×
Country : Brazil Label : Six Degrees Genres and styles : Alternative Rock / Brazilectro / Indie Pop / Música Popular Brasileira Year : 2020
Céu

APKÀ!

· by Ralph Boncy

“APKÀ!” is the war cry of little Antonio, most recent child of singer Céu and her drummer Pupillo, two names that have finally become references in the musical and artistic world of the South American megalopolis of São Paulo. One can imagine the intense nightlife of this vibrant city whose population in 2020 exceeded 22 million souls, and where, consequently, it’s not so easy to break through.

Outside Brazil, on the other hand, everything has worked like clockwork. Like a comet rising from the underground, Céu’s debut album, released on the independent San Francisco hybrid label Six Degrees in 2006, benefited from one of those rare word-of-mouth episodes dreamt of by all the artists on our small planet. In Canada, the reaction has been almost exclusively in Quebec, but so favourable that the eponymous album sold over 10,000 copies in just a few months. And this, long before Céu officially became a critical darling in her tropical country and a regular at the Latin Grammys. Céu’s second album, the sublime Vagarosa, was nominated for a number of prestigious awards and her third, Caravana Sereia Bloom, took awards home, and took a sharp turn in terms of sound with a bias towards offbeat, psychedelic, and surrealist pop.

More and more, Céu, at the age of 40, masters her subject. She writes the lyrics and music, and the more she gets involved, the more we feel she is in full control of her voice, her aesthetics, oscillating between kitsch, post-modern sounds, and futuristic melancholy. Vintage keyboard sounds that might suit Super Mario, as well as the art deco decors and accoutrements of the strange and phantasmagorical new videos, it’s all there.

The beginning goes very smoothly with an electronic rhythm in echo and distortion. Then come the catchy pop and mechanical choruses of “Coreto”, “Forçar O Verao” and “Corpocontinente”, and the funky guitar of “Fênix do Amor”. Two tracks in English only, with a slight dizzyness. All in all, a logical sequel to Tropix, the beautiful Brazilian’s fourth solo album.

Mom’s music is an intimate mix of various moods, but Antonio, one year old, continues to yell APKÀ! to express his joy, his approval, his bliss.

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Brésil Label : Six Degrees Genres et styles : brazilectro / indie pop / música popular brasileira / rock alternatif Année : 2020
Céu

APKÀ!

· par Ralph Boncy

« APKÀ! » c’est le cri de guerre du petit Antonio, le dernier bambin de la chanteuse Céu et de son batteur Pupillo, deux noms qui sont finalement devenus des références dans le milieu musical et artistique de la mégapole sud-américaine de Sao Paulo. On imagine intense la vie nocturne de cette cité vibrante dont la population en 2020 aurait dépassé le cap des 22 millions d’âmes et où, par conséquent, il n’est pas évident de percer…

À l’extérieur du Brésil, par contre, tout a marché comme sur du papier à musique. Telle une comète jaillissant de l’underground, le premier album de Céu, paru à San Francisco sur l’étiquette hybride indépendante Six Degrees, a bénéficié en 2006 d’un de ces rares phénomènes de bouche à oreille dont rêvent tous les artistes de notre petite planète. Au Canada, c’est une réaction presque exclusive au Québec. Si favorable que le compact éponyme dépasse le cap des dix mille exemplaires vendus en quelques mois. Et ce, bien avant que Céu ne devienne officiellement chouchou des critiques d’art de son état tropical et une habituée des Latin Grammys. Elle cumule les nominations pour son deuxième opus, le sublime Vagarosa, et remporte les honneurs pour le troisième, Caravana Sereia Bloom, qui marque un virage serré au niveau du look avec un parti pris pour une pop décalée, psychédélique et surréaliste.

De plus en plus, Céu, à 40 ans, maîtrise son sujet. Elle signe paroles et musiques, et plus elle s’implique, plus on la sent en plein contrôle de sa voix, de son esthétique, oscillant entre les sonorités kitsch, post-modernes et la mélancolie futuriste. Des sons de claviers vintage que ne renierait pas Super Mario, comme les décors et les accoutrements Art déco des nouveaux clips étranges et fantasmagoriques : tout y est.

Le début va tout en douceur avec une rythmique électronique en écho et distorsion. Suivent les refrains pop accrocheurs ou mécaniques de Coreto, Forçar O Verao et Corpocontinente, puis la guitare funky de Fênix do Amor. Deux titres en anglais seulement avec un léger vertige. Somme toute, une suite logique à Tropix, le quatrième album solo de la belle Brésilienne.

La musique de maman est un mélange intime de natures diverses, mais Antonio, un an, continue de clamer APKÀ! pour exprimer sa joie, son approbation, sa béatitude.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre