×
Country : United States Label : Drag City Genres and styles : Folk / Psych-Rock / Rock Year : 2020
Six Organs of Admittance

Companion Rises

· by Steve Naud

Ben Chasny has single-handedly carried the Six Organs of Admittance banner for just over two decades. This worthy descendant of John Fahey and Robbie Basho has taken his guitar – which he plays with virtuosity – to many different terrains: bucolic folk, hypnotic drone, psychedelic rock, visiting the plains of America as much as the ragas of the East.

The electronic sounds that open Companion Rises seem to announce that Chasny will be exploring further new territories. That’s the case, but this little synthetic touch is only one of the components of the overall sound of the album. The musician, rather, has picked out elements here and there from his whole career: instantly recognizable picking on acoustic guitar, acid solos on electric guitar, orientalized rhythmics on “Black Tea”… and the sprinkling throughout of a few electronic interventions. There’s a lot going on on this record!

A bit too much, to be honest. After several listens, we’re still searching for something solid to cling to behind this shimmering mist. The vocals are much too far in the mix and the melodies are tenuous. By the way, some tracks seem to stand out from the crowd (the most spare: the title track, “Black Tea”, “Haunted” and “Known”), but once the album is finished, it leaves few memories behind.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : États-Unis Label : Drag City Genres et styles : folk / rock / rock psychédélique Année : 2020
Six Organs of Admittance

Companion Rises

· par Steve Naud

Ben Chasny porte à lui seul l’étendard Six Organs of Admittance depuis un peu plus d’une vingtaine d’années. Ce digne descendant de John Fahey et Robbie Basho a amené sa guitare – dont il joue de façon virtuose – sur plusieurs terrains : folk bucolique, drone hypnotique, rock psychédélique, visitant autant les plaines americana que les ragas de l’Orient.

Les sonorités électroniques qui ouvrent Companion Rises semblent vouloir nous annoncer que Chasny y ratissera de nouveaux territoires. C’est le cas, mais cette petite touche synthétique n’est qu’une des composantes du son global de l’album. Le musicien a plutôt pigé des éléments ici et là dans l’ensemble de sa carrière : picking instantanément reconnaissable à la guitare acoustique, solos acides à l’électrique, rythmique orientalisante sur Black Tea… Il a ensuite saupoudré le tout de quelques interventions électroniques. Il s’en passe des choses, sur ce disque!

Un peu trop, pour être honnête. Après plusieurs écoutes, nous cherchons toujours du solide où poser l’oreille derrière cette vapeur chatoyante. Le chant est beaucoup trop loin dans le mix et les mélodies sont ténues. Au passage, quelques pièces font mine de se distinguer du lot (les plus dénudées : la chanson-titre, Black Tea, Haunted and Known), mais une fois l’album terminé, il ne nous en reste que bien peu de souvenirs.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre