×
Country : Canada / United States Label : Greenleaf Genres and styles : Contemporary Jazz / Jazz Year : 2020
Webber/Morris Big Band

Both Are True

· by Steve Naud

The Webber/Morris Big Band is a 19-piece ensemble founded five years ago by Canadian saxophonists and composers Anna Webber and Angela Morris. Both of them have made brilliant contributions to today’s jazz scene over the past decade. Both Are True, a work composed by four hands, shows us beyond any doubt that the talent of these two ladies is equal to their wild ambitions.

From the very beginning of “Climbing on Mirrors”, the first piece on the program, our ears wonder if they are not overwhelmed. Has the rhythm just picked up speed? Or has it just slowed down? This unpredictable way of playing with tempo is only one of the distinctive features here. Both composers also know how to play with the timbres and colours of their vast palette. 

After a brief, improvised interlude woven by the saxophones of Webber and Morris, the action resumes with the title track, whose chaotic passages evoke the immoderation of Mingus. Then, “Rebounds” features Dustin Carlson’s noise-rock guitar that seems to play ping-pong with the rest of the orchestra. Another of the creative duo’s strengths is the deftness with which they use the particularities of each of their instrumentalists. Like trumpeter Adam O’Farrill’s demented breath on the layers of drone in “Coral”, or the Balkan flavour of another trumpeter, Kenny Warren’s playing on “Reverses”, which masterfully closes the album.

Drawing cheerfully from the sound of the big bands of the great era, the third stream, rock and contemporary music, Webber and Morris have conceived an album that renews the art of the great jazz ensemble, and impresses with its great beauty. The curious will be able to hear three excerpts on Bandcamp, but as these are the only three traces of this superb record on the web, you’ll have to buy it to hear it in its entirety. 

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Canada / États-Unis Label : Greenleaf Genres et styles : jazz / jazz contemporain Année : 2020
Webber/Morris Big Band

Both Are True

· par Steve Naud

Le Webber/Morris Big Band est un ensemble comptant dix-neuf musiciens fondé il y a cinq ans sur l’initiative des saxophonistes et compositrices canadiennes Anna Webber et Angela Morris. Toutes deux se sont illustrées de brillante façon sur la scène jazz actuelle au cours de la dernière décennie. Both Are True, une œuvre composée à quatre mains, nous démontre hors de tout doute que le talent de ces deux dames est à la hauteur de leurs folles ambitions.

Dès le début de Climbing on Mirrors, première pièce au programme, nos oreilles se demandent si elles n’ont pas la berlue. Est-ce que le rythme vient de s’accélérer? Ou bien vient-il de ralentir? Cette façon imprévisible de jouer avec le tempo n’est qu’un des traits distinctifs de cette musique. Les deux compositrices savent aussi s’amuser avec les timbres et les couleurs que leur offre leur vaste palette. 

Après un bref interlude improvisé tissé par les saxophones de Webber et Morris, l’action reprend avec la pièce-titre dont certains passages chaotiques évoquent la démesure de Mingus. Puis, Rebonds met en scène la guitare noise-rock de Dustin Carlson qui semble jouer au ping-pong avec le reste de l’orchestre. Une autre des forces du duo de créatrices est le doigté avec lequel elles utilisent les particularités de chacun de leurs instrumentistes. Comme le souffle démentiel du trompettiste Adam O’Farrill sur les couches de drone de Coral ou la saveur balkanique du jeu d’un autre trompettiste, Kenny Warren, sur Reverses qui clôt magistralement l’album.

Pigeant allègrement dans le son des big bands de la grande époque, le third stream, le rock ou la musique contemporaine, Anna Webber et Angela Morris ont conçu un album qui renouvelle l’art du grand ensemble jazz et qui impressionne par sa grande beauté. Les curieux pourront entendre trois extraits sur Bandcamp, mais comme ce sont les trois seules traces de ce superbe disque sur le web, il faudra l’acheter pour l’entendre dans son entièreté. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre