×
Country : Russia Label : Gitaracula Genres and styles : Rock / Surf Year : 2020
Messer Chups

Don’t Say Cheese

· by Rupert Bottenberg

Russia’s leading contribution to the retro reverb revival of the last few decades is Messer Chups, which is tremolo tsar Oleg Gitaracula and his rhythm section, bassist Zombierella and drummer Rockin’ Eugene – a pair that are almost literal incarnations of The Rocky & Bullwinkle Show’s Boris and Natasha. 

Their latest of many albums was released on the first of May, which would have been like the Fourth of July for these comrades from Saint Petersburg, were we still in the Cold War era. That’s the antiquated zeitgeist the trio wallow in, though it isn’t Soviet kitsch that turns their cranks, but rather all-American Atomic Age trash culture – particularly vintage horror movies.

Funny thing about Messer Chups is how much more conventional they’ve become over the 20 years they’ve been at it. Their early records were rife with snatches of B-movie dialogue, Halloween sound effects, and strange instrumentation. They were like the creature-feature complement to the kitsch retrofuturism of Man or Astro-man? in a drive-in double bill. Both bands treated the proverbial rock ’n’ roll garage as a science lab.

Don’t Say Cheese sticks tight to straightforward surf rock, tossing in in a bit of burlesque R&B grind (“Cadabra Box Pandora Strip”), and several curious covers. These include a variant on the prototypical synth-pop tune “Popcorn”, which they’ve covered before, and a surprisingly beautiful instrumental of Chris Isaak’s tearjerker “Wicked Game”. Two originals are reprised with vocals c/o Zombierella, whose spooky Slavic femme-fatale affectations are a definite plus. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Russie Label : Gitaracula Genres et styles : rock / surf Année : 2020
Messer Chups

Don’t Say Cheese

· par Rupert Bottenberg

La principale contribution de la Russie au retour en force du reverb ces dernières décennies s’appelle Messer Chups, avec le tsar du trémolo Oleg Gitaracula et sa section rythmique, la bassiste Zombierella et le batteur Rockin’ Eugene – un tandem qui est la réincarnation presque parfaite de Boris et Natasha, des Aventures de Rocky et Bullwinkle.

Le plus récent de leurs nombreux albums est sorti le 1er mai, ce qui serait comme le 14 juillet pour ces camarades de Saint-Pétersbourg si nous étions encore à l’époque de la guerre froide. Le trio se complaît dans l’air du temps rétro, bien que ce ne soit pas le kitsch soviétique qui leur fasse tourner la tête mais plutôt la culture trash américaine de l’ère atomique, en particulier les films d’horreur d’époque.

Ce qui est drôle dans le cas de Messer Chups, c’est que le groupe est devenu beaucoup plus conventionnel au cours de ses 20 ans d’existence. Ses premiers disques regorgeaient de bribes de dialogues de films de série B, d’effets sonores d’Halloween et d’instruments étranges. Il était comme le complément film de monstres au rétrofuturisme kitsch du groupe Man or Astro-man ? dans un programme double au drive-in. Les deux formations se sont servi du rock de garage comme d’un laboratoire scientifique.

Don’t Say Cheese s’en tient au surf rock classique, avec parfois un zeste de R&B burlesque (Cadabra Box Pandora Strip) et plusieurs reprises curieuses. Parmi celles-ci on retrouve une variante de la pièce synth-pop prototypique Popcorn, déjà reprises par le groupe, et une version instrumentale étonnamment réussie de la déchirante ballade Wicked Game de Chris Isaak. Deux titres originaux sont chantés par Zombierella, dont le personnage de femme fatale slave constitue un atout certain.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre