×
Rob Mazurek, Exploding Star Orchestra

Dimensional Stardust

· by Steve Naud

American composer and trumpet player Rob Mazurek’s Dimensional Stardust is a record released simultaneously on two labels: Nonesuch (which jazz, contemporary music and world sound lovers have known for decades) and the very young International Anthem, which has been shaking up the small world of jazz by presenting the music of Chicago’s very lively scene. In 2014, the label’s very first album was Alternate Moon Cycles by the veteran Mazurek. He’s now back with a recording featuring his Exploding Star Orchestra, a rotating big band he’s been conducting for many years.

An iconoclastic creator if ever there was one, Mazurek happily mixes genres on this new opus. Hearing the strings playing from the very first bars of the disc, one would think one was dealing with a work of modern classical music, but the dancing rhythm that begins to accompany these strings immediately propels the listener into as yet unexplored areas of the cosmos. As one moves through this auditory kaleidoscope, the glittering jazz nebulae, contemporary-music quasars and shimmering electronic comets become visible. One by one, we think of Béla Bartók, Igor Stravinsky, Gil Evans, Muhal Richard Abrams and, above all, his cosmic highness Sun Ra and his famous Space Is the Place, to which this journey to the ends of space-time brings us back. 

To put together his new Exploding Star Orchestra, Mazurek has summoned the cream of the Chicago jazz galaxy. Among all these space explorers, a few make more remarkable passages: the string duo formed by Macie Stewart and Tomeka Reid, Damon Locks who brilliantly plays his role of exalted astro-narrator, the vibraphonist Joel Ross who weaves constellations of fluorescent stars and above all the great Nicole Mitchell, whose flute acts as a rocket gracefully crossing the fascinating universe imagined by the brain of Rob Mazurek, mastermind of this impressive phantasmagoria.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Rob Mazurek, Exploding Star Orchestra

Dimensional Stardust

· par Steve Naud

Dimensional Stardust du compositeur et trompettiste américain Rob Mazurek est un disque qui paraît simultanément sous deux étiquettes : Nonesuch (que les amateurs de jazz, de musique contemporaine et de sono mondiale connaissent depuis des décennies) et le tout jeune label International Anthem qui depuis sa naissance bouleverse le petit monde du jazz en nous présentant la musique de la très bouillonnante scène jazz de Chicago. En 2014, le tout premier album que proposait cette étiquette était Alternate Moon Cycles du vétéran Mazurek. Ce dernier est maintenant de retour avec un enregistrement mettant en vedette son Exploding Star Orchestra, un big band à géométrie variable qu’il dirige depuis nombre d’années.

Créateur iconoclaste s’il en fut, Mazurek brasse joyeusement les genres sur ce nouvel opus. En entendant les cordes qui jouent dès les premières mesures du disque, on croirait avoir affaire à une œuvre de musique classique moderne, mais le rythme dansant qui se met à accompagner ces cordes nous propulse aussitôt vers des zones encore inexplorées du cosmos. À mesure que l’on évolue au sein de ce kaléidoscope auditif, on peut admirer de scintillantes nébuleuses jazz, des quasars de musique contemporaine et de chatoyantes comètes électroniques. Tour à tour, on pense à Béla Bartók, Igor Stravinski, Gil Evans, Muhal Richard Abrams et, surtout, à son altesse cosmique Sun Ra et son fameux Space Is the Place auquel ce voyage aux confins de l’espace-temps nous ramène. 

Pour mettre sur pied sa nouvelle mouture de l’Exploding Star Orchestra, Mazurek a convoqué la crème de la galaxie jazz chicagoane. Parmi tous ces explorateurs spatiaux, quelques-uns font des passages plus remarqués : le duo de cordes formé par Macie Stewart et Tomeka Reid, Damon Locks qui joue avec brio son rôle d’astro-narrateur exalté, le vibraphoniste Joel Ross qui tisse des constellations d’astres fluorescents et surtout la grande Nicole Mitchell dont la flûte fait office de fusée traversant avec grâce l’univers fascinant imaginé par le cerveau de Rob Mazurek, maître d’œuvre de cette impressionnante fantasmagorie.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre