Country : Brazil / Canada Label : Red Shift Genres and styles : Brazilian / Classical / Contemporary / Electroacoustic / Experimental / Contemporary Year : 2020

Going North

· by Michel Rondeau

A native of Brazil who lives in Banff, Luciane Cardassi is a pianist and composer who has been active for some 20 years in the field of contemporary music. Going North is a homage to her native and adopted countries that includes eight works by composers from both.

These works are part of the artistic movement known as magic realism, which aims to offer a renewed and expanded vision of reality by taking into consideration the strangeness, irrationality, and mystery it harbours. A good example would be, in literature, One Hundred Years of Solitude, a masterpiece by the writer who won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982, Colombia’s Gabriel Garcia Marquez. In cinema, the films by Serbia’s Emir Kusturica (Time of the Gypsies, Underground) and, closer to home, by Marc-André Forcier (Au Clair de la lune, Une histoire inventée) illustrate it well.

How does this translate into music? First of all, in the case at hand, by the presence of electronic and acousmatic spices hidden in the folds of this sometimes angular music, but also by the bursts of voices, narrative elements, and bits of dialogue in different languages, as in a collage, which is quite psychedelic at times but rather confusing because of its numerous tone breaks in the opening piece.

The more accessible “Berimbau” – as its title suggests – plays the Brazilian card to the fullest with an plethora of rhythmic elements produced by the instrument. An abundance of electronic effects, echoes, superimposed voices… it’s the most immediately inviting and exciting piece of the lot.

Elsewhere, the music is sometimes more stripped down and bewitching, sometimes more complex, making use of the wide range of techniques in piano playing, including those inside the instrument. Of course, this type of compositional work requires careful sound processing at the recording level. Clarity and sharpness, meticulous spatialization, judicious dosage of reverberation, the production reveals itself completely and allows one to abandon oneself at leisure to the secrets of magical realism.

Latest 360 Content

Suoni: regarding Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason “Blackbird” Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: regarding Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason “Blackbird” Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Suoni  | Sick of Fun

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Suoni, June 17 | Reverberations, voices and multiple reflections

Convulsing – Perdurance

Convulsing – Perdurance

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Darkthrone – It Beckons Us All…….

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Ulcerate – Cutting the Throat of God

Botanist – Paleobotany

Botanist – Paleobotany

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Jordan Hamilton – Project Freedom

Nino Carlos &  Friends – Placenta

Nino Carlos & Friends – Placenta

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Arooj Aftab – Night Reign

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Samuel Hasselhorn – Urlicht : Songs of Death and Resurrection

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

Suoni per il popolo | The socially committed and fiery jazz of Irreversible Entanglements

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

JAKŌ and his experimental soundscapes at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Ishi Tishi and their Evening With All The Animals at Suoni

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

Suoni per il popolo | A chat with a contemporary music legend: Howard Skempton

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

June 13 at Suoni Per Il Popolo: No Hay Banda with Sarah Davachi and Nadah El-Shazly + Sarah Pagé

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

Habitat Sonore at Centre Phi| Summer playlist and ideal venue for active, immersive listening

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

HABITAT SONORE :  the music that rocks Montreal… and the Phi Center !

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Piknic Électronik | Pretty Privilege is aiming joy and sassiness

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Suoni | Sarah Davachi and the idea of being played by No Hay Banda

Subscribe to our newsletter

Going North

· par Michel Rondeau

Native du Brésil installée à Banff, Luciane Cardassi est une pianiste et compositrice active depuis une vingtaine d’années dans le domaine de la musique contemporaine. Going North constitue un disque-hommage à son pays natal et à son pays d’adoption qui comprend huit œuvres signées par des compositeurs des deux pays.

Celles-ci se réclament du courant artistique appelé « réalisme magique » qui entend proposer une vision du réel renouvelée et élargie par la prise en considération de la part d’étrangeté, d’irrationalité et de mystère qu’il recèle. Un bon exemple serait, en littérature, Cent ans de solitude, chef-d’œuvre de l’écrivain lauréat du prix Nobel de littérature en 1982, le Colombien Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Au cinéma, les films (Le Temps des gitans, Underground) du Serbe Emir Kusturica et, plus près de nous, de Marc-André Forcier (Au Clair de la lune, Une histoire inventée) l’illustrent bien.

Comment cela se traduit-il en musique ? D’abord, dans le cas qui nous occupe, par la présence d’épices électroniques et acousmatiques cachées dans les replis de cette musique parfois anguleuse, mais aussi d’éclats de voix, d’éléments narratifs et de bribes de dialogues en différentes langues, comme dans le collage assez psychédélique par moments mais passablement déroutant en raison de ses nombreuses ruptures de ton de la pièce d’ouverture.

Plus accessible, Berimbau – comme son titre le laisse deviner – joue à fond la carte de la brésilianité par un foisonnement d’éléments rythmiques produits par ledit instrument. Abondance d’effets électroniques, écho, superposition de voix… c’est la pièce la plus immédiatement accessible et la plus excitante du lot.

Ailleurs, la musique se fait tantôt plus dépouillée et envoûtante, tantôt plus complexe et s’emploie à mettre à profit l’éventail des techniques étendues du jeu pour piano, y compris celles qui se jouent à l’intérieur du piano. Bien entendu, un travail semblable sur le plan des compositions nécessite un traitement sonore soigné au niveau de l’enregistrement. Clarté et netteté, spatialisation méticuleuse, judicieux dosage des effets de réverbération, la réalisation se révèle à la hauteur et permet de s’abandonner à loisir aux secrets du réalisme magique.

Tout le contenu 360

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Zaho de Sagazan achève sa conquête de l’Amérique franco

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Clôture des Francos | La soul/ R&B francophone sous les projecteurs

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Eddy de Pretto, entre douceur et défoulement

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Francos | Valence, la beauté de l’insomnie

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

Du Miel de montagne, de la Bagarre, du punk manière DVTR

La meilleure version de Karkwa

La meilleure version de Karkwa

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Suoni: retour sur Luke Stewart + Tcheser Holmes + Aquiles Navarro + Keir Neuringer + Nicolas Caloia + skin tone + Geneviève Gauthier + Jason « Blackbird » Selman + Charlotte Layec + Dave Rempis + Tashi Dorji + Eric Hove

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Présente ta chanson | Dankoroba par Djely Tapa

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Suoni  | Sick of Fun… vraiment malade !

Wisp – Pandora

Wisp – Pandora

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Philippe Brach aux Francos : party caniculaire sur la Place des Festivals

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Dômesicle à la SAT | Dombrance: costard, moustache, frenchy électro… party !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Hommage à l’ami JP aux Francos… Écoute ça !

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Daniel Boucher, sérénité flamboyante

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Aliocha Schneider aux Francos | Paysage de la Grèce, chaleur de Montréal

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Hermanos Gutiérrez – Sonido Cosmico

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

Aquaserge – La fin de l’économie

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

DoNormaal – Palmspringa

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Suoni, un 17 juin | Réverbérations, voix et réflexions multiples

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Lili St-Cyr et les folles nuits de Montréal

Des filles qui rockent

Des filles qui rockent

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Yamê aux Francos de Montréal: un pari réussi !

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre