×
Country : Canada / Québec Label : Indépendant Genres and styles : New Wave / Post-Punk / Rock Year : 2020
Julien Dumont

Constance perdue

· by Luc Marchessault

At the bend of a synaptic path in Pascal Dumont-Julien’s musical mind, Madame Wire met Monsieur Malajube; they fraternized and produced an offspring that they named Julien Dumont, in homage to their host’s cerebral matter. Little Julien was entrusted to an experienced nanny, Madame Indochine, who fed and raised him in a hurry. Julien, precocious as ever, released his first album, which he entitled Constance perdue, shortly afterwards.

This Constance perdue promptly ended up between our ears and informed us, with a somewhat self-satisfied smile on its lips, that we were facing a melancholic opus of exception, from the new wave and post-punk sector of the universe, with occasional touches of retro ethereal music (cf. Spiral-era Vangelis). Local product, on top of that. “There is no love, emptiness is all around”, Julien sings on “Boréalie”. In fact, the Constance of the title seems to give the narrator a lot of sentimental threads to twist.

A young veteran of the uncompromising groups Moussette and Bateau Noir, Julien Dumont wrote all the lyrics except for “Un autre monde”, by Jean-Louis Aubert (Téléphone). This cover is one of the songs – the other being “Pour toujours” – whose crystalline guitar evokes Indochine.

Also on board here are Chantal Ambridge on vocals, Thomas Augustin (Malajube) on keyboards, Frédéric Sauvé on bass, Simon Bilodeau on drums, and Rémy Nadeau-Aubin on guitar. In the arrangements department, Julien teamed up with Jean-François Mineau (a colleague from Bateau Noir), as well as the aforementioned Chantal Ambridge, Frédéric Sauvé and Thomas Augustin, who, along with Julien, jointly produced this short (28 minutes) but very substantial album.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada / Québec Label : Indépendant Genres et styles : new wave / post-punk / rock Année : 2020
Julien Dumont

Constance perdue

· par Luc Marchessault

Au détour d’un chemin synaptique, dans l’encéphale musical de Pascal Dumont-Julien, Madame Wire rencontra naguère Monsieur Malajube; ils fraternisèrent et produisirent un rejeton qu’ils nommèrent Julien Dumont, en hommage à leur cerveau-hôte. Le petit Julien fut confié à une nourrice chevronnée, Madame Indochine, qui le gava illico et le sevra presto. Julien, précoce comme pas un, lança peu après son premier album, qu’il intitula Constance perdue.

Puis, Constance perdue nous est abouti entre les oreilles et nous avons dû constater, un sourire mi-béat mi-satisfait aux lèvres, que nous tenions là un opus melancholium de choix, dans le secteur new wave et post-punk de l’univers, avec des touches occasionnelles de musique planante rétro (cf. Vangelis, époque Spiral). Opus créé ici, par-dessus le marché. « Y’a pas d’amour – C’est vide autour », chante Julien dans la pièce Boréalie. De fait, la Constance du titre semble donner au narrateur pas mal de fil sentimental à retordre.

Jeune vétéran ayant notamment fait ses armes au sein des formations sans compromis Moussette et Bateau Noir, Julien a écrit tous les textes, sauf celui d’Un autre monde, qui provient de Jean-Louis Aubert (Téléphone). Cette reprise est d’ailleurs l’une des pièces – l’autre est Pour toujours – dont la guitare cristalline évoque Indochine.

Rayon exécution, Julien s’est adjoint Chantal Ambridge au chant, Thomas Augustin (Malajube) aux claviers, Frédéric Sauvé à la basse, Simon Bilodeau à la batterie et Rémy Nadeau-Aubin à la guitare. Rayon partitions, Julien a fait équipe avec Jean-François Mineau (un collègue de chez Bateau Noir), ainsi qu’avec les susmentionnés Chantal Ambridge, Frédéric Sauvé et Thomas Augustin, qui a réalisé conjointement, avec Julien, ce court – 28 minutes – mais fort substantiel album.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre