×
Pays : Estonia / Finland Label : BIS Genres et styles : Choral Music / Classical / Contemporary / Sacred Music Année :

Helsinki Chamber Choir / Nils Schweckendiek – Pärt: Passio

· par Luc Marchessault

A black-and-white picture showing a T-shaped piece of wood, coarsely planed (a realistic choice, since the mechanical wood planer would not be invented for another nineteen centuries), on which hangs a hemp rope. It could be the torso and the arm–or the wing–of some headless angelic figure. Or it could be a cross, which would be fitting since our subject here is the passion of Christ. The image is stunning, and the text reads PÄRT PASSIO – Helsinki Chamber Choir – Nils Schweckendiek.

A long time ago it was customary to recount the Passion of Jesus in plainchant during Holy Week, following the story told by the four evangelists. Composers refined the tradition by creating different settings for the Passion, modifying its structure and incorporating choirs and instrumental parts. Now let us teleport ourselves to the early 1980s, in Vienna then Berlin, where Estonian composer Arvo Pärt settled. Pärt was probably more than fed up with the Soviet authorities; he had notably incurred their wrath a dozen years before when he wrote “I believe in Jesus Christ” in his “Credo”. It’s worth pointing out that to this day, notwithstanding his appearance comparable to a Lutheran minister from the second half of the 19th century, Pärt remains the most revered contemporary composer, among exegetes and music buffs of all tendencies.

Arvo Pärt had brought with him sketches of his own setting of the Passion of Christ , according to the gospel of John. The composition was completed in 1982. Pärt largely used the diaphonic technique he created and called “tintinnabuli”, where two notes become a single one (“One plus one, it is one–it is not two”, the composer would say). The opus was recorded for the first time in 1988 and published by the ECM label, to which Pärt was linked. The honour fell to the Hilliard Ensemble, led by Paul Hillier. It is, at least for the music lover expressing his view here, the driest of the four versions recorded so far. The following one, a bit meatier, was performed by the British ensemble Tonus Peregrinus led by Antony Pitts (Naxos, 2003). Candomino, a Finnish youth choir led by Tauno Satomaa, also did a version (Elatus, 2006).

Nils Schweckendiek, artistic director of the Helsinki Chamber Choir, was at the stand during this recording at St. Paul’s Church in Finland’s capital. Schweckendiek, trained at Clare College in Cambridge, has been the choir’s director since 2007. His reputation as an international promoter of contemporary music is beyond reproach. Hence, the result is more than convincing, Pärt’s opus is more meditative than ever. The violins, cello, oboe and bassoon harmonize in a quasi-supernatural way with the voices of the soloists and choir singers.

No need to specify that such music must not be the churchy people’s prerogative. Listening to this Passion according to Pärt might prompt a bout of mysticism in even the ungodliest music lovers. Holy moly, that’s good music, one might exclaim.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre

×
Pays : Estonie / Finlande Label : BIS Genres et styles : chant choral / classique / musique contemporaine / musique sacrée Année :

Helsinki Chamber Choir / Nils Schweckendiek – Pärt : Passio

· par Luc Marchessault

Une photo en noir et blanc où figure une pièce de bois en équerre, grossièrement varlopée (choix réaliste, la dégauchisseuse mécanique ne fera son apparition que mille neuf cents ans plus tard), sur laquelle repose une corde de chanvre. Ce pourrait être le torse et le bras, ou l’aile, d’une figure angélique sans tête. Ce pourrait aussi être une croix, puisqu’il est ici question de la passion du Christ. L’illustration est saisissante. On peut y lire « PÄRT PASSIO – Helsinki Chamber Choir – Nils Schweckendiek ».

Il était de coutume, il y a fort longtemps, de raconter en plain-chant la passion de Jésus durant la semaine sainte, selon le récit qu’en ont fait les quatre évangélistes. Cette tradition s’est raffinée, des compositeurs ont mis la passion en musique en l’organisant autrement, puis en y intégrant des chœurs et des partitions pour instruments. Téléportons-nous au début des années 1980, à Vienne puis à Berlin, où le compositeur estonien Arvo Pärt a émigré. Il en avait sans doute plein les bottes des autorités soviétiques, dont il s’était notamment attiré les foudres une douzaine d’années plus tôt en déclarant croire en Jésus Christ, dans son Credo. Précisons que Pärt demeure aujourd’hui, nonobstant sa tronche de pasteur luthérien de la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, le compositeur de musique contemporaine le plus adulé, autant de la part des exégètes que des musicophiles de toutes allégeances.

Arvo Pärt avait apporté des ébauches de sa propre mise en musique de la passion du Christ, selon l’évangile de Jean. Le travail de composition allait se terminer en 1982. Il usa largement de sa technique diaphonique du « tintinnabuli », où deux notes ne font qu’une (« Un plus un égale un, pas deux », comme l’avait affirmé le compositeur). L’œuvre allait être enregistrée pour la première fois en 1988 et publiée par l’étiquette ECM, à laquelle Pärt était lié. L’honneur revint au Hilliard Ensemble, sous la direction de Paul Hillier. Il s’agit, pour le musicophile qui s’exprime ici, de la version la plus sèche des quatre qui ont été endisquées. La suivante, plus charnue, provient de l’ensemble britannique Tonus Peregrinus dirigé par Antony Pitts (Naxos, 2003). Le chœur de jeunes Finlandais Candomino, dirigé par Tauno Satomaa, en fit aussi un enregistrement (Elatus, 2006).

Nils Schweckendiek, directeur artistique du Chamber Choir d’Helsinki, tenait la baguette lorsque la version dont il est ici question a été enregistrée à l’église Saint-Paul de la capitale finlandaise. Schweckendiek, formé au Clare College de Cambridge, dirige ce chœur depuis 2007. Sa réputation de promoteur international de la musique contemporaine n’est plus à faire. Le résultat est plus que probant, l’œuvre de Pärt devient plus propice que jamais au recueillement. Les violons, le violoncelle, le hautbois et le basson s’harmonisent de façon quasi surnaturelle avec les voix des solistes et des choristes.

Nul besoin de préciser que cette musique ne doit pas être l’apanage des grenouilles de bénitier. Les musicophiles les plus impies risquent de se péter une crise de mysticisme, à l’écoute de cette passion selon Pärt. De la sacrée bonne musique, comme on dit.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre