste et fureteur portugais Eduardo Morais, alias Death Disco Disaster.

Les cassettes sauvées de l’oubli présentent un panorama du Bollywood du début des années 90, une période intéressante pour le filmi, la musique pop du cinéma indien. La période disco kétaine était bien révolue, celle de l’invention et de l’appropriation anarchiques des années 80 s’était stabilisée en un code plus formel et la qualité de la production était en hausse.

Les synthés étaient alors omniprésents et on en trouve en abondance sur le calypso robotique Pum Pum Pum d’Abhijeet, les deux électro-funk fluorescents d’Anu Malik et plusieurs titres de Bappi Lahiri, un pionnier du synthé de Bollywood. Parmi ceux-ci figurent l’espiègle O Lal Dupatte Wali, l’hilarant Kisi Ko Daulat Ki Tension Tension et, dans une veine Bollywood plus « classique », le bondissant Chhan Chhan Baje Ghungroo. Dans la même veine, le duo fraternel Anand-Milind propose l’envoûtant Meri Tirchi Nazar Mein, chanté par Alka Yagnik.

Morais a fait un solide travail de sélection, revigoré les mixes et fait juste ce qu’il fallait comme montage pour faire briller ce que ces cassettes recelaient comme perles.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre