×
Country : Sweden Label : BIS Genres and styles : Contemporary Year : 2022

Anders Eliasson – Symphonies nos 3 & 4/Trombone Concerto

· by Frédéric Cardin

Here is a superb discovery! The music of the Swede Anders Eliasson (who died in 2013) is a breath of fresh air in the world of serious contemporary music. In the world of “demanding” music, here is a language that is remarkably accessible and succeeds in being so without resorting to the recipes of current popular neoclassicism.

Eliasson played jazz and went through all the “necessary” studies of the 60’s and 70’s, i.e. dodecaphonism, strict serialism, musique concrète, etc., but he ended up rejecting the dictates of a certain academic establishment to follow his own path.

I discovered that there were better ways to make noise. You can’t break with over 1000 years of tradition without becoming incomprehensible. You can’t be intentionally ‘original’. Music is like H2O: melodies, chords and rhythms are all one. And it has to flow.

Anders Eliasson

Eliasson’s secret is the use of a tonal anchor (modal, in fact) around which melodies and rhythms swirl freely, magnified by a plethoric, but fine and luminous orchestration. The forms and textures of this music are constantly morphing, in a frenzy of changes that are executed in a remarkably natural and organic way. Imagine an octopus that moves with incredible grace at the bottom of the ocean, in an almost incomprehensible fluidity, then transforms itself, changes colors, shrinks, swells, adorns itself with an appearance that is alternately smooth like a pebble or punctuated with asperities. All this in a few seconds. It is fascinating.

Elisasson’s symphonies are octopuses that are difficult to grasp, but fascinating to listen to, for all these reasons adapted to the musical realm. The Symphony No. 3 for soprano saxophone and orchestra is the best example of this program. The presence of the soprano saxophone brings a radiant petulance to the ensemble, as well as an incomparable lightness. This musical world reminds me of the Englishman Robert Simpson, the modern composer whose current anonymity is probably the most unjustified in the musical world!

Symphony No. 4 is a bit more tormented, but the same sense of eloquent grandeur emerges. The orchestral swarming is often ear-splitting! There is something of the cinematic symphonic flights of John Williams in the energy here, but also string fabrics that may recall Herrmann or Goldsmith. The Trombone Concerto swims in the same waters, expressing a more tormented facet, but just as exhilarating in its abundant sonorities.

The soloists are remarkable (Anders Paulsson on soprano saxophone and Christian Lindberg on trombone) and the orchestral opulence is sumptuously rendered by a warm sound recording.

Must-listen-to music!

Subscribe to our newsletter

×
Pays : Suède Label : BIS Genres et styles : musique contemporaine Année : 2022

Anders Eliasson – Symphonies nos 3 & 4/Trombone Concerto

· par Frédéric Cardin

Voici une superbe découverte! La musique du Suédois Anders Eliasson (mort en 2013) est une bouffée d’air frais dans le monde de la musique contemporaine sérieuse. Dans l’univers des musiques ‘’exigeantes’’, voici un langage remarquablement accessible et qui réussit à l’être sans avoir recours aux recettes du néoclassicisme actuel. 

Eliasson a joué du jazz et a passé à travers toutes les études ‘’nécéssaires’’ des années 60 et 70, c’est-à-dire le dodécaphonisme, le sérialisme strict, la musique concrète, etc., mais il a finit par rejeter les diktats d’un certain establishment académique pour suivre sa propre voie.

J’ai découvert qu’il y avait de meilleures façons de faire du bruit. On ne peut pas rompre avec plus de 1000 ans de tradition sans devenir incompréhensible. On ne peut pas être intentionnellement ‹ original ›. La musique est comme l’H2O : mélodies, accords et rythmes ne font qu’un. Et il faut que ça coule.

Anders Eliasson

Le secret d’Eliasson est l’utilisation d’un ancrage tonal (modal, en fait) autour duquel tourbillonnent librement mélodies et rythmes magnifiés par une orchestration pléthorique, mais fine et lumineuse. Les formes et les textures de cette musique se métamorphosent sans arrêt, dans une frénésie de changements qui s’exécutent d’une façon remarquablement naturelle et organique. Imaginez une pieuvre qui se meut avec une grâce incroyable au fond de l’océan, dans une fluidité presque incompréhensible, puis qui se transforme, change de couleurs, rétrécit, se gonfle, se pare d’un apparat tour à tour lisse lisse comme un galet ou ponctué d’aspérités. Tout cela dans des enchaînements de quelques secondes. C’est fascinant.

Les symphonies d’Elisasson sont des pieuvres difficilement saisissables, mais passionnantes à écouter, pour toutes ces raisons transposées dans le domaine musical. La Symphonie no 3 pour saxophone soprano et orchestre en est le meilleur exemple de ce programme. La présence du saxophone soprano apporte une pétulance rayonnante à l’ensemble, ainsi qu’une légèreté incomparable. Cet univers me rappelle celui de l’Anglais Robert Simpson, le compositeur moderne dont l’anonymat actuel est probablement le plus injustifié dans le monde musical!

La Symphonie no 4 est un brin plus tourmentée, mais un même sens de grandeur éloquente s’en dégage. Le fourmillement orchestral en met souvent plein les oreilles!

Il y a comme quelque chose des envolées symphoniques cinématographiques de John Williams dans l’énergie qui se dégage ici, mais aussi des tissus de cordes qui peuvent rappeler Herrmann ou Goldsmith. Le Concerto pour trombone nage dans les mêmes eaux, en exprimant une facette plus tourmentée, mais tout aussi grisante de sonorités foisonnantes.

Les solistes sont remarquables (Anders Paulsson au saxophone soprano et Christian Lindberg au trombone) et l’opulence orchestrale est somptueusement rendue par une prise de son chaleureuse. 

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre