×
Country : Canada (Quebec) Label : Effendi Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz / Jazz Year : 2020
Alain Bédard / Auguste Quartet

Exalta Calma

· by Ralph Boncy

What? You don’t know the Augustus Quartet? Yet, this Montreal jazz band of flexible numbers has been around for 23 years! And now, this spring, they’re presenting their sixth album. From one album to the next, the only common denominator for Auguste is the unfailing presence of respected double bassist Alain Bédard – him again! – who also composes most of the material and chooses a mysterious title in Latin for almost every opus, including this one (in all contrast), Exalta Calma.

This is yet another demonstration of the sacred sense of humour that binds these artists together under the banner of Effendi records. Contrary to the label’s reputation, which too often has a too-serious, even hermetic or cerebral jazz inclination, the menu of this new volume features compositions with contemporary and resolutely elaborate structures, but all inspired by rather zany characters and places, such as “Pou Titi”, “La méli-mélo”, “Queen Ketchup”, “La chaneleone” (dedicated to a formidable seductress) or “Debout au bout du Bout-du-Banc”, which evokes the sky and sea of the Magdalen Islands.

Of particular note is the presence of drummer Michel Lambert, a veteran who has worked with Auguste before, and the joint participation of two great jazzmen who have distinguished themselves on the local scene. First, alto saxophonist and soprano Mario Allard, blowing to heart’s content, and, to freshen things up, the now indispensable Swiss pianist Félix Stüssi. These friends met again – still with Bédard as a pillar – in Jazzlab Orchestra for the excellent album Quintessence. This didn’t prevent them from simultaneously delivering projects that were close to their hearts, such as the solo album Diaporama for Allard and the Supernova 4, in which Félix plays D’Artagnan with the three musketeers Derome, Guilbeault, and Tanguay, the super trio.

Recorded last summer at Piccolo, this collection of new and open music by the venerable AQ ends with “Insomnia”, a slice of suspense worthy of a film noir that makes us want to say, “Don’t give up, guys!”

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada (Québec) Label : Effendi Genres et styles : jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Alain Bédard / Auguste Quartet

Exalta Calma

· par Ralph Boncy

Quoi? Vous ne connaissez pas l’Auguste Quartet? Pourtant, cette formation jazz montréalaise à géométrie variable existe bien depuis 23 années! Et voici qu’elle nous présente, ce printemps, son sixième disque. D’un album à l’autre, le seul dénominateur commun chez Auguste, c’est la présence immuable du respecté contrebassiste Alain Bédard – encore lui! – qui compose aussi la majeure partie du matériel et choisit un mystérieux titre en latin pour presque chaque opus, dont celui-ci (tout en contraste), Exalta Calma.

Voilà qui démontre encore le sacré sens de l’humour reliant ces artistes sous la bannière des disques Effendi. Contrairement à la réputation du label à qui l’on colle trop souvent une vocation de jazz trop sérieux, voire hermétique ou cérébral, le menu de ce nouveau volume présente, certes, des compositions aux structures contemporaines et résolument élaborées, mais toutes inspirées par des personnages et des lieux plutôt loufoques, comme Pou Titi, La méli-mélo, Queen Ketchup, La chaneleone (dédiée à une redoutable séductrice) ou encore Debout au bout du Bout-du-Banc qui évoque le ciel et la mer des Îles de la Madeleine.

À signaler, la présence du batteur Michel Lambert, un vétéran qui a déjà œuvré avec Auguste auparavant, et la participation conjointe de deux formidables jazzmen qui se sont distingués sur la scène locale. D’abord le saxophoniste alto et soprano Mario Allard, qui souffle tout son saoul, et, pour rafraîchir le tout, le désormais incontournable pianiste suisse Félix Stüssi. Ces compères se sont retrouvés – toujours avec Bédard comme pilier – au sein du Jazzlab Orchestra pour l’excellentissime album Quintessence. Ce qui ne les a pas empêchés de livrer simultanément des projets qui leur tenaient à cœur, comme l’album solo Diaporama chez Allard et le Supernova 4 dans lequel l’ami Félix joue les D’Artagnan avec les trois mousquetaires, Derome, Guilbeault et Tanguay, le super trio.

Enregistré l’été dernier chez Piccolo, ce recueil de musiques nouvelles et ouvertes du vénérable AQ se termine par Insomnia, un suspense digne d’un film noir qui nous donne l’envie de dire : « Lâchez pas les gars! »

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre